Hispanic American Literature

The boxes below contain curated lists of books. 

To find more, including the most recent additions, use SouthernSearch. 

Antología de la poesía mexicana moderna
Borderlands = La frontera
Boricuas : influential Puerto Rican writings--an anthology
Compañeras : Latina lesbians : an anthology
Cuento cubano del siglo XX : antología
Growing up Puerto Rican : an anthology
Herencia : the anthology of Hispanic literature of the United States
In other words : literature by Latinas of the United States
The last generation
The Latino reader : an American literary tradition from 1542 to the present
Lengua fresca : Latinos writing on the edge
Madres del verbo = Mothers of the word : early Spanish-American women writers : a bilingual anthology
Mujeres de palabra
Paradise lost or gained? : the literature of Hispanic exile
Piece of my heart : a lesbian of colour anthology
Puerto Rican writers at home in the USA : an anthology
Short stories by Latin American women : the magic and the real
This bridge called my back : writings by radical women of color
This bridge we call home : radical visions for transformation
Voces femeninas de Hispanoamérica : antología

Antes que anochezca : autobiografía
Biographical dictionary of Hispanic literature in the United States : the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers
Broken bars : new perspectives from Mexican women writers
Chicana ways : conversations with ten Chicana writers
Chicano controversy : Oscar Acosta and Richard Rodriguez
Conversations with Ilan Stavans
Conversations with Isabel Allende
A dream of light & shadow : portraits of Latin American women writers
Growing up Latino : memoirs and stories
Hispanic writers : a selection of sketches from Contemporary authors
Hunger of memory : the education of Richard Rodriguez : an autobiography
Isabel Allende : life and spirits
Interviews = Entrevistas
Interviews with writers of the post-colonial world
Latina self-portraits: Interviews with contemporary women writers
My life with Pablo Neruda
Neither saints nor sinners : writing the lives of women in Spanish America
On borrowed words : a memoir of language
Passion, memory, identity : twentieth-century Latin American Jewish women writers
Sandra Cisneros: Latina writer and activist
Something to declare
Spanish American authors : the twentieth century

The Argentine novel : an annotated bibliography
Bibliographic guide to Chicana and Latina narrative
Cuban-American fiction in English : an annotated bibliography of primary and secondary sources
Indice bibliográfico de autores cubanos (diáspora, 1959-1979) : literatura = Bibliographical index of Cuban authors (diaspora, 1959-1979) : literature
Latina and Latino Voices in Literature: Lives and Works
Latino Literature
Spanish-American women writers : a bibliographical research checklist
Spanish American women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book
Vanguardism in Latin American literature : an annotated bibliographical guide
Women authors of modern Hispanic South America : a bibliography of literary criticism and interpretation

After the boom : recent Latin American fiction
Agítese bien : a new look at the Hispanic avant-gardes
Ambiguity and gender in the new novel of Brazil and Spanish America : a comparative assessment
Barrio-logos : space and place in urban Chicano literature and culture
Being in common : nation, subject, and community in Latin American literature and culture
Beyond stereotypes : the critical analysis of Chicana literature
Black writers and Latin America : cross-cultural affinities
Bodies and biases : sexualities in Hispanic cultures and literatures
The catastrophe of modernity : tragedy and the nation in Latin American literature
Charcoal & cinnamon : the politics of color in Spanish Caribbean literature
Chicano/Latino homoerotic identities
Childhood and the nation in Latin American literature : Allende, Reinaldo Arenas, Bosch, Bryce Echenique, Cortázar, Manuel Galván, Federico Gamboa, S. Ocampo, Peri Rossi, Salurrué
Coded encounters : writing, gender, and ethnicity in colonial Latin America
Colonialism and race in Luso-Hispanic literature
Convergencias hispánicas : selected proceedings and other essays on Spanish and Latin American literature, film, and linquistics
The cult of Bolivar in Latin American literature
Cuban writers on and off the island : contemporary narrative fiction
The cultures of the Hispanic Caribbean
Dance between two cultures : Latino Caribbean literature written in the United States
The dialectics of exile : nation, time, language, and space in Hispanic literatures
The ends of literature : the Latin American "boom" in the neoliberal marketplace
The fragmented novel in Mexico : the politics of form
Hispanic American writers
A history of literature in the Caribbean
The identity of Hispanoamerica : an interpretation of colonial literature
Janus identities and forked tongues : two Caribbean writers in the United States
Killing Spanish : literary essays on ambivalent U.S. Latino/a identity
Latin American literature and its times
Latin American literature and mass media
Latin American novels of the Conquest : reinventing the New World
Latin America's new historical novel
Latina Writers
Latino and Latina writers
Latino fiction and the modernist imagination : literature of the borderlands
Latino literature in America
Literary bondage : slavery in Cuban narrative
Literary cultures of Latin America : a comparative history
The magic curtain: the Mexican-American border in fiction, film, and song
Mestizo nations : culture, race, and conformity in Latin American literature
Mexican literature : a history
The modern Latin American novel
Modernism and its margins : reinscribing cultural modernity from Spain and Latin America
Mulattas and mestizas : representing mixed identities in the Americas, 1850-2000
Murder and masculinity : violent fictions of twentieth century Latin America
Myth and archive : a theory of Latin American narrative
New immigrant literatures in the United States : a sourcebook to our multicultural literary heritage
The new novel in Latin America : politics and popular culture after the boom
Notable Latino writers
Pasó por aquí : critical essays on the New Mexican literary tradition, 1542-1988
Play and the picaresque : Lazarillo de Tormes, Libro de Manuel, and Match ball
Postmodern cross-culturalism and politicization in U.S. Latina literature : from Ana Castillo to Julia Alvarez
Postmodern vernaculars : Chicana literature and postmodern rhetoric
Queer migrations: Sexuality, U.S. citizenship, and border crossings
Reading U.S. Latina writers : remapping American literature
Reconstructing childhood : strategies of reading for culture and gender in the Spanish American bildungsroman
Science, technology, and Latin American narrative in the twentieth century and beyond
The Spanish American regional novel : modernity and autochthony
Theoretical fables : the pedagogical dream in contemporary Latin American fiction
This rough magic : technology in Latin American fiction
Tongue ties : logo-eroticism in Anglo-Hispanic literature
Understanding contemporary Chicana literature
Unhomely rooms : foreign tongues and Spanish American literature
Voice-overs : translation and Latin American literature
Voices from the fuente viva : the effect of orality in twentieth-century Spanish American narrative
Writing Paris : urban topographies of desire in contemporary Latin American fiction
Written in exile : Chilean fiction from 1973-present

The Cambridge companion to modern Latin American culture
Chicano literature : a reference guide
Chicano writers. First series
Chicano writers. Second series
Chicano writers. Third series
The companion to Hispanic studies
A Companion to US Latino Literatures
Contemporary U.S. Latino/a Literary Criticism
Dictionary of twentieth-century Cuban literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature
Latino Writers and Journalists
Liberation theology in Chicana/o literature : manifestations of feminist and gay identities
Modern Latin-American fiction writers. First series
Modern Latin-American fiction writers. Second series
Modernity and the nation in Mexican representations of masculinity : from sensuality to bloodshed
Post-revolutionary Chicana literature: memoir, folklore, and fiction of the border, 1900-1950
U.S. Latino literature : a critical guide for students and teachers

Concise encyclopedia of Latin American literature
The Continuum encyclopedia of American literature
Encyclopedia of feminist literature
Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature
Encyclopedia of Latin American theater
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish literature
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
The Latino encyclopedia

17 narradoras latinoamericanas
Adan visto por Eva : relatos de narradoras latinoamericanas
The Aguero sisters
Aura
Bésame mucho
Beyond the border : a new age in Latin American women's fiction
Bless me, Ultima
Caramelo, or, Puro cuento : a novel
The circuit : stories from the life of a migrant child
Cubana : contemporary fiction by Cuban women
Daughter of fortune : a novel
Eva Luna
The house of the spirits
The house on Mango Street
How to be a Chicana role model
Iguana dreams : new Latino fiction
In the time of the butterflies
The Jewish gauchos of the pampas
The Latin American short story : a critical history
Like water for chocolate : a novel in monthly installments, with recipes, romances, and home remedies
Loving Che
Masterworks of Latin American short fiction : eight novellas
Memory mambo : a novel
México mutilado : la raza maldita
Mirrors beneath the earth: Short fiction by Chicano writers
The Mixquiahuala letters
My wicked, wicked ways
Nuevos narradores cubanos
Other fires : short fiction by Latin American women
Puppet : a Chicano novella
Quincas Borba
Remaking a lost harmony : stories from the Hispanic Caribbean
Short fiction by Spanish-American women
So far from God : a novel
Under the feet of Jesus
The underdogs, a novel of the Mexican Revolution
Urban voices : contemporary short stories from Brazil
Vecindarios excéntricos
We came all the way from Cuba so you could dress like this? : stories
What night brings : a novel
Woman hollering creek and other stories
Women's fiction from Latin America : selections from twelve contemporary authors

Anna in the tropics
Chicanas/Latinas in American theatre : a history of performance
Chicano drama : performance, society, and myth
The color of theater : race, culture, and contemporary performance
Cuban American theater
Cuban theater in the United States : a critical anthology
The drama of gender : feminist theater by women of the Americas
Family and identity in contemporary Cuban and Puerto Rican drama
A history of Hispanic theatre in the United States : origins to 1940
Latin American dramatists. First series
Latin American play index
Latin American women dramatists : theater, texts, and theories
Latina performance : traversing the stage
Mexican American theatre : then and now
On new ground : contemporary Hispanic-American plays
The pain of the macho and other plays
Selected Latin American one-act plays
The state of Latino theater in the United States : hybridity, transculturation, and identity
Taking it to the streets : the social protest theater of Luis Valdez and Amiri Baraka
The theatre of García Lorca : text, performance, psychoanalysis
Watsonville : some place not here ; Circle in the dirt : el pueblo de East Palo Alto

Chicano poetics : heterotexts and hybridities
Corrosive signs : essays on experimental poetry (visual, concrete, alternative)
Daughters of the fifth sun : a collection of Latina fiction and poetry
The dissonant legacy of modernismo : Lugones, Herrera y Reissig, and the voices of modern Spanish American poetry
Hispanic feminist poems from the Middle Ages to the present : a bilingual anthology
Hoffman's Index to poetry : European and Latin American poetry in anthologies
José Emilio Pacheco and the poets of the shadows
Latin American poetry : origins and presence
Loose woman : poems
A Mayan astronomer in Hell's Kitchen : poems 
Medusario : muestra de poesiá latinoamericana
Movements in Chicano poetry : against myths, against margins
My father was a Toltec and selected poems, 1973-1988
Norte y sur de la poesía iberoamericana : Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, España, México, Venezuela
Pablo Neruda and the U.S. Culture Industry
Paper dance : 55 Latino poets
Poemas y narraciones sobre el movimiento estudiantil de 1968
Poesía iberoamericana contemporańea
Poética y poesía de Pablo Neruda 
Poets of contemporary Latin America : history and the inner life
The routes of modernity : Spanish American poetry from the early eighteenth to the mid-nineteenth century
Spanish American poetry at the end of the twentieth century : textual disruptions
These are not sweet girls : Latin American women poets
Triple crown : Chicano, Puerto Rican, and Cuban-American poetry
Twentieth-century Latin American poetry : a bilingual anthology
The woman I kept to myself : poems
Woman who has sprouted wings : poems by contemporary Latin American women poets
Writing rumba : the Afrocubanista movement in poetry

Allegories of transgression and transformation : experimental fiction by women writing under dictatorship
Beyond the border : a new age in Latin American women's fiction
Border-Line personalities: A new generation of Latinas dish on sex, sass and cultural shifting
Chicana feminisms : a critical reader
Chicana lesbians : the girls our mothers warned us about
Chicanas and Latin American women writers exploring the realm of the kitchen as a self-empowering site
Contemporary Mexican-American women novelists : toward a feminist identity
Contemporary Mexican women writers : five voices
Easy women : sex and gender in modern Mexican fiction
Entre mundos/among worlds : new perspectives on Gloria E. Anzaldúa
Explorations in contemporary feminist literature : the battle against oppression for writers of color, lesbian and transgender communities
Feminism on the border : Chicana gender politics and literature
Feminist readings on Spanish and Latin-American literature
Home girls : Chicana literary voices
How and why I write : redefining Hispanic women's writing and experience
Isabel Allende : a critical companion
Latina lesbian writers and artists
Notable Hispanic American women
Notable Hispanic American women : Book II
Other sisterhoods : literary theory and U.S. women of color
(Out)classed women : contemporary Chicana writers on inequitable gendered power relations
Passion, memory, identity : twentieth-century Latin American Jewish women writers
Performing women and modern literary culture in Latin America : intervening acts
A place in the sun? : women writers in Twentieth-century Cuba 
Plotting women : gender and representation in Mexico
A reader in Latina feminist theology : religion and justice
Reading the feminine voice in Latin American women's fiction : from Teresa de la Parra to Elena Poniatowska and Luisa Valenzuela
Reading U.S. Latina Writers: Remapping American literature
Reinventing identities : the gendered self in discourse
Remembering maternal bodies : melancholy in Latina and Latin American women's writing
Sexual textualities : essays on queer/ing Latin American writing
The shattered mirror : representations of women in Mexican literature
That strange territory : the representation of childhood in texts of three Latin American women writers
Tortilleras : Hispanic and U.S. Latina lesbian expression
Unveiling the body in Hispanic women's literature : from 19th Century Spain to 21st Century United States
With her machete in her hand : reading Chicana lesbians
Woman as witness : essays on testimonial literature by Latin American women
Women in Hispanic literature : icons and fallen idols
Women writers of Latin America : intimate histories
Women writing resistance : essays on Latin America and the Caribbean
Women singing in the snow : a cultural analysis of Chicana literature