Communication, Media, and Screen Studies

OER-Specific Sites; AMSER - Applied Math and Science Education Repository; BC Campus:Open Ed; Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB); LibreTexts; Merlot.Org; MIT OpenCourseware; OAOpen.org; OASIS; OER Commons; OERs at Internet Archive; Open Michigan; Open Textbook Library; OpenStax CNX ; Teaching Commons; American Memory (Library of Congress); Digital Public Library of America; HathiTrust - Full View; JSTOR Open Access books; Library of Congress; Open Research Library; Project Gutenberg; The New York Public Library Digital Collections; World Digital Library

"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."

'Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 114 different sources and contains 440,452 records."

"communication +1 provides a forum for exploring and sharing ideas about communication across modes of inquiry and perspectives. Its primary objective is to push the theoretical frontiers of communication as an autonomous and distinct field of research. Suspending any judgement regarding distinction between theory and practice, this journal encourages critical reflections on communication and seeks to encourage these reflections to and among those who place communication at the center of their thinking and writing."

Searchable for both journals and articles

"The IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society (OJ-COMS) is an open access, all-electronic journal that publishes original high-quality manuscripts on advances in the state of the art of telecommunications systems and networks."

Links to OA journals. "In recent years free, on line journals, many of them open access and peer-reviewed, have begun to both challenge and complement traditional academic publishing. This is a welcome development and IAMCR is developing a resource on its website with links to journals in the field of media and communications. Unless otherwise mentioned, these journals are not affiliated with IAMCR."

"The International Journal of Communication is an online, multi-media, academic journal that adheres to the highest standards of peer review and engages established and emerging scholars from anywhere in the world." Open Access Policy :"This is an Open Access journal. Users have the right to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of articles in this journal, or use them for any other lawful purpose."

"The Journal of Communication (JOC) is the flagship journal of the International Communication Association and an essential publication for all communication specialists and policy makers." Open Access Policy: "Journal of Communication offers the option of publishing under either a standard licence or an open access licence."

"The Journal of Communication Pedagogy (JCP) publishes only the highest quality articles that extend communication theory, research, and practice in meaningful ways. In addition to face-to-face and online classrooms, we seek manuscripts that focus on instructional communication research situated in a variety of contexts such as health, business/industry, religious, risk/crisis, public relations, journalism, forensics, and nonprofits both within the borders of the United States and beyond them."

"Media and Communication is an international open access journal dedicated to a wide variety of basic and applied research in communication and its related fields. It aims at providing a research forum on the social and cultural relevance of media and communication processes."

List of journals with OA logo denoting Open Access titles.

"Online Journal of Communication and Media Technologies (OJCMT) is an international open access journal, rigorously peer-reviewed journal in the field of Communication and its related fields."

Links to OA journals. "Open Access in Media Studies is maintained and curated by Jeroen Sondervan and Jeff Pooley, and in close collaboration with the European Network for Cinema and Media Studies (NECS). The site aims to inform about and promote open access publishing in the field of media studies."

"Westminster Papers in Communication and Culture (WPCC) wishes to engage international scholars in a critical debate about the relationship between communication, culture and society in the 21st century. WPCC is a peer-reviewed journal, published online. The interdisciplinary nature of the field of Media and Cultural Studies is reflected in the diverse methods, contexts and themes of the papers published. Areas of interest include – but are not limited to – the history and political economy of the media, popular culture, media users and producers, political communication and developments arising from digital technologies in the context of an increasingly globalized and networked world."