It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free web collections, books, journals, teaching materials, and other resources. This guide concentrates on English language collections, though some collections mentioned do have resources in several languages.
"Predatory, open-access publishers are those that unprofessionally exploit the author-pays model of open-access publishing (Gold OA) for their own profit. Typically, these publishers spam professional email lists, broadly soliciting article submissions for the clear purpose of gaining additional income. Operating essentially as vanity presses, these publishers typically have a low article acceptance threshold, with a false-front or non-existent peer review process."
Agriculture, Food Sciences, Arts, Architecture, Biology, Life Sciences, Business, Economics, Chemistry, Earth, Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, History, Archaeology, Languages, Literatures, Law, Political Science, Mathematics, Statistics, Philosophy, Religion, Physics, Astronomy, Science, Social Sciences, Technology , Engineering
The Directory of Open Access Journal consists of free, online, full text, scholarly journals on all subjects from around the world. DOAJ lists several thousand journals, about half of which are searchable at the article level.
Agriculture Biochemistry Biophysics Cell Biology Developmental Biology Ecology Endocrinology Entomology Evolution Genetics Genomics Immunology Microbiology Neuroscience Oncology Pharmacology Physiology Plant Biology Population Biology Signal Transduction Veterinary Science Virology Area Studies Language Studies Music Religious Studies Clinical Accident and Emergency Medicine Anesthesia Analgesia Pain Cardiovascular Medicine Stroke Complementary Critical Care Intensive Care Dentistry Oral Medicine Dermatology Evidence Based Practice Gastroenterology General Practice / Primary Care Geriatrics Hematology Infectious Disease Nutrition Occupational Health Ophthalmology Palliative Medicine Pathology Pediatrics Prison Medicine Psychiatry Radiology Rehabilitation Medicine Renal and Urologic Medicine Respiratory Medicine Rheumatology Sexual Medicine Sports and Exercise Medicine Surgery Travel Medicine Women's Health Nonclinical Astronomy Atmospheric Science Chemistry Computer Science Earth Sciences Engineering Materials Science Mathematics Oceanography Physics Planetary Sciences Statistics Anthropology Communication Criminology Economic Science Education Management Political Science Psychology Research Methods Sociology
a list of journals published in association with Highwire Press that have at least some full text available for free, including temporary trial access.
over 900 resources, mostly popular, trade, and news magazines. Some "premium" content requiring trial subscriptions to fee-based collections. There is a "free only" search check box. NOTE: Many of the Premium articles are available in our full text databases; use the journal finder to locate the full text.
Google's answer to article databases includes journal tables of contents from several major publishers, and "scholarly" content from the open web, but it is not a good Open Access discovery tool. While GS creates a good index, full text may not be directly available. Before paying for any article found via Google Scholar, be sure to check in the SCSU Journal Locator to see if the full text is available.
The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor (below) for additional searching options.
The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor for additional searching options.
A medical/life science oriented pre-print (pre-publication versions of articles) search engine. Currently searching Figshare, PeerJ Preprints, bioRXiv, and F1000. See Help for more info and search suggestions.
a digital archive of biomedical literature, sponsored and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Some very recent material may be indexed before the online access is available. Full text articles are linked directly from the PubMed version of MEDLINE.
Scirus is a search engine devoted to science subjects. On the advanced search page, you can limit your search to articles. If you also uncheck the "All journal sources" box, you will get only web based materials, including many full text articles in institutional repositories, such as University of Toronto's T-Space. (To search the journal literature covered by the "All journal sources", log in to the SCSU database ScienceDirect with a lot of full text available by our subscription.)
abstracts and full papers both submitted by the authors and harvested from partner publishers' databases. Topics include Accounting, Economics, Information Systems, Legal Scholarship, Management, Marketing, Negotiation, and Social Insurance. Search by keyword or browse by topic. Some articles are pay-for-access.