SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Open Access &amp; Open Educational Resources for Communication Disorders: Publishing: Open Access Journals

Open Access Policies

Open Access policies for many journals can be searched at SHERPA RoMEO by title, ISSN, or publisher. "Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis."

SHERPA Juliet "is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving."

Open Access Journals for CMD

CoDAS (Communication Disorders, Audiology and Swallowing)
CoDAS (Communication Disorders, Audiology and Swallowing) is a technical and scientific publication of the Brazilian Society of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (Sociedade Brasileira de Fonoaudiologia), São Paulo, Brazil, the continuation of the Jornal da Sociedade Brasileira de Fonoaudiologia - JSBFa. CoDAS is a open access journal published bimonthly aims to contribute to the scientific and technical knowledge in Communication Sciences and Disorders and associated areas produced in Brazil and abroad.
Dysphagia
Open Access for a fee.
International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders
The International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders (IJLCD) is the official journal of the Royal College of Speech & Language Therapists. The Journal welcomes submissions on all aspects of speech, language, communication disorders and speech and language therapy. It provides a forum for the exchange of information and discussion of issues of clinical or theoretical relevance in the above areas.
more...less...
If the Open Access option is selected, the corresponding author will have a choice of the following Creative Commons License Open Access Agreements (OAA):

Creative Commons Attribution License CC BY

Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License CC BY NC

Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial -NoDerivs License CC BY NC ND

To preview the terms and conditions of these open access agreements please visit the Copyright FAQs hosted on Wiley Author Services here and click here for more information.

If you select the Open Access option and your research is funded by The Wellcome Trust and members of the Research Councils UK (RCUK) you will be given the opportunity to publish your article under a CC-BY license supporting you in complying with Wellcome Trust and Research Councils UK requirements. For more information on this policy and the Journal’s compliant self-archiving policy please click here.
Journal of Communication Disorders
Open Access options: https://www.elsevier.com/open-access
Journal of Communication Disorders, Deaf Studies & Hearing Aids
The Journal of Communication Disorders, Deaf Studies & Hearing Aids is an International Open Access Journal that aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the fields coming within the scope of the journal, including Aphasia, Asperger syndrome, Auditory processing disorders, Autism spectrum disorders, Cochlear implant, Communication impairments, Expressive language disorders, Hearing loss, Hearing impairments, Language disorders, Learning disability, Learning disorders, Phonological disorders, Sensory impairments, Sign language, Speech disorders, Speech language pathology, etc.
Journal of Speech Pathology & Therapy
The Journal of Speech Pathology & Therapy considers articles related to speech pathology, speech therapy for children, speech therapy for adults, speech therapy materials, speech therapy exercises, autism speech therapy, speech and language pathology,communicative speech pathology, spectrum pathology, bilingual speech pathology, medical speech pathology, stuttering, aphasia, stammering, speech impediments, speech disorders, clinical linguistics, interventional speech therapy, speech therapy techniques, speech and language disorders, aphasia, apraxia of speech, dysarthria, dysphasia, dysphonia, spastic dysphonia, etc.
JSM Communication Disorders
JSM Communication Disorders is a peer-reviewed journal that aims to publish scholarly papers of highest quality and significance in the field of treating disorders of speech, language and hearing. The journal publishes original research articles, review articles, clinical images, case reports, commentaries, short note, perspectives, and letters to the Editor.
As a part JSciMed Central® Open Access platform the articles published in the Journal, JSM Communication Disorders are freely accessible to the readers without any accession barriers, thereby supports the scientific innovation and advancement in research community. JSciMed Central® also brings multiple internationally peer reviewed member journals under one roof thereby encouraging knowledge sharing, collaboration and promotion of interdisciplinary science.
Noise & Health
Noise and Health is the only International Journal devoted to research on all aspects of noise and its effects on human health. An inter-disciplinary journal for all professions concerned with auditory and non-auditory effects of occupational, environmental, and leisure noise. It aims to provide a forum for presentation of novel research material on a broad range of topics associated with noise pollution, its control and its detrimental effects on hearing and health. It will cover issues from basic experimental science through clinical evaluation and management, technical aspects of noise reduction systems and solutions to environmental issues relating to social and public health policy.
Journal of Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Journal of Neurodevelopmental Disorders is an open access journal that integrates current, cutting-edge research across a number of disciplines, including neurobiology, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry and psychology. The journal’s primary focus is on the pathogenesis of neurodevelopmental disorders including autism, fragile X syndrome, tuberous sclerosis, Turner Syndrome, 22q Deletion Syndrome, Prader-Willi and Angelman Syndrome, Williams syndrome, lysosomal storage diseases, dyslexia, specific language impairment and fetal alcohol syndrome.
Otolaryngology Online Journal
Otolaryngology online Journal (2250-0359) is a vast and well researched subject in medical world. Analysing the medical part of it is assumed to be pivotal in curing many Ear and Throat infection and related diseases. As per the definition, otolaryngology is the area of medicine that deals with disorders condition of ear, nose or base of skull region and related structures of head and neck.
Otolaryngology Online Journal provides optimum platform where researchers from all over world can submit their work to it. Otolaryngology Online Journal is a famed international journal having an impeccable Reviewer and Editorial Board. This multidisciplinary open access journal provides the chance to researches to disseminate the work in the form of original research article, review article, case reports, short communication etc.
South African Journal of Communication Disorders (SAJCD)
The South African Journal of Communication Disorders (SAJCD) publishes reports and papers concerned with research, and critically evaluative theoretical, philosophical and conceptual issues dealing with aspects of human communication and its disorders, dysphagia, service provision, training and policy.
Teaching & Learning in Communication Disorders
Teaching and Learning in Communication Sciences & Disorders (TLCSD) publishes articles that reflect current and exemplary scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) research in speech-language pathology and audiology.
Trends in Hearing
Trends in Hearing (Trends) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focuses on publishing original research and reviews focusing on human hearing, hearing loss, hearing aids, auditory implants, and aural rehabilitation.

OA Color Codes

Digital Repositories

BASE: Bielefield Academic Search Engine
"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities
"The following item types can be deposited with CORE: abstract, article, bibliography, book, book chapter, catalog, chart, conference publication, course material or learning objects, data set, documentary, dissertation, essay, fictional work, finding aid, image, interview, map, music, performance, photograph, podcast, presentation, report, review, syllabus, technical report, thesis, translation, video essay, visual art."
OpenDOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories."OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held. Try it out for yourself"
PubMed
"PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books."
ROAR: Registry of Open Access Repositories
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. "Open access to research maximises research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective. More information.."
SocArXiv
"SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication."
SSOAR: Social Sciences Open Access Repository
Full-text social science documents.
SSRN
"SSRN´s eLibrary provides 1,112,026 research papers from 846,677 researchers in more than 65 disciplines."