For a new business venture to be successful, you need more than just a great idea. You also need information. You need information about the habits of potential customers, what your competitors are doing, funding opportunities, and more. This guide provides links and information to help find this information.
Please note: Some SCSU subscription resources are restricted for academic purposes only and cannot be used for commercial or business purposes. These pages also include a section of free resources without any restrictions.
Trade Literature:
Trade magazines, newspapers, and technical literature are excellent places to get ideas or help refine an existing idea. To find a specific magazine or journal such as Forbes or Popular Mechanics, check SouthernSearch or our Journal Finder for the title of the magazine.
ABI/INFORM
Worldwide business periodicals.
Business Source Premier
Full text database for business journals.
Newsbank (also known as Access World News)
Includes credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.
Newspapers:
Newspapers
Guide to Newspaper collections in SCSU Buley Library
New York Times Digital Edition
Scroll down to find information on access to the New York Times Digital Edition through SCSU Buley Library
Technical Literature:
Technical Literature includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and patents. The three databases listed below are multidisciplinary. Visit the Databases by Subject for more. Patents are also covered under the Intellectual Property page on this guide.
Google Patents: Search and read the full text of patents from around the world.
Free Patents Online: Easy to navigate and search. Provides linked categories to help explore patents in a particular area.
Web of Science: Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Library Books & Articles:
The library has books and articles on specific products and product development in general. Check SouthernSearch, ABI/INFORM, and Business Search Premier (see links above) for keywords and subject terms such as "product development."
