Skip to main content

Natural Disasters: In the News and History

Research tips on earthquakes, hurricanes, tornadoes, tsunamis, and other natural disasters

In the News and History

Featured Resource

Tornado!

Manitoba 2007 tornadoTornadoes have hit the South-East United States hard in 2011. Find out more about tornadoes in general, and the severe storms that spawned this year's disasters.

Japan Earthquake: March 11, 2011

Map showing location of Japan earthquake

New Resources

Science News

News about Natural Disasters Research from ScienceDaily.com

Loading ...

Background Information

Print Encyclopedias

  • Dangerous planet : the science of natural disasters - Ref. GB5019 .E54 2001 v.1-3
  • Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences - Ref. QC854 .A48 2003 v.1-6
  • Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather - Ref. QC854 .E523 1996
  • Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences - Ref. QE5 .E5137 1996
  • Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes - Ref. QE521 .R58 1994
  • Encyclopedia of hurricanes, typhoons, and cyclones - Ref. QC944 .L66 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Volcanoes - Ref. QE522 .E53 2000
  • The Facts on File earth science handbook - Ref. QE5 .F32 2000
  • Geology (Encyclopedia) - Ref. QE5 .G465 1999
  • International handbook of earthquake and engineering seismology - Ref. QE537.3.I68 2003 v.1-2
  • Natural disasters - Ref. GB10 .N373 2001 v. 1-3
  • Natural disasters : from the Black Plague to the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo - Ref. GB5014 .D38 1992
  • Natural disasters, hurricanes - Ref. QC944 .F58 1999
  • Sciences of the earth: an encyclopedia of events, people and phenomena - Ref. QE11 .S38 1998
  • Significant tornadoes, 1680-1991 - Ref. QC955.5.U5G73 1993
  • Weather Almanac, 11ed., 2003 (SCSU ebook--login required off campus)
  • World atlas of natural hazards - Ref. G3201.C1 W67 2004

Journal Articles

Google Scholar


Google Scholar is Google's version of a library database. Google Scholar searches publishers' websites, academic sites (.edu), and other "scholarly" resources. Some of our own databases are covered, so you can use Google Scholar to search ScienceDirect, JSTOR, and BioOne all at the same time. However, many of the articles are not available directly to non-subscribers. By downloading the library toolbar or adding Southern Connecticut to Scholar's Preferences on your computer, you can access our subscriptions as well as whatever is free on the web. See the Guide to Google Scholar below for instructions on setting up the toolbar or the preferences, and for search tips.

Article Databases

Use the Find Article @ SCSU links to find full text online or in print, or use the journal finder to find if we have a journal in full text online or in print.

Books

Finding Books and Videos

Finding books:
Use CONSULS the online CSU catalog

Link to Subject Searches for books/videos on

Videos: (held in the Media Collection, 1st floor)

  • Winter 2005 eruption update (Kilauea) QE523.K55 W56 2005 DVD  (Volcano Video)
  • We're still here (Mexico City) TA654.6 .W4 2001 VHS  (Latin American Videos)
  • Volcano QE521.2.V64 1996 VHS  (BBC)
  • Born of fire QE521.B67 1993 VHS (National Geographic)
  • Earthquake QE535 .E37 1992 VHS  (NOVA)
  • Earth revealed QE26.2 .E37 1992 VHS-13 cassette set (CPB)
  • Tornado! QC955 .T66 1992 VHS (NOVA)

Websites

Selected Websites