SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Women's & Gender Studies: Books

Books in Southern Search

To search for books in the Library's collection change the default search scope to SCSU Catalog (Books & Collections) and limit your search results using the Books facet under Resource Type.

eBooks in the Library's Collection

The Library provides access to tens of thousands of electronic books. They are accessible through Southern Search. Here are a few select Southern Search links to ebooks that are relevant (by keywords) to specific topics in Women's & Gender Studies:

For more information about searching specifically for ebooks in Southern Search see the eBooks Research Guide.

OA & OER Books

Selected Women's & Gender Studies OA (Open Access) and OER (Open Educational Resources) books and textbooks:

Introduction to Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Open Textbook

Books in Other Libraries

The OCLC WorldCat database contains records for millions of books and other resources held in libraries around the world. You can request books that are not in the Library's collection through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. To find books in WorldCat limit your search to type books:

Book Awards, Bibliographies & Best Books Lists

Here is a selected list of book awards, bibliographies and Best Books lists in Women's & Gender Studies:

Bibliography of Scholarship on Women and Gender Studies Librarianship by the ACRL Women and Gender Studies Section
Core Books in Women's & Gender Studies by the ACRL Women and Gender Studies Section
GLBT Resources for Children: a Bibliography from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable of the American Library Association
Lambda Literary Award finalists and winners from Lambda Literary
National Women's Studies Association Book Prizes
Over the Rainbow Books from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable of the American Library Association
Stonewall Book Awards from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable of the American Library Association

Reference Books

The following list is a sampling of titles shelved in the Reference area originally compiled by Cindy Schofield, MLIS, Ed.D; former Buley Library Technical Services Division Head (1999-2018). The Reference Collection is located on the main floor of Buley Library. Unless otherwise noted, annotations are taken from publishers book jacket notes.

American women : who they are & how they live / by the New Strategist editors
Battleground : women, gender, and sexuality / edited by Amy Lind and Stephanie Brzuzy
2 volume set examines how women's bodies become battlegrounds--symbolically and materially, through political and economic processes, policies, laws, educational and religious institutions and cultural ideologies...
Biographical dictionary of women's movements and feminisms in Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe : 19th and 20th centuries / edited and with an introduction by Francisca de Haan, Krassimira Daskalova, and Anna Loutfi
...describes the lives, works and aspirations of more than 150 women and men who were active in , or part of, woment movements and feminisms in Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe.
Black Women in America
Provides biographies and topical essays discussing the important roles Black women have played in American history.
A concise glossary of feminist theory / Sonya Andermahr, Terry Lovell, Carol Wolkowitz
...fully cross-referenced entries on the most commonly encountered terms...
Encyclopedia of gender and society / edited by Jodi O'Brien
...examines the various ways in which gender shapes individual lives, cultural beliefs and practices, and social and economic organization.
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
Authored by community-based researchers and academics, the articles in this set treat various aspects of LGBT history, culture, politics, and society in America.
Encyclopedia of sex and gender / Fedwa Malti-Douglas, editor-in-chief
Encyclopedia of women's autobiography / edited by Victoria Boynton and Jo Malin ; Emmanuel S. Nelson, advisory editor
...Multicultural in scope and the first work of its kind, [this two volume] encyclopedia overviews more than 400 years of autobiographical writing by women...Included are nearly 200 alphabetically arranged entries by more than 130 expert contributors.
Encyclopedia of women in the American West / edited by Gordon Morris Bakken and Brenda Farrington
Captures the lives of more than 150 women who have made their mark from the mid-1800s to the present, contextualizing their experiences and contributions to American society.
Feminists who changed America, 1963-1975 / edited by Barbara J. Love ; with an introduction by Nancy F. Cott
...comprehensive dictionary documents many of the founders and leaders (including both well known and grass roots organizers) of the second wave women's movement.
From suffrage to the Senate : an encyclopedia of American women in politics / Suzanne O'Dea Schenken ; foreword by Ann W. Richards
...explores American women's path to political power and social equality from the struggle for the right to vote and the abolition of slavery to the first African American woman in the U.S. Senate and beyond...
A glossary of feminist theory / Sonya Andermahr, Terry Lovell, Carol Wolkowitz
...comprehensive guide to the theoretical concepts that structure the diverse and complex terrain of contemporary feminism...
The Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide / editor-in-chief, Lynn Walter ; volume editors, Aili Mari Tripp ... [et al.]
...This groundbreaking reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing distortion-free and newly available information about women's status in matters ranging from education to violence, in more than 130 countries in the worlds most populated areas.
Historical dictionary of feminism / Janet K. Boles, Diane Long Hoeveler
...more than 1,000 entries covering significant people, organizations, campaigns, court cases, goals, achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement.
Historical dictionary of feminist philosophy / Catherine Villanueva Gardner
...useful overview of the subject...covers both central figures and ideas from the historical tradition of philosophy, as well as ideas and theories from contemporary feminist philosophy...
Historical dictionary of women in Sub-Saharan Africa / Kathleen Sheldon
...includes nearly 1,000 entries on notable African women in history, politics, religion, and the arts...
Women's studies : a recommended bibliography / Linda A. Krikos and Cindy Ingold
This monumental work maps the literature of women's studies, covering thousands of titles and Web sties in 19 subject areas published in the last two decades of the 20th century...
Women in the Middle Ages : an encyclopedia / edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis
encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world.

Southern Search Tutorial

This tutorial will show you how to use SouthernSearch to find books and other materials, how to request books from another CSCU library, how to save records to print, email, or cite information, and where to go for additional help.

Library of Congress Subject Headings for WGS

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are a thesaurus or controlled vocabulary of descriptive terms maintained by the Library of Congress that are used in library catalog (bibliographic) records for books and other resources in library collections. Searching library catalogs by subject using these terms will return lists of books and other resources with these subject headings.

On these three tabs are lists in alphabetic order of selected LCSH selected terms relevant to Women's & Gender Studies. Clicking the links will generate searches using those subject headings in Southern Search. Note that Library of Congress terms undergo periodic reconsideration and revision through a formalized process that takes time, which means some terms may no longer be in use colloquially and/or may be considered offensive while they are still in use in the LCSH. Please also note: this list is extensive, but is not a comprehensive list of all potentially relevant terms. To find additional LCSH terms you may search Library of Congress Subject Headings at the LC Linked Data Service.

Note: if you find 0 results with the Search Scope set to Southern Connecticut State University change the scope to CSCU Library Consortium to see holdings at CCSU, ECSU, WCSU and the Community Colleges.

Gay activists
Gay actors
Gay adoption
Gay and lesbian film festivals
Gay and lesbian studies
Gay anthropologists
Gay artists
Gay artists in popular culture
Gay athletes
Gay authors
Gay bars
Gay bodybuilders
Gay broadcasters
Gay business enterprises
Gay cartoonists
Gay clergy
Gay clubs
Gay coaches (Athletics)
Gay college students
Gay college teachers
Gay columns in newspapers
Gay communities
Gay consumers
Gay couples
Gay couples - Religious life (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Gay culture
Gay dramatists
Gay erotic art
Gay erotic literature
Gay erotic videos
Gay human services personnel
Gay journalists
Gay kings and rulers
Gay labor union members
Gay liberation movement
Gay librarians
Gay libraries
Gay male couples
Gay men
Gay men - Conduct of life
Gay men - Identity
Gay men - Language
Gay men - Relations with heterosexual women
Gay men - Relations with heterosexuals
Gay men and musicals
Gay men civil rights
Gay men in art
Gay men in literature
Gay men in mass media
Gay men legal status
Gay men's writings (can sub-categorize by language)
Gay military personnel
Gay motion picture actors and actresses
Gay motion picture producers and directors
Gay musicians
Gay newspapers
Gay nurses
Gay police officers
Gay politicians
Gay press
Gay press publications
Gay Pride Day
Gay psychologist
Gay Rights
Gay rights - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Gay social workers
Gay students
Gay teachers
Gay teenagers
Gay theater
Gay youth
Gay-straight alliances in schools
Gays
Gays - Attitudes
Gays - Employment
Gays - Identity
Gays - Monuments
Gays - Nazi persecution
Gays - Social life and customs
Gays and sports
Gays and the performing arts
Gays civil rights
Gays history
Gays in literature
Gays in military service
Gays in popular culture
Gays in the Armed Forces
Gays legal status
Gays' writings
Gender identity
Gender identity disorders
Gender identity disorders in adolescence
Gender identity disorders in children
Gender Identity in art
Gender identity in dance
Gender identity in education
Gender identity in literature
Gender identity in mass media
Gender identity in motion pictures
Gender identity in music
Hermaphroditism
Heterosexism
Hip-hop feminism
Hispanic American gays
Hispanic American lesbians
Homophobia
Homophobia - Press coverage
Homophobia - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Homophobia in children
Homophobia in high schools
Homophobia in higher education
Homophobia in literature
Homophobia in psychoanalysis
Homophobia in schools
Homophobia in social work
Homophobia in sports
Homophobia in the press
Homophobia United States History
Homosexuality
Homosexuality - Folklore
Homosexuality - Genetic aspects
Homosexuality - Mythology
Homosexuality - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Homosexuality - Societies
Homosexuality (Canon law)
Homosexuality America History
Homosexuality and art
Homosexuality and dance
Homosexuality and education
Homosexuality and literature
Homosexuality and motion pictures
Homosexuality and music
Homosexuality Biblical teaching
Homosexuality comic books
Homosexuality Europe History
Homosexuality fiction
Homosexuality government policy
Homosexuality History (can sub-divide further by century)
Homosexuality in art
Homosexuality in dance
Homosexuality in literature
Homosexuality in motion pictures
Homosexuality in music
Homosexuality in opera
Homosexuality in the Bible
Homosexuality in the workplace
Homosexuality law and legislation
Homosexuality on radio
Homosexuality on television
Homosexuality poetry
Homosexuality psychology
Homosexuality social aspects
Homosexuality, Male, in art
Homosexuality, Male, in literature
Indian gays
Indian lesbians
Intersex people
Italian American gays
Italian American lesbians

Jewish gay men
Jewish gays
Jewish lesbians
Leather bars
Leather life style (Sexuality)
Legal assistance to gays
Lesbian activists
Lesbian actresses
Lesbian artists
Lesbian artists in popular culture
Lesbian athletes
Lesbian authors
Lesbian business enterprises
Lesbian cartoonists
Lesbian clergy
Lesbian college students
Lesbian college teachers
Lesbian communities
Lesbian composers
Lesbian consumers
Lesbian couples
Lesbian culture
Lesbian dramatists
Lesbian erotic art
Lesbian feminism
Lesbian feminist theory
Lesbian librarians
Lesbian libraries
Lesbian musicians
Lesbian nuns
Lesbian nurses
Lesbian private investigators
Lesbian psychotherapists
Lesbian pulp fiction
Lesbian rabbis
Lesbian rights
Lesbian students
Lesbian teachers
Lesbian teenagers
Lesbian theater
Lesbian vampires
Lesbian youth
Lesbianism
Lesbianism - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Lesbianism in art
Lesbianism in literature
Lesbianism in motion pictures
Lesbianism in opera
Lesbians
Lesbians - Conduct of life
Lesbians - Identity
Lesbians - Legal status, laws
Lesbians - Relations with heterosexuals
Lesbians and musicals
Lesbians and sports
Lesbians History
Lesbians in art
Lesbians in literature
Lesbians in mass media
Lesbians' writings
Liberation theology
Male impersonators
Masculinity
Mass media and gays
Mexican American gays
Mexican American lesbians
Middle aged gay men
Middle aged gays
Middle aged lesbians
Middle ages lesbians
Minority gays
Minority lesbians
Mormon gays
Motion pictures and gay men
Music by gay composers
Music by lesbian composers
National March on Washington
Nationalism and feminism
Ordination of gays (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Ordination of lesbians (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Outing (Sexual orientation)
Pacific Islander American bisexuals
Pacific Islander American gays
Pacific Islander American lesbians
Parents of gays
Polari
Prostitution - History
Prostitution - Interviews
Prostitution - law and legislation
Prostitution in literature
Psychoanalysis and feminism
Psychoanalysis and Homosexuality
Psychology gender, and theory
Puerto Rican lesbians
Queer theory
Radical Faieries
Rural gay men
Rural lesbians
Same-sex marriage
Same-sex marriage law and legislation
Same-sex marriage religious aspects
Second-wave feminism
Sex (psychology)
Sex change
Sex Customs History
Sex role
Sex roles
Sex-oriented businesses
Sexual behavior
Sexual ethics
Sexual minorities
Sexual orientation
Sexual orientation in art
Sexual orientation in literature
Sexuality and culture
Social work with bisexuals
Social work with gay youth
Social work with gays
Social work with lesbian youth
Social work with lesbians
Socialist feminism
Sodomy - History
Sodomy - Religious aspects
Sodomy - United States - Cases
Sodomy in literature
South Asian American gays
Stonewall Book Awards
Stonewall Riot, New York, N.Y., 1969
Third-wave feminism
Transgender people--Identity.
Transgender people.
Transsexual librarians
Transsexualism
Transsexualism - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Transsexuals
Transsexuals - Legal status, laws
Transsexuals – Identity
Transsexuals in literature
Transsexuals in motion pictures
Transsexuals' writings
Transvestism
Transvestism - Religious aspects (can sub-categorize further by denomination)
Transvestism in art
Transvestite
Transvestites in literature
Two-spirit people
United States - Armed Forces - Gays
Women
Women in philosophy
Women—Social condition
Women—Suffrage
Women's rights
Women’s studies
Women’s studies libraries
Women’s studies—Awards
Women’s studies—Awards—United States
Women’s studies—Biographical methods
Women’s studies—Congresses
Women’s studies—Cross-cultural studies
Women’s studies—Japan
Women’s studies—Periodicals
Women’s studies—United States
Working class lesbians