Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law

How to find cases, statutes, regulations, and other law-related material

Special Federal Courts

The official websites of the courts include forms, rules, and general help. Many also include opinions. Descriptions of the courts' purposes and jurisdictions are taken from the official sites.

Copyright Claims Board. Opened June 2022. The CCB" is available to resolve copyright disputes of a relatively low economic value as an efficient, less expensive alternative to federal court."

 

U.S. Bankruptcy Courts: Bankruptcy courts are federal and located in every state. Many state have more than one (Connecticut has 3). The site allows you to locate a court near you by zipcode. "Bankruptcy laws help people who can no longer pay their creditors get a fresh start by liquidating their assets to pay their debts, or by creating a repayment plan. Bankruptcy laws also protect troubled businesses and provide for orderly distributions to business creditors through reorganization or liquidation."

Bankruptcy Court: The official Bankruptcy Court website does not link to opinions

  • Google Scholar:  1923+. Select Case Law before or after initial search
  • Justia: Bankruptcy Reporter vol. 1+

 

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces: "The United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces exercises worldwide appellate jurisdiction over members of the armed forces on active duty and other persons subject to the Uniform Code of Military Justice.  The Court is composed of five civilian judges appointed for 15-year terms by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. Cases on the Court’s docket address a broad range of legal issues, including constitutional law, criminal law, evidence, criminal procedure, ethics, administrative law, and national security law.  Decisions by the Court are subject to direct review by the Supreme Court of the United States."

Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces: 1996+ Listed by date. Opinions in PDF format

  • Findlaw: 1996+. Links to Court's website. Cases listed by date
  • Justia: 1996+. Cases listed by date

 

U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans' Claims: "The Court has exclusive jurisdiction to provide judicial review of final decisions by the Board of Veterans' Appeals, an entity within the Department of Veterans Affairs. The Court provides veterans an impartial judicial forum for review of administrative decisions by the Board of Veterans' Appeals that are adverse to the veteran-appellant's claim of entitlement to benefits for service-connected disabilities, survivor benefits and other benefits such as education payments and waiver of indebtedness. In furtherance of its mission, the Court also seeks to help ensure that all veterans have equal access to the Court and to promote public trust and confidence in the Court."

Court of Appeals for Veterans' Claims: 2000+. Searchable by keyword. Opinions are PDFs

 

U.S. Court of Federal Claims: The People's Court. "In this Court the federal government stands as the defendant and may be sued by citizens seeking monetary redress."

Federal Claims: 1997+. Searchable by date and judge. Opinions are PDF

 

U.S. Court of International Trade: "...in addition to certain specified types of subject matter jurisdiction, the court has a residual grant of exclusive jurisdictional authority to decide any civil action against the United States, its officers, or its agencies arising out of any law pertaining to international trade.....In addition to these lawsuits against the United States, the court also has exclusive subject matter jurisdiction of certain civil actions brought by the United States under the laws governing import transactions, as well as counterclaims, cross-claims, and third-party actions relating to actions pending in the court."

International Trade: 1999+. Cases listed by date. Opinions are PDFs

  • Findlaw:1999+. Link to Court's website. Cases listed by date
  • Justia:1999+

 

U.S. Tax Court: "When the Commissioner of Internal Revenue has determined a tax deficiency, the taxpayer may dispute the deficiency in the Tax Court before paying any disputed amount. The Tax Court’s jurisdiction also includes the authority to redetermine transferee liability, make certain types of declaratory judgments, adjust partnership items, order abatement of interest, award administrative and litigation costs, redetermine worker classification, determine relief from joint and several liability on a joint return, review certain collection actions, and review awards to whistleblowers who provide information to the Commissioner of Internal Revenue on or after December 20, 2006." 

Tax Court: 1995+. Opinions, rules. Searchable by date, case name, opinion type

  • Google Scholar:  1923+. Select Case Law before or after initial search
  • Findlaw: 1995+. Links to Court's website. Date, keyword, case name, judge, opinion type searching

International Courts

Eur-Lex: Access to European Union Law: "EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. The website is available in 23 official languages of the European Union; choose your preferred language from the language bar at the top of the homepage. The contents of the site amount to some 3 600 000 documents with texts dating back to 1951. The database is updated daily and every year around 15 000 documents are added." Collections include treaties, international agreements, legislation in force, preparatory acts, case-law, and parliamentary questions

International Court of Justice: The World Court in The Hague, "the principal judicial organ of the United Nations". "The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies." A list of cases and advisory proceedings with links to documents is provided.

International Criminal Court: "The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community. The ICC is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system. Its seat is at The Hague in the Netherlands. Although the Court’s expenses are funded primarily by States Parties, it also receives voluntary contributions from governments, international organisations, individuals, corporations and other entities." Access to case documents, descriptions of situations, etc.

United Nations: International Law section includes links to treaties, International Law Commission, oceans and law of the seas, UN Commission on International Trade Law, etc.

United States Treaties in Force: List of all treaties and international agreements on record with the State Department on 1/1/2009.