Skip to main content

Microsoft Word Bibliography Tool: Home

Guide Topics

This guide will cover the basics of using Microsoft Word's Bibliography Tool to format citations in your papers. The instructions are slightly different for Windows and Mac computers, so each gets it's own section. There are printable versions of each set of instructions.

The currently supported versions of Microsoft Office are available at a huge discount via the SCSU Share site.

Additional Citation Help

About Microsoft Word's Bibliography Tool

Starting with Word 2007 (Windows), Microsoft included a Bibliography Tool. You will enter your sources via a short form, then select the citation format and source at the point in your paper where you want an in-text citation. Finally, once all your sources are entered and cited, you will generate the bibliography/works cited list at the end of your paper.

Word 2010/11 now includes APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and Harvard, as well as several other less well known formats.

Please click the links to the left or the tabs above for detailed instructions on using the Bibliography Tool in Word 2010 (Windows) or Word 2011 (Mac). There are printable versions of the instructions in each section. For more information, click the links below to visit Microsoft's online help pages.

The Master List vs. the Citations List

Every time you use the Bibliography Tool in MS Word, your sources are stored in 2 places: the Citation List embedded in your paper, and the Master List stored on the computer you are working on.

If you use the same computer (and it stores files from session to session) you will see ALL the citations you've used in your Master List, and will be able to reuse them in other papers. If you change computers, or use a computer in a lab that wipes out an individual user's files after each login, you will only have the Citation List available (i.e. only the sources you used in THIS paper.)

You can copy and save your Master List for use on multiple computers by following the instructions here: Move Bibliography Sources (the Word Blog)