SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: English Medieval Literature: Journal Articles

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Finding Journal Articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on English literary figures and their works, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and critical information on authors and works of literature. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password.

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Granger's World of Poetry Online (Columbia) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of poetry containing full text, audio recordings, commentaries, biographies, glossary, history and criticism. At present The Columbia Granger۪s World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, including the most widely-read poems in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages. In addition users will find a wealth of current poetry from some of the best poetry periodicals, such as Poetry Magazine, The Southern Review, and Poetry Northwest.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

More Journal/Periodical Databases

Additional databases for research on English authors and their works:

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text from journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
Genderwatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes full text dissertations and theses as well as the indexing and abstracts from Dissertation Abstracts back to 1637.

Google Scholar

Key Journals in Old and Medieval English Literatures

The journals below are some of the key journals for Old and Middle English Literature. They can be found either in print or online in Buley Library.

Anglo-Saxon England

Arthuriana

The Chaucer Review: Journal of Medieval Studies and Literary Criticism

Comitatus: A Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies

English Studies: A Journal of English Language and Literature

Essays in Medieval Studies

Exemplaria: A Journal of Theory in Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Medium Aevum

Modern Philology: A Journal Devoted to Research in Medieval and Modern Literature

Notes and Queries

Oral Tradition

PMLA: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America

Review of English Studies: The Leading Journal of English Literature and the English Language

Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies

Studies in English Literature

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan .

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled.

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.

Where Are Print Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor

IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Most of the readers are also printers. Ask for assistance in the Technical Services area.