There are many types of reference sources and most are housed in a separate area of the library. These sources may be general in scope or subject specific. For every field of knowledge there are subject specific reference works. Following, is a list of standard works in psychology:
Guides
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Handbooks
Reviews of Research
Bibliographies
Book Reviews
Directories
Biographical Sources
Guides
American Psychiatric Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Ref/Info Desk BF 76.7.P83 2010
Cone, J. D., & Foster, S. L. (2006). Dissertations and theses from start to finish: Psychology and related fields. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. BF 76.5 .C645 2006
Reed, J. G., & Baxter, P. M. (2003). Library use: A handbook for psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 76.8 .R43 2003
Scott, J. M. (1999). The psychology student writer's manual. (2nd ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall. Ref. BF 76.8 P76 1999
Sternberg, R. J. (1993). The psychologist's companion: A guide to scientific writing for students and researchers. Cambridge, MA: Cambridge University Press. BF 76.8 .S73 1993
Colman, A. M. (Ed.). (1994). Companion encyclopedia of psychology. London: Routledge. Ref. Bf 31 .C66 1994
Corsini, R. J. (1999). The dictionary of psychology. Philadelphia: Brunner/Mazel, Taylor & Francis. Ref. BF 31 .C72 1999
Craighead, E. W., & Nemeroff, C. (Eds.). (2001). The corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. (Vols. 1-4). (3rd ed.). New York: John Wiley. Ref. BF 31 .E52 2001
Fernandez-Ballesteros, R. (Ed.). (2003). Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment. (Vols. 1-2). London: Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage. Ref. BF 176 .E53 2003
Kazdin, A. E. (Ed.). (2000). Encyclopedia of psychology. (Vols. 1-8). Washington, DC; New York: American Psychological Association; Oxford University Press. Ref. BF 31 .E52 2000
Roeckelein, J. E. (1998). Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Ref. BF 31 . R625 1998
Statt, D. A. (1998). The concise dictionary of psychology. (3rd ed.). New York: Routledge. Ref. BF 31 .S62 1998
Stratton, P., & Hayes, N. (1999). A student's dictionary of psychology. (3d ed.). New York: Arnold. Ref. BF 31 .S69 1999
Specialized Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Bellack, A. S., & Hersen, M. (Eds.). (1998). Comprehensive clinical psychology. (Vol. 5). New York: Pergamon. Ref. RC 467 .C597 1998
Cole, R. (Ed.). (1998). The encyclopedia of propaganda. (Vols. 1- 3). New York: Sharpe Reference. Ref. HM 263 .E53 1998
Everitt, B. S., & Wykes, T. (1999). Dictionary of statistics for psychologists. London; New York: Arnold; Oxford University Press. Ref. BF 39 .E83 1999
Friedman, H. S. (Ed.). (1998). Encyclopedia of mental health. (Vols. 1-3). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. Ref. RA 790 .5 .E53 1998
Honig, A. S., Fitzgerald, H. E., & Brophy-Herd, H. (2001). Infancy in america: An encyclopedia. (Vols.1-2). Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio. Ref. HQ 774 .I528 2001
Kagan, J. (Ed.). (1998). The gale encyclopedia of childhood and adolescence. Detroit: Gale Research. Ref. HQ 772. .G27 1998
Kahn, A. P. (1998). Stress A-Z: A sourcebook for facing everyday challenges. New York: Facts on File. Ref. QP 82.2 .S8 K34 1998
Kurtz, L. (Ed.). (1999). Encyclopedia of violence, peace and conflict. (Vols.1-3). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. Ref. HM 291. E625 1999
Lerner, R. M., Peterson, A. C., & Brooks-Gunn, J. (Eds.). (1990). Encyclopedia of adolescence in america. (Vols. 1 & 2). New York: Garland. Ref. HQ796. E58 1990
Levinson, D., Ponzetti J. J. Jr., & Jorgensen P. F. (Eds.). (1999). Encyclopedia of human emotions. New York: Macmillan Reference USA. Ref. BF 531 .E55 1999
Runco, M. A., & Pritzker, S. R. (Eds.). (1999). Encyclopedia of creativity. (Vols.1-2). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. Ref. BF 408 .E53 1999
Squire, L. R., (Ed.-in-chief). (1992). Encyclopedia of learning and memory. New York: Macmillan. Ref. BF 318 .E53 1992
Sternberg, R., (Ed-in-chief). (1995). Encyclopedia of human intelligence. New York: Macmillan. Ref. BF 431 .E59 1995
Ulijaszek, S. J., Johnston, F. E., & Preece, M. A. (1998). Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press. Ref. QP 84 .C26 1998
Birren, J. E., & Schaie, W. K. (Eds.). (2001). Handbook of the psychology of aging (5th ed.). (The Handbooks of Aging). San Diego, CA: Academic Press. BF 724 .55 .A35 H36 2001
Burack, J. A., Hodapp, R. M., & Zigler, E. (1998). Handbook of mental retardation and development. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press. RJ 506 . M4 H36 1998
Carr, A. (1999). The handbook of child and adolescent clinical psychology: A contextual approach. New York: Routledge. Ref. RJ 503 .3 .C37 1999
Damon, W. (Eds.). (2006). Handbook of child psychology (5th ed.). (Vols. 1-4). New York: John Wiley. Ref. BF 721 .H242 2006
Dunnette, M. D., & Hough, L. M. (Eds.). (1990-1994). Handbook of industrial and organizational psychology (2nd ed.). (Vols. 1-2). Palo Alto, CA: Consulting Psychologists Press. Ref. HF 5548 .8 H265 1990
First, M. B. (Ed.). (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association. Ref. RC 445 .2 C4 D536 DSM-IV-TR 2000
American Psychological Asssociation. (2007). Getting in: A step-by-step plan for gaining admission to graduate school in psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. BF 80.7 .U6 G47 2007
Pashler, H. (Ed.). (2002). Stevens' handbook of experimental psychology (3rd ed.). (Vols. 1-4). New York: John Wiley. Ref. BF 181 .H336 2002
Gilbert, D. T., Fiske, S. T., & Gardner, L. (1998). The handbook of social psychology (4th ed.). (Vols. 1-2). Boston; New York: McGraw-Hill; Oxford University Press. HM251 .H224 1998
Groth-Marnat, G. (2005). Handbook of psychological assessment (3rd ed.). New York:John Wiley. Ref. BF 176 .G76 2005
Hogan, R., Johnson, J., & Briggs, S. R. (Eds.). (1997). Handbook of personality psychology. San Diego, CA: Academic Press. BF 698 .H3345 1997
Kendall, P. C., Butcher, J. N., & Holmbeck, G. N. (2003). Handbook of research methods in clinical psychology (2nd ed.). New York: John Wiley. Ref. RC 467.8 H36 2003
Koocher, G. P., Norcoss, J. C., & Hill, S. S. (Eds.). (1998). Psychologists' desk reference. New York: Oxford University Press. Ref. RC467.2 .P78 1998
Puente, A. E., Matthews, J. R. & Brewer, C. L. (Eds.). (1992). Teaching psychology in america: A history. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. BF 80.7 .U6 T43 1992
Reis, H. T., & Judd, Charles M. (Eds.). (2000). Handbook of research methods in social and personality psychology. New York: Cambridge University Press. HM 1019 .H36 2000
Reynold, C. R., & Gutkin, T. B. (Eds.). (2009). The handbook of school psychology (3d ed.). New York: John Wiley. Ref. LB 1051 .H2356 2009
Sternberg, R. J. (Ed.). (1999). Handbook of creativity. New York: Cambridge University Press. BF 408 .H285 1999
Tulving, Endel, & Craik, Fergus I.M. (Eds.). (2000). The handboook of memory. New York: Oxford University Press. Ref. BF 371 .084 2000
Walker, E. C., & Roberts, Michael C. (Eds.). (2001). Handbook of clinical child psychology (3rd ed.). New York: John Wiley. Ref. RJ 503 .3H36 2001
Annual Reviews. (1950-) annual. Annual review of psychology. Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews. Ref. BF 30 .A56
American Psychological Association. (1977-). The psychological Bulletin. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. (Located in the Periodical Room)
Baxter, P. M. (1993). Psychology: A guide to reference and information sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited. Ref. Z 7201 . B39 1993
G.K. Hall bibliographic guide to psychology. (2003). Farmington Hills, Mi: G.K. Hall & Co. Ref. Z 7201 .G543 2003
American Psychological Association. (1990- ). Bibliographies in psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Caton, H. (1993). The bibliography of human behavior. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. Ref. Z7201 .C37 1993
Viney, W., Wertheimer, M., & Wertheimer, M. L. (1979). History of psychology: A guide to information sources. Detroit: Gale. Ref. Z7204 . H56
Watson, R. I. (1974-1976). Eminent contributors to psychology (Vols. 1-2). New York: Springer. Ref. Z7201 . W37
American Psychological Association. (1956-) Contemporary psychology: APA Review of Books. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. (located in the periodical room)
American Psychological Association. (1968- ) annual. Graduate study in psychology. Washington DC: American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 77 .G73 2010
American Psychological Association. (1997). Journals in psychology: A resource listing for authors (5th ed.). Washington DC: American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 76.8 .J68 1997
American Psychological Association. (2000). Videos in psychology: A resource directory. Washington DC: American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 80.3 V53 2000
Birren, J. E. (Ed.). (2000). A history of geropsychology in autobiography. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. BF 724.8 H57 2000
Boring, E.G. (Eds.). (1952). History of psychology in autobiography. (Vols. 1-8) New York: Russell & Russell. Ref. BF 105 .H5
Boring, E.G.& Lindzey, G. (Eds.). (1967). History of psychology in autobiography. New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts. Ref. 105 .H5
Cohen, D. (2004). Psychologists on psychology (2nd ed.). London: Routledge & Kegan Paul. BF 109 .A1C634 2004
Kimble, G. A.,Wertheimer, M., & White, C. (Eds.). (1991). Portraits of pioneers in psychology. (Vols. 1-4) Washington, DC; Hillsdale, JN; American Psychological Association; Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. BF 109 .A1P67 1991
Krawiec, T.S. (1972-1974). The Psychologists (Vols.1). New York: Oxford University Press. Bf 109 .A1P97
Krawiec, T.S. (1978). The psychologists (Vol. 3). Brandon, VT: Clinical Psychology Publishing. BF 109 .A1P97 1978
Lindzey, G. (Ed.). (1974). History of psychology in autobiography (Vol. 6). Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall. Ref. 105 .H5
Lindzey, G. (Ed.). (1989). History of psychology in autobiography (Vol. 7). San Francisco: W.H. Freeman. Ref. 105 .H5
Lindzey, G. (Ed.). (1989). History of psychology in autobiograhy (Vol. 8).Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press. Ref. 105 .H5
Murchison, C. (Ed.). (1930-1936). History of psychology in autobiography (Vols.1-3). New York: Russell & Russell. BF 105. H5
Nordby, V. J., & Hall, C. S. (1974). A guide to psychologists and their concepts. San Francisco: W.H. Freeman. Ref. BF 109 .A1N67
O'Connell, A. N., & Russo, F. N. (Eds.). (1990). Women in psychology a bio-bibliographic sourcebook. New York: Greenwood Press. Ref. BF 109 .A1W65 1990
Sheehy, N., Chapman, A. J., & Conroy, W. A. (1997). Biographical dictionary of psychology. New York: Routledge. Ref. BF 109.A1 B56 1997
Stevens, G., & Gardner, S. (1982). The women of psychology (Vols.1-2). Cambridge, MA: Schenkman. BF 95 .S73 1982
Watson, R. I., & Evans R. B. (1991). The great psychologists: A history of psychological thought (5th ed.). New York: HarperCollins. Ref. BF 81 .W35 1991
Zusne, L. (1984). Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Westport, CT Greenwood Press. Ref. BF 109.A1 Z85 1984
