Look up information on books at Buley Library with SouthernSearch from anywhere using your own device. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject. Any materials we don't own can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Call Number: Main Circulating Stacks RJ499 .D497 2023
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
This is the only text to address child and adolescent psychopathology from the viewpoint of the school psychologist. Integrating, comparing, and distinguishing DSM-5 diagnoses from IDEA disability classifications, it provides a comprehensive overview of mental health conditions in this population. This book addresses the impact of these conditions at school and at home, along with a description of practical, evidence-based educational and mental health interventions that can be implemented in school environments. It addresses the role of the school psychologist and details a variety of educational supports and school-based mental health services as they apply to specific conditions. This resource provides comprehensive coverage of school psychologists' responsibilities, including assessment, educational and skill-based interventions and supports, consulting with key stakeholders, and advocacy. Case studies address classification issues and varied approaches psychologists can use to support students. Chapters provide a variety of features to reinforce knowledge, including quick facts, discussion questions, and sources for additional resources. Instructor's ancillaries include instructor's manual, test questions, and mapping to NASP domains as well as PowerPoints and a test bank. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Provides a school psychological approach to addressing a full gamut of child/adolescent mental health problems at school and at home Integrates, compares, and distinguishes DSM-5 diagnoses, IDEA disability classifications and other legal protections (i.e., Section 504) for each disorder Covers the impact of various disorders on a child's ability to learn and function in the classroom Addresses practical, evidence-based educational supports and school-based mental health services suited to specific disorders Includes case studies addressing classification issues and delineating practical student supports
Call Number: Main Circulating Stacks LB3013.6 .C75 2022
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Critical Theories for School Psychology and Counseling introduces school psychologists and counselors to five critical theories that inform more equitable, inclusive work with marginalized and underserved student populations. Offering accessible conceptualizations of each theory and explicit links to application in practice and supervision, the book speaks to common professional functions and issues such as cognitive assessment, school-based counseling, discipline disproportionality, and more. This innovative collection offers graduate students, university faculty, and practicum and internship supervisors an insightful new direction for serving learners across diverse identities, cultures, and abilities.