To add a citation, a works cited list, or a bibliography to your document, you first add a list of the sources that you used.
Add a source by using the Source Manager
The Source Manager lists every source ever entered on your computer so that you can reuse them in any other document. This is useful, for example, if you write research papers that use many of the same sources. If you open a document that includes citations, the sources for those citations appear under Current list. All the sources that you have cited, either in previous documents or in the current document, appear under Master list.
The source information that you entered appears in the Citations List in the Citations tool.
Edit a source in the Citations tool
You can edit a source directly in the document or in the Citations tool. When you change the source, the changes apply to all instances of that citation throughout the document. However, if you make a manual change to a particular citation within the document, those changes apply only to that particular citation. Also, that particular citation is not updated or overridden when you update the citations and bibliography.
If you see a message that asks whether you want to save changes in both the Master list and the Current list, click No to change only the current document, or click Yes to apply changes to the source of the citation and use it in other documents.
Remove a source from the Citations List
Before you can remove a source from the Citations List, you must delete all related citations.
Insert a citation
Add page numbers or suppress author, year, or title for a specific citation
Use this option to make custom changes to a citation and keep the ability to update the citation automatically.
Note: The changes that you make by using this method apply only to this citation.
Make manual changes to a specific citation
If you want to change a specific citation manually, you can make the citation text static and edit the citation in any way that you want. After you make the text static, the citation will no longer update automatically. If you want to make changes later, you must make the changes manually.
Delete a single citation from the document
A works cited list is a list of all works you referred to (or "cited") in your document, and is typically used when you cite sources using the MLA style. A works cited list differs from a bibliography, which is a list of all works that you consulted when your researched and wrote your document.
Insert a works cited list or a bibliography
Change a works cited list or a bibliography style
You can change the style of all the citations contained in a document's works cited list or bibliography without manually editing the style of the citations themselves. For example, you can change the citations from the APA style to the MLA style.
Update a works cited list or a bibliography
If you add new sources to the document after you inserted the works cited list or bibliography, you can update the works cited list or bibliography to include the new sources.
Convert a works cited list or a bibliography to static text
Word inserts a works cited list or a bibliography as a field. The field frame indicates that the works cited list or bibliography was created automatically from the sources in the document. The frame enables you to convert the field into static text and edit it as you would any other text.
Note: If you convert a works cited list or a bibliography to static text, you cannot use Word to automatically update it. Instead, you must delete the works cited list or bibliography and then insert a new one.