SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Open Access &amp; Open Educational Resources for Communication, Media, and Screen Studies: Teaching Resources

Books

This is a small sample of OA & OER textbooks relevant to communication and/or media studies. All books have publication dates 2017+.

Communication, film, television, popular culture, and music are well-represented in OA & OER; it was difficult to choose only a few examples.

Interactive Multimedia - Multimedia Production and Digital Storytelling
"This book contains 11 chapters that are divided into two sections: Interactive Multimedia and Education and Interactive Multimedia and Medicine. The authors of the chapters deal with different topics within these disciplines, such as the importance of cloud storage, development of play tools for children, use of gaming on multimedia devices designed for the elderly, development of a reading, writing, and spelling program based on Luria's theories, as well as development of mobile applications called BloodHero dedicated to the increase in blood donors, etc."
Game Production Studies
The Propaganda Model Today
Interpersonal Communication
"Our journey in interpersonal communication will be to take the senses that we have and learn better to use them."
Effective Professional Education: A Rhetorical Approach
"Our goal in this text is to break down the communication process in professional environments so you can maximize your chance to get hired and retain your job once you graduate from university. We will do this by looking at communication through political, rhetorical, ethical, and interpersonal lenses and applying this knowledge to your future career."
Social Media and Hate

Open Access Book Collections

Almost all of the resources listed here are searched by the Mason OER Metafinder and/or one of the other aggregators (MERLOT, OASIS, etc.).and contain course materials as well as books.

Open Access at Buley

Many Open Access journal articles and books can be found through SouthernSearch by using the Open Access limiter on the search results page:

Open Access materials are indicated by the words Open Access and the orange OA logo:

OA Articles

CORE
"The following item types can be deposited with CORE: abstract, article, bibliography, book, book chapter, catalog, chart, conference publication, course material or learning objects, data set, documentary, dissertation, essay, fictional work, finding aid, image, interview, map, music, performance, photograph, podcast, presentation, report, review, syllabus, technical report, thesis, translation, video essay, visual art."
Digital Commons Network
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Directory of Open Access Journals
Searchable for articles as well as journals.
JSTOR Open Access
Open Access Button
Search for articles at the website or add a browser extension. "Free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors."
Unpaywall
"An open database of 31,897,653 free scholarly articles.....from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use." Browser extension for Chrome and Firefox.

OER Courseware

Almost all of the resources listed here are searched by the Mason OER Metafinder and/or one of the other aggregators (MERLOT, OASIS, etc.) and include lesson plans, homework assignments, lectures, full courses, syllabi and more.

CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)
"It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials."
LibreTexts
"The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society."
MIT OpenCourseWare
"MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum."
OER Commons
Materials include Activity/Lab, Assessment, Case Study, Data Set, Diagram/Illustration, Full Course, Game, Homework/Assignment, Interactive, Lecture, Lecture Notes, Lesson Plan, Simulation, Syllabus and more.
Teaching Commons
"The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the "Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more."