It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free web collections, books, journals, teaching materials, and other resources. This guide concentrates on English language collections, though some collections mentioned do have resources in several languages.
George Mason University has launched the Mason OER Metafinder, designed by GMU Librarian Wally Grotophorst, Associate University Librarian for Digital Programs and Systems. It searches a broad range of Open Educational Resource Collections, such as as the Digital Public Library, the Library of Congress American Memory Collection, MERLOT, and College Open Textbooks. Read more about the Metafinder at Deep Web Tech Blog, or try it out below.
Need a particular article, but can't find the full text? Try the Open Access Button search to see if an OA version exists. (If not, try Interlibrary Loan!)
OA versions may include "pre-prints" which do not have final editing and formatting of the published versions. Use at your own discretion.
Search for open access versions of articles via Open Access Button. DOIs, publisher URLs, and PubMed IDs (PMIDs) work best.
many resources on education technology. Especially see the "Teaching and Learning" section which includes distance education and online classes. You can also Search from the search box at the top of the page
"The Chemistry Collective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts tests which can be incorporated into a variety of teaching approaches as pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and in-class activities for individuals or teams. It is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon University for college and high school teachers who are interested in using, assessing, and/or creating engaging online activities for chemistry education."
A European based project collecting learning resources in management, from accounting to technology management. A majority of the materials are in English or Spanish, but most European languages are included. Searchable by keyword or browsable/filterable by language, format, type, category, competency, and repository.
Federally funded nursing education resources, from medical terminology to palliative care, from George Washington University School of Nursing.
Books and collections of books written specifically as textbooks. For additional books, please check the subject and general collections. The best source for literature is the Online Books Page from UPenn.
thousands of books and reports by the various National Academies in Washington DC. Look for the Read it Online link to the left of the book descriptions.
NCERT and CBSE collections (see links in description)
Downloadable textbooks from India's National Council of Educational Research and Training. Levels 1-12. Most in English. Available from NoteMonk and Teachoo which also has CBSE (Central Board for Secondary Education) books
completely open and free textbooks on a wide variety of subjects. There are no qualifications for creating/editing, so quality varies considerably, and many books are incomplete. This link is to the English collection, scroll to the bottom of the page for links to collections in other languages, and further Wikimedia projects.
Open textbooks assembled by University Press of Florida and the Orange Grove Digital Repository. Textbooks on all subjects, free to read and download, and available for print on demand ordering of hardcopy versions.
A continuing education guide for information and library professionals (and students) wishing to expand their skills. It's also a work in progress accepting community input. While it's aimed at the information and library science field, the techniques discussed will work for nearly any subject.
How, and why, a physics professor adopted an open textbook.
A Presentation by the Founder of Connexions
"Rice University professor Richard Baraniuk explains the vision behind Connexions, his open-source, online education system. It cuts out the textbook, allowing teachers to share and modify course materials freely, anywhere in the world." View on the TED website.