Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: Journal Articles

How to find information on all aspects of physics

This is the old version of the physics guide. You can find the new guide by following this link: https://libguides.southernct.edu/physics

Finding Journal Articles

Databases are the primary way of finding journal articles. Databases consist of indexes which list information about the articles such as author, title, journal information, and subject(s). Sometimes abstracts, or summaries, are included. Some databases also have the full text of the articles, in which case you can also search for keywords in the text. When the full text of an article is not available in the database, use the journal finder to find full text, search the library catalog for the journal, or request the article through Interlibrary Loan. A list of Physics journals available through the library is available through the journal finder.

Peer-reviewed, refereed, or scholarly journals have articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field. Not all articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed, however. Some may be news, opinion, or short reports. Many databases are either all peer-reviewed journals or have a check box to limit a search to just peer-reviewed journals.

Subject Specific Databases

These databases specialize in providing physics and science related articles.

For each of the databases below, click on "more..." to read a description of that database's content.

Google Scholar


Google Scholar is Google's version of a library database. Google Scholar searches publishers' websites, academic sites (.edu), and other "scholarly" resources. Some of our own databases are covered, so you can use Google Scholar to search ScienceDirect, JSTOR, and BioOne all at the same time. However, many of the articles are not available directly to non-subscribers. By using the Google Scholar search box on the Library Homepage, the Google Scholar with SCSU Login database link, or adding Southern Connecticut to Scholar's Preferences on your computer, you can access our subscriptions as well as whatever is free on the web. See the Guide to Google Scholar below for instructions on setting the preferences, and for search tips.

Subject Related Databases

These databases may have science related articles but may not be specific to physics. Depending on your topic, you may find some of these useful.

For each of the databases below, click on "more..." to read a description of that database's content.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases cover many topics, but have selected full text from a variety of physics related journals, books, and reports. PhD dissertations and Masters theses are usually great sources for research topic ideas, literature reviews, and methods.

For each of the databases below, click on "more..." to read a description of that database's content.