Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Marriage and Family Therapy: Locating Books and Articles

This guide will help you find books and articles in the field of marriage and family therapy.

Books

Use the library catalog, SouthernSearch, to locate books. A good place to start is with a keyword search, which allows you to combine concepts, such as children and divorce, or marriage and infidelity.

You can also see books from all of the CSU campuses as well as the Connecticut community colleges, so before you go to the shelf make sure the catalog says the item you want is at SCSU. If you see an item at any of the other campuses that you need, you can request it by clicking on "Get It" and entering your student ID and password. The book will be shipped here within 3-5 working days.

Searching for Journal Articles

If you are off campus you will need to enter your university ID number and library PIN to access these databases.

The best source of scholarly articles for marriage and family therapy will be a combination of several of the EBSCO databases.

You can combine the following databases to search simultaneously:

  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology
  • Family Studies Abstracts
  • PsychArticles
  • PsychInfo
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • SocIndex with Fulltext

If the full text article is not immediately available within EBSCO, click on the  icon and it will check to see if the full text is available in any of our other databases.

Finding Articles When You Have the Citation

To find whether a particular journal appears full-text in any of our databases or in the library, enter the name of the journal in the journal finder on the home page. The journal finder will tell you if Buley Library subscribes to a journal or if it is available online in one of the databases.