Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask the Libraries about Open Access and Open Educational Resources
Open Access Week
Open Access Week is celebrated each year at the end of October. Organizations all over the world celebrate open access, and promote the benefits that open access brings to education, scholarship, and research.
Open Education Week
Open Education Week, the first week in March, is a world wide celebration of open educational resources and projects.
Sciences & Distance Learning Librarian
, Citation guides
, Health Sciences
, Science & Technology
Open vs. Open Access
'Open Access' refers to the availability of the item--do you have to pay to read or view the resource? All the resources showcased in this exhibit are 'Open Access', and are available on the web for free. Many open access resources are 'as-is', viewable, but not changeable.
'Open' alone refers to the ability to modify the item--can you remix, reorder, add to, and subtract from the resource? Only some of the resources in this exhibit are 'Open'. Look for the information about the license under which the item is published. All 'Open' resources are 'Open Access'.
Want more? Start here...
Here are a few places to start searching for open access materials and open educational resources:
Open Textbook Library
Search for peer reviewed resources
College Open Textbooks
A consortium dedicated to promoting college level open textbook use. Includes lists of textbooks by subject, a peer review system, and information about open textbooks.
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
Tens of thousands of learning modules, tutorials, readings, videos, textbooks, etc., all available (check licensing) for educational use.
Khan Academy Videos
Short videos on everything from math and finance to French history.
Creative Commons licensed eduational "modules", sponsored by Rice University
Open Access Resources Guide
My growing collection of open access guides, sites, collections, and materials.
Contact me, or your subject librarian, or have a look at the new System Libraries Project, OpenCSCU:
This web exhibit is an on-going project. If I haven't covered your subject area yet or you're looking for something specific, please contact me.
The Open Digital Archaeology Textbook
Digital textbook with data analysis code and tools
Contemporary Health Issues (text/course)
Intro to health and wellness, licensed for reuse and modification.
National Center for Biotechnology Information books
hundreds of books and reports from NIH, WHO, and more
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions
Nursing EdD and health ed! This modifiable textbook is from Athabasca University in Canada.
Natural History Museum (of London) data portal
Digitized specimens from the Museum's vast collections: images, sound recordings, site and specimen info, datasets.
Multiple US institutions are contributing specimen records and data to this massive site (including UConn). A tutorial is available.
While much smaller than some of the other digital specimen collections, the Berlin Museum of Natural History's Zoosphere stands out by using multiple images of its insect specimens to create 3D views of specimens. (Note: very computer intensive!)
This Day In History
Resources from PBS, Archives.org, and other archival sites.
audio collections and an audio archiving standardization project.
Tag, transcribe, subtitle and otherwise contribute to the mission of the National Archives.
Sociological Images: For Instructors
A meme-based, humorous spin on sociological concepts. The For Instructors page includes course guides that follow common textbook organization, readings, and assignments.