Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Skills for Students of English Composition

This is a basic library guide for students on how to find books, journal articles and other resources in Buley library for assignments and research papers.

Types of Periodicals

There are different types of periodicals. Click on the link below for an explanation of the different kinds of periodicals.

Different Types of Periodicals

Databases

Newspapers in Buley Library

Buley Library has newspapers in print, microfilm, microfiche, and online. The papers in print format are available on the ground floor in the Periodicals Room. Older issues of newspapers are available in microfilm or microfiche and are filed in cabinets in the Microforms Room which is adjacent to the Periodicals area. Please ask for assistance at the Periodicals Help Desk located in the Periodicals Reading Room. It is possible to make copies from microfilm or microfiche. Copies are ten cents a page. Use nickels and dimes only. The machines don't give change and they do not take Hoot Loot cards.

To access newspapers that are available full-text online, click here to get a list of newspaper databases that Buley Library subscribes to.

Finding Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles

To find journal or magazine articles you will need to search a library database. Not all information in the databases is freely available on the web. Besides, not all information on the web is accurate or current and it is not always clear where the information on the web originated or if it is unbiased or objective. The library has many different databases which have been reviewed and edited by experts in the field. These databases can be relied upon as authoritative sources. Some databases are subject-specific and some are multi-disciplinary. Some have historical information and some have current research. Most databases show you journal or magazine articles but some may have other types of information such as newspaper articles, books, book chapters and images. You need to find the most relevant database or databases for your

Finding journal articles from the library home page
To find journal or magazine articles, on the library home page  click on the down arrow next to Everything at SCSU, select Articles and e-Books from the menu and enter your search term in the search box.  See screenshot below which shows a search for "gender issues".

SouthernSearch on the Library Home Page

The results screen displays a number of options on the left panel as seen in the screenshot below. You can limit your search by Relevance, Availability, Resource Type, Subject, Creator, Date, Collection, Language, etc. You can select Full-text online to get everything that is available full-text or you may select "Peer-reviewed articles" to find refereed,scholarly articles or you can select "Articles" to find articles from magazines as well. Click on "Show More" under Resource Type to find newspaper articles.

SouthernSearch results screen

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.