These are some examples of Chemistry books in our catalog. Use SouthernSearch the online CSU catalog for books at Southern and the other CSCU libraries.
Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables by Steven L. HoenigWritten as a quick reference to the many different concepts and ideas encountered in chemistry, Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables presents important subjects in a concise format that makes it a practical resource for any reader. The author covers multiple subjects including general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and spectral analysis. Separate chapters offer physical constants and unit measurements commonly encountered and mathematical concepts needed when reviewing or working with basic chemistry concepts. Other features include: Tables that are useful as for the interpretation of ultra-violet (UV), infra-red (IR), nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and mass spectroscopy (MS) spectra. Physical constants and unit measurements that are commonly encountered throughout the application of chemistry. Sections devoted to the concept of isomers and polymer structures. Graduate and undergraduate chemistry students, professionals, or instructors looking to refresh their understanding of a chemistry topic will find this ready reference indispensable in their daily work. Written as a quick reference to the many different concepts and ideas encountered in chemistry, Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables presents important subjects in a concise format that makes it a practical resource for any reader. The author covers multiple subjects including general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and spectral analysis. Separate chapters offer physical constants and unit measurements commonly encountered and mathematical concepts needed when reviewing or working with basic chemistry concepts. Other features include: Tables that are useful as for the interpretation of ultra-violet (UV), infra-red (IR), nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and mass spectroscopy (MS) spectra. Physical constants and unit measurements that are commonly encountered throughout the application of chemistry. Sections devoted to the concept of isomers and polymer structures. Graduate and undergraduate chemistry students, professionals, or instructors looking to refresh their understanding of a chemistry topic will find this ready reference indispensable in their daily work.
Call Number: Main Stacks QD33.2 .H63 2020
Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; WIlliam R. RobinsonChemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
Computational Chemistry: Introduction to the Theory and Applications of Molecular and Quantum Mechanics by Errol G. LewarsThis is the third edition of the successful text-reference book that covers computational chemistry. It features changes to the presentation of key concepts and includes revised and new material with several expanded exercises at various levels such as 'harder questions' for those ready to be tested in greater depth - this aspect is absent from other textbooks in the field. Although introductory and assuming no prior knowledge of computational chemistry, it covers the essential aspects of the subject. There are several introductory textbooks on computational chemistry; this one is (as in its previous editions) a unique textbook in the field with copious exercises (and questions) and solutions with discussions. Noteworthy is the fact that it is the only book at the introductory level that shows in detail yet clearly how matrices are used in one important aspect of computational chemistry. It also serves as an essential guide for researchers, and as a reference book.
Call Number: Main Circulating Stacks QD39.3.M3 L493 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
A Dictionary of Chemistry by Jonathan Law (Editor); Richard Rennie (Editor)A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.For this eighth edition, the Dictionary has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date reference work of its kind. Almost 200 entirely new entries have been added, including bioethanol, genome, molecular spintronics, oganesson, phosphorylation, and reticular chemistry. Areas such asanalytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and organic chemistry have been expanded to reflect recent developments in the field.The dictionary's supplementary material has also been enhanced as new diagrams provide readers with useful visual aids, and the appendices have been substantially updated. All web links have been revised and updated, and are easily accessible via the companion website.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by William M. White (Editor)The Encyclopedia is a complete and authoritative reference work for this rapidly evolving field. Over 300 international scientists, each experts in their specialties, have written over 330 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including geochemical thermodynamics and kinetics, isotope and organic geochemistry, meteorites and cosmochemistry, the carbon cycle and climate, trace elements, geochemistry of high and low temperature processes, and ore deposition, to name just a few. The geochemical behavior of the elements is described as is the state of the art in analytical geochemistry. Each topic incorporates cross-referencing to related articles, and also has its own reference list to lead the reader to the essential articles within the published literature. The entries are arranged alphabetically, for easy access, and the subject and author indices are comprehensive and extensive. Geochemistry applies chemical techniques and approaches to understanding the Earth and how it works. It touches upon almost every aspect of earth science, ranging from applied topics such as the search for energy and mineral resources, environmental pollution, and climate change to more basic questions such as the Earth's origin and composition, the origin and evolution of life, rock weathering and metamorphism, and the pattern of ocean and mantle circulation. Geochemistry allows us to assign absolute ages to events in Earth's history, to trace the flow of ocean water both now and in the past, trace sediments into subduction zones and arc volcanoes, and trace petroleum to its source rock and ultimately the environment in which it formed. The earliest of evidence of life is provided by chemical and isotopic traces, not fossils, preserved in rocks. Geochemistry has allowed us to unravel the history of the ice ages and thereby deduce their cause. Geochemistry allows us to determine the swings in Earth's surface temperatures during the ice ages, determine the temperatures and pressures at which rocks have been metamorphosed, and the rates at which ancient magma chambers cooled and crystallized. The field has grown rapidly more sophisticated, in both analytical techniques that can determine elemental concentrations or isotope ratios with exquisite precision and in computational modeling on scales ranging from atomic to planetary.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2018-07-28
Ethics Of Chemistry: From Poison Gas To Climate Engineering by Joachim Schummer; Tom BorsenAlthough chemistry has been the target of numerous public moral debates for over a century, there is still no academic field of ethics of chemistry to develop an ethically balanced view of the discipline. And while ethics courses are increasingly demanded for science and engineering students in many countries, chemistry is still lagging behind because of a lack of appropriate teaching material. This volume fills both gaps by establishing the scope of ethics of chemistry and providing a cased-based approach to teaching, thereby also narrating a cultural history of chemistry.From poison gas in WWI to climate engineering of the future, this volume covers the most important historical cases of chemistry. It draws lesson from major disasters of the past, such as in Bhopal and Love Canal, or from thalidomide, Agent Orange, and DDT. It further introduces to ethical arguments pro and con by discussing issues about bisphenol-A, polyvinyl chloride, and rare earth elements; as well as of contested chemical projects such as human enhancement, the creation of artificial life, and patents on human DNA. Moreover, it illustrates chemical engagements in preventing hazards, from the prediction of ozone depletion, to Green Chemistry, and research in recycling, industrial substance substitution, and clean-up. Students also learn about codes of conduct and chemical regulations.An international team of experts narrate the historical cases and analyse their ethical dimensions. All cases are suitable for undergraduate teaching, either in classes of ethics, history of chemistry, or in chemistry classes proper.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2021-03-10
Making the Transition to University Chemistry by M.J. Clugston, Malcolm Stewart, Fabrice BirembautMaking the transition to university chemistry is the perfect companion as students take the significant step from school to university, setting them up to be confident and successful in their chemistry studies. Each topic opens with expanded bullet points that remind the reader of familiar ideas from their pre-university studies that they will be expected to understand at the start of their undergraduate course. Taking the next step sections expand on these familiar ideas by way of more detailed explanations, which allow the reader to make links to work that will be important at university. Finally, A Deeper Look sections explore more challenging concepts (either because the mathematical level is higher or the explanation is more complicated). Some of the concepts presented in these sections are among the most exciting in the subject: they give a flavour of the new insights the study of chemistry at university can offer. Its focus on those topics that may not have previously been studied by all students, and those topics that are regularly misunderstood by incoming undergraduates, provides guidance tailored to the particular needs of this student cohort, laying the foundation they need to succeed throughout their university studies
Call Number: Main Stacks QD8 .C584 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Nuclear Chemistry by Maheshwar Sharon; Madhuri SharonThis book is designed to serve as a textbook for core courses offered to postgraduate students enrolled in chemistry. This book can also be used as a core or supplementary text for nuclear chemistry courses offered to students of chemical engineering. The book covers various topics of nuclear chemistry like Shell model, fission/fusion reaction, natural radioactive equilibrium series, nuclear reactions carried by various types of accelerators. In addition, it describes the law of decay of radioactivity, type of decay, and interaction of radiation with matter. It explains the difference between ionization counter, scintillation counter and solid state detector. This book also consists of end-of-book problems to help readers aid self-learning. The detailed coverage and pedagogical tools make this an ideal textbook for postgraduate students and researchers enrolled in various chemistry and engineering courses. This book will also be beneficial for industry professionals in the allied fields.