Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microsoft Word Bibliography Tool: Windows (Word 2010)

2 Steps to a Bibliography in Word 2010

Insert Citations

When you add a new citation to a document, you also create a new source that will appear in the bibliography.

  1. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click the arrow next to Style.
    Office 14 Ribbon
  2. Click the style that you want to use for the citation and source. (You only have to do this once per document.)
  3. Click at the end of the sentence or phrase that you want to cite.
  4. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click Insert Citation.
    Office 14 Ribbon
  5. Do one of the following:
    1. To add the source information, click Add New Source.
    2. To add a placeholder, so that you can create a citation and fill in the source information later, click Add New Placeholder. A question mark appears next to placeholder sources in Source Manager. You will need to fill in the full information before the Placeholder citation will appear in the Bibliography.
  6. Begin to fill in the source information by clicking the arrow next to Type of source.
    For example, your source might be a book, a report, or a Web site.
  7. Fill in the bibliography information for the source.
    To add more information about a source, click the Show All Bibliography Fields check box.

To insert an existing source, select that source from the source list.
Note: Word creates a Master List of all sources used on that computer. This list is stored in a separate file on the hard drive, and is available in the Manage Sources menu. If you use a campus lab computer, or another shared computer, you may not see a Master List.

Create Bibliography/Works Cited List

You can create a bibliography at any point after you insert one or more sources in a document. If you don't have all of the information that you need about a source to create a complete citation, you can use a placeholder citation, and then complete the source information later.

  1. Click where you want to insert a bibliography, usually at the end of the document.
  2. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click Bibliography.
    Office 14 Ribbon
  3. Click a predesigned bibliography format to insert the bibliography into the document.

 Note:   Placeholder citations do not appear in the bibliography. You must add full information before they will be added.

  1. On the References tab, in the Citations & Bibliography group, click Manage Sources.

    Office 14 Ribbon
  2. Under Current List, click the placeholder that you want to edit.  
    Note:
      Placeholder sources are alphabetized in Source Manager, along with all other sources, based on the placeholder tag name. By default, placeholder tag names contain the word Placeholder and a number, but you can customize the placeholder tag name with whatever tag you want.
  3. Click Edit, and fill in the appropriate information.
    To add more information about a source, click the Show All Bibliography Fields check box.

Printable Guide