Skip to main content

Chemistry

Subject Specific Databases

These databases specialize in providing chemistry and science related articles.

For each of the databases below, click on "more..." to read a description of that database's content.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases cover many topics, but have selected full text from a variety of chemistry related journals, books, and reports. PhD dissertations and Masters theses are usually great sources for research topic ideas, literature reviews, and methods.

For each of the databases below,  click on "more..." to read a description of that database's content.

Google Scholar


Google Scholar is Google's version of a library database. Google Scholar searches publishers' websites, academic sites (.edu), and other "scholarly" resources. You can link Google Scholar to our library's resources by going to "Library Links" under settings and searching for Southern Connecticut State University. See the Guide to Google Scholar below for instructions and for search tips.

Peer Review

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed, refereed, or scholarly journals have articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field. Not all articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed, however. Some may be news, opinion, or short reports. Many databases are either all peer-reviewed journals or have a check box to limit a search to just peer-reviewed journals.

See our Peer-Review guide for more information

Journal Finder

Looking for a specific journal?

Browse a list of Chemistry journals or search for a specific journal through the library's journal finder.

Tracking Down Articles

Often you may have a citation or reference to an article. You can look the journal title up in our Journal Finder, but often these titles are abbreviated. Check these sources for the full titles:

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find a full text of the article?

Request the article through Interlibrary loan.