Search for specific places or organisms by name for local research, and for concepts for a broader picture
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
"The North American Aquatic Macroinvertebrate Digital Reference Collection (NAAMDRC) was created by the USGS Aquatic Experimental Lab (AXL) to provide users with high-quality digital microscopy photographs to aid identification of aquatic macroinvertebrates."
Especially good for searching specific organisms (scientific name, or genus only for related species)
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today۪s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
The Nature Conservancy’s Connecticut Coastal Resilience Program resources related to Connecticut. Click Solutions for reports, and try the Mapping Portal. They have resources for 11 states and several US regions, plus international areas (under Projects at the top).
Selected books from the Library collection:
Troubled Waters: Understanding the Science Behind our Coastal Crisis by Stephen J. Culver (Editor)The book communicates coastal geology such that the reader gets a better understanding of how scientists work and how scientific knowledge is acquired and how it progresses. It presents the human side of geologic research, including missteps, in this case, research on coastal change of the recent past, the present, and the near future. The audience for this volume is the general public, coastal managers, politicians, and decision makers in general, in the coastal realm. But the implications of this work with regard to future climate change and human responses are relevant globally.
Publication Date: 2020
Diet for a Sustainable Ecosystem by Benjamin Cuker (Editor)This book explores a specific ecosystem in depth, in order to weave a story built on place and history. It incorporates the theme of a journey to help reveal the environment-human-health-food system-problem. While drawing on a historical approach stretching back to the American colonial era, it also incorporates more contemporary scientific findings. By crafting its story around a specific place, the book makes it easier for readers to relate to the content, and to subsequently use what they learn to better understand the role of food systems at the global scale.
"The efforts of the faculty, staff and students associated with the Werth Center for Coastal and Marine Studies (WCCMS) at Southern Connecticut State University focus on coastal and marine research and education along Connecticut's urbanized coast and harbors."