SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Women's & Gender Studies: Journals

Finding Journals in the Library Collection

Find a Specific Journal

Do you know the name of the journal you want to access? On the library's homepage, select the "Search for Journals" tab to find a specific journal title.

How do I find Peer Reviewed or Scholarly articles?

The simplest way to find a peer-reviewed article is to use a database helps you search for peer reviewed journals.

Look for a check box near the search box for Peer-Review or Scholarly Journals.

This will limit your search to articles in scholarly journals, but not necessarily to the research articles in those journals. To find only research articles:

either carefully review your results for research studies (look for Methods and Results sections), or
some databases have Document Type selections in the Advanced Search. You may be able to choose Research articles or even particular types of research, such as Clinical Trials or Case Studies.

Some of the databases that have Scholarly/Peer Reviewed check boxes are:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
education leader student learn class lesson teach disable special exercise counsel school college university curriculum train practice sports computer internet teenage school abuse adolescence health accounting anthropology art biology business chemistry communications disorders computer sciences earth geology geography economics english composition environmental exercise finance foreign languages medicine history journalism law library literature management information marketing marriage family therapy mathematics media studies music newspapers nursing philosophy religion physics political psychology public recreation leisure reference technology social work sociology theater women's
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, allied health, peer reviewed, research, nurse, school health
CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
education leader student learn class lesson teach disable special exercise counsel school college university curriculum train practice sports computer internet teenage school abuse adolescence
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Inexing, abstracting, and full-text content from journals, books, and conference papers.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association APA psychology behavioral educational medical psychosocial social work sociology sociological nursing mental health job performance employee attitudes personnel human resource management working conditions job satisfaction consumer attitudes consumer behavior employee retention leadership social responsibility
American Psychological Association۪s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
AIDS Algology Amino acids Animal behavior Aquaculture Aquatic organisms Bacteriology Bioengineering Biological membranes Biotechnology agricultural medical environmental marine pharmaceutical Calcified tissue Calcium Chemoreception Conference Papers Ecology Entomology Genetics plant Human genome research Immunology Marine biology Microbiology Molecular Mycology Neurosciences Nucleic acids Oncogenes growth factors Peptides Proteins Protozoology Safety science Toxicology Virology Zoology botany medicine
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Global Trade Industry business marketing management economics finance MBA accounting commerce corporate business trends business strategy management techniques product development world United States entrepreneur economic conditions corporate strategy business case conference proceedings international national
Searches ABI/Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry simultaneously.

Selected WGS Journal List

The following list, originally compiled by Cindy Schofield, MLIS, Ed.D; former Buley Library Technical Services Division Head (1999-2018), is a sampling of SCSU journal holdings that relate to the Women's & Gender Studies topics. These are primarily electronic journals. Clicking on the title should bring you to the journal. Since these are subscriptions you may be prompted for your campus username and password.