Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hispanic American Literature

Print Indexes

Indexes provide bibliographic citations to articles in books, magazines, journals, and newspapers. A bibliographic citation consists of author, title of article, title of periodical, volume, page and date. Once you get the citation, check CONSULS to see if we have the publication that is cited in the index.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
This is the English counterpart of the MLA. It identifies books, pamphlets and periodical articles that contain literary information. Also available online via LION.

Biography Index
Indexes biographical material in books and journals. Includes references to obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs and bibliographies.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Includes biographical sketches that have been published in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Good place to start if nothing other than the person's name is known.

Essay and General Literature Index
This is an index to chapters in books and essays in collections.

Hoffman's Index to poetry : European and Latin American poetry in anthologies
Indexes 14,000 of the best poems written in Spanish, Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Russian, Polish and Ukranian. Serves as a complement to Granger's Index to Poetry.

Humanities Index
Index articles that appear in English language journals. Includes language, literature and literary criticism. Entries are by author and subject.

Latin American play index
Two volumes. First volume
covers 1920-1962; second volume covers 1962-1980.