Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Rebecca Hedreen

Sciences & Distance Learning Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Hedreen
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - MSNLogo - Twitter
Contact Info:
Buley Library, Room 122H
(203) 392-5753
hedreenr1@southernct.edu

Guides

Alternative Energy
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Nov 10, 2011
Alternative energy resources in the library and on the web
Tags: alternative_energy, science, solar, wind
Astronomy
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Dec 29, 2010
Biology
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
How to find information on all aspects of biology
Tags: biology, botany, ecology, science
Buley Bulletin Library Newsletter
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
CHE 101: Chemistry in Contemporary Issues
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Sep 15, 2009
Resources for chemistry and the environment
Chemistry
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
How to find information on all aspects of chemistry
Tags: chemistry, science
Choose Privacy!
by Rebecca Hedreen, Wendy Hardenberg - Last Updated May 3, 2012
May 1-7, 2012 is Choose Privacy Week @ Buley Library
Connecticut Science
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Sep 9, 2011
Science as performed and informed around Connecticut
Tags: biology, chemistry, connecticut, earth, earth_science, education, environment, local, museums, physics, science, teaching
Distance Learning Library Services
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Dec 19, 2011
A guide to Buley Library's services and support for online teaching and learning, plus links to selected resources for online research.
Tags: distance, help, off campus, online, policies
Earth Sciences
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
How to find information for all aspects of earth science, including astronomy, climatology, meteorology, and geology
Tags: astronomy, climate, climatology, earth, earth_science, geology, meteorology, science, weather
EndNote Web
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated May 14, 2012
The basics of using EndNote Web to manage and save citations and references.
Evidence Based Medicine
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Oct 13, 2009
How to find EBM resources in the Library and on the Web
Tags: ebm, ebp, health, medicine, nursing
Google Scholar
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
Search tips, setting up access to our full text resources, and using GS as a "federated" search for some of our databases.
Tags: articles, google, medicine, research, scholarly, science, technology
Health Science Information & Articles - Types, Uses, and Sources
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Apr 9, 2012
Learn to recognize and identify uses for different types of health information.
Tags: evaluation, health, internet, nursing, public health, search, web
Health Sciences - Basic Library Research
by Rebecca Hedreen, Lisa Bier - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Where to start for library research in medicine, health, public health, nursing, and other health-related topics.
Library Tutorial
by Winnie Shyam, Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
How to do basic library tasks: searching the catalog, finding library materials, getting into the online resources
Nanotechnology
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Aug 8, 2011
Find nanotechnology resources in Buley Library and on the web: books, articles, images, etc.
Tags: nano, nanoscience, nanotechnology, science
Natural Disasters
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated May 5, 2011
Research tips on earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes, tsunamis, and other natural disasters
Tags: earthquakes, hurricanes, natural_disasters, tornados, tsunami
Nursing
by Rebecca Hedreen, Lisa Bier - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
How to find information on and for nursing
Tags: articles, books, database, health, nursing, research, science
Off campus access & CONSULS/database login
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated May 14, 2012
How to get into the Library online resources from off campus and access your library record and ereserves in CONSULS
Tags: access, distance, help, librarypin, off_campus, online, passwords, pin
Open Access Resources
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Free web collections, book, journals, teaching materials, and other resources. This guide concentrates on English language collections, though some collections mentioned do have resources in several languages.
Tags: access, articles, audio, books, free, journals, open_access, search, video, web
Physics
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Mar 12, 2012
How to find information on all aspects of physics
Tags: engineering, physics, science
Science Direct
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
How to get the best results from the database Science Direct
Tags: database, help, helpsheet, science, sciencedirect
Sputnik at SCSU
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Sep 17, 2010
The first sighting of Sputnik in the US, and one of the first in North America, was right here on campus.
Swine Flu
by Rebecca Hedreen - Last Updated Sep 21, 2010
Library and Web resources about swine flu (H1N1 flu virus)
Tags: flu, h1n1, health, influenza, science, wellness
Textbook Savings Tips
by Rebecca Hedreen, June Cheng - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
Some tips for students and faculty to help reduce the burden of textbook prices. From the Provost's Textbook Cost Containment Committee.
Tags: textbooks

Office Hours

Monday-Friday by appointment on campus and online
Tuesdays, Jan 31, Feb 14 & 18, Mar 13 & 27, Apr 10 & 24 1-2pm in the Nursing Building Lobby
Tuesdays, Feb 7 & Apr 3, and Thursday, Mar 15 2-5pm in Jennings 244 (Biology meeting room)
Appointments: can be held in the Library, in JE 132, the Nursing Lobby, or EN B Wing Lounge
Drop-in hours See below
 

Drop In Hours

Click on a day to see details.



Don't see a Drop In time you can use?

 
 
Description

  Loading...