SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Special Education: Books & Videos

Books on Autism (for Teachers)

Successful inclusion for students with autism : creating a complete, effective ASD inclusion program / Sonja R. de Boer	LC4718 .B64 2009
Students with autism spectrum disorders : effective instructional practices / L. Juane Heflin, Donna Fiorino Alaimo	Curriculum Collection RC553.A88 H44 2007
Practical ideas that really work for students with autism spectrum disorders / Kathleen McConnell, Gail R. Ryser	Curriculum Collection RC553.A88 M38 2007
Autism in your classroom : a general educator's guide to students with autism spectrum disorders / by Deborah Fein and Michelle A. Dunn	Curriculum Collection LC4717 .F45 2007
Ten things your student with autism wishes you knew / Ellen Notbohm with Veronic a Zysk	Curriculum Collection LC4717.5 .N68 2006
Teaching young children with autism spectrum disorder / Clarissa Willis ; photographs, Michael Talley ; illustrations, Marie Ferrante Doyle ; sign language illustrations, Deborah Johnson	Curriculum Collection LC4717 .W55 2006
Addressing the challenging behavior of children with high functioning autism/Asperger syndrome in the classroom : a guide for teachers and parents / Rebecca A. Moyes	LC4717.5 .M68 2002
How do I teach this kid to read? : teaching literacy skills to young children with autism, from phonics to fluency/ Kimberly A. Henry	Curriculum Col LC4717.5 .H46 2010
Making it a success : practical strategies and worksheets for teaching students with autism spectrum disorder/ Sue Larkey	Curriculum Col LC4717 .L37 2005

Children's Books on Autism

Autism and me : sibling stories / Ouisie Shapiro

Juvenile non-fiction RJ506.A9 S523

Clay / Colby Rodowsky

Juvenile 3rd floor R619cl

Ian's walk : a story about autism / Laurie Lears

Juvenile 3rd floor L4798i

Marcelo in the real world / Francisco X. Stork

Juvenile 3rd floor St739ma

Rules / Cynthia Lord

Juvenile 3rd floor L8842ru

Open Access Books

From Routledge
Mainly on Society & Social Sciences and Humanities

DVD/VHS in Buley Library

DVD/VHS at Buley Library

Sample titles available:

The Hunting Ground
Call Number: Media Collection LB2345.3.R37 H86 2015
Publication Date: 2015
From Academy Award-nominated and Emmy Award-winning director Kirby Dick, and Academy Award-nominated and Emmy Award-winning producer Amy Ziering comes a startling expose of sexual assault on US campuses, their institutional cover-ups, and the devastating toll they take on students and their families. Weaving together cinema verite footage and first person testimonies, the film follows the lives of several undergraduate assault survivors as they attempt to pursue both their education and justice.
An Education
Call Number: Media Collection PN1997.E5 E38 2010
Publication Date: 2010
In the early 1960's, 16-year-old Jenny Mellor lives with her parents in a London suburb. She is smart, pretty, and working toward her goal of being accepted into Oxford. Her life will take a big turn when she meets David, a man twice her age. Now she must decide if she will pursue an education at Oxford, or if she will choose to learn all that a charismatic older man can teach her.
In and Out of School: Family-School Partnerships in Math and Science
Call Number: Media Collection LB1048.5 .I5 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The first project documents a series of workshops, celebrations, and presentations in which Milwaukee parents become better acquainted with math standards as they learn how to support their children's math literacy at home. In the second project parents go on a field trip of Chicago's urban natural world and become guides and teachers, transforming traditional classroom science instruction into a community-building experience.
Rethinking High School: Best Practice in Action
Call Number: Media Collection LB1025.3.R43 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The authors take viewers directly into the classrooms at Best Practice High School, where real kids and teachers are cocreating a rich curriculum and supportive community. A new inner city school was the setting for putting into practice ideas from the book Best Practice : New Standards for Teaching and Learning in America's Schools, 2nd ed. (1998)
Taking a Risk in Education: Waldorf-Inspired Public Schools
Call Number: Media Collection LB1029.W34 T34 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Through footage shot in Waldorf-inspired schools, viewers meet the individuals who have worked to introduce this holistic, arts-based curriculum to under-served, at-risk children.
Children in America's Schools
Call Number: Media Collection LC4091 .C47 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Covering only public school districts in Ohio, this program examines the extreme range in physical conditions and educational opportunities presented in the rural, suburban, and city schools of Ohio. Discusses how the property tax funding of schools has created a situation where some districts can only spend 3,000 dollars per pupil in old, unsafe, dilapidated buildings, while other districts can afford to spend 12,000 dollars per pupil per year while maintaining modern, state-of-the-art environments. Includes a panel discussion moderated by Bill Moyers.
How Teaching Styles Effect Classroom Management
Call Number: Media Collection LB41 H69 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Focuses on specific diagnostic tools and guidelines to effective management and the tools for implementing a variety of management styles based on sound educational principles.