Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Television Studies

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Finding Journal Articles

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays try the following databases.

Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password.

While many articles are available in full text through the databases, some may be available only in print journals and some may not be available at all in Buley Library. Articles not available can be requested through Interlibrary loan.

Journals in Buley

Buley Library subscribes to many journals that contain article about popular culture, television, and media studies.

They are all searchable in SouthernSearch and the Ebsco article search on the library home page or one of the databases listed in the box above.

You may also select one journal and search it separately.

Journals containing "media'

Journals containing "popular culture"

Journals containing "television"

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.

Where Are Print Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor

IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Most of the readers are also printers. Ask for assistance in the Technical Services area.

What Does Peer-Reviewed Mean?

What does peer-reviewed mean:

When your professor tells you to use peer-reviewed articles or peer-reviewed journals, they want you to use articles from scholarly journals that review submissions before publication. In the peer-review process, an author sends a manuscript of their article to the journal. The journal editor(s) send the manuscript to other experts in the author’s field (i.e. their peers) and ask for comments. Based on the comments, the journal editors either accept the article, reject it, or accept it with conditions. If the article is accepted with conditions, the author can revise it based on the reviewers’ comments and resubmit it. The intent is to ensure quality. Sometimes the term “refereed” Is used in place of “peer-reviewed”.

Is everything in a peer-reviewed journal peer-reviewed:

The articles are peer-reviewed but opinion pieces, editorials, letters to the editor, and book reviews are not articles and are not peer-reviewed.

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed:

  1. Limit a database to peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, or refereed journals before beginning a search, or apply it as a limiter when you get the results of your search. You can do this in Southernsearch, any Ebsco database, and most Proquest databases.
  2. Check Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
  3. Check the submission guidelines at the journal’s official website.