"Sponsored by the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators and written by top illustrators, scientists, and industry experts, The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration, Second Edition is an indispensable reference guide for anyone who produces, assigns, or simply appreciates scientific illustration. ...all aspects of this specialized field, from illustrating molecules and 3D modeling to important material and advice on copyright and contractual concerns, as well as establishing a freelance business. With step-by-step instructions, in-depth coverage of illustrative techniques and related tools, and helpful advice on the day-to-day business of scientific illustrating..."
"This book is designed to help biologists who must create their own illustrations and artists who are confronted with unfamiliar biological subjects. The author, an experienced biological illustrator, gives practical instructions and advice on the consideration of size and of printing processes, choice of materials, methods for saving time and labor, drawing techniques, lettering methods, and mounting and packing the finished illustrations. She explains how to produce clear and attractive charts, graphs, and maps, so essential to science publications. Though this primer does not cover photographic techniques, it does include advice on retouching, cropping, and mounting photographs and on using photographs of biological subjects as aids in drawing."
"This volume guides readers through the materials, methods, principles, and practice used to create all types of medical, biological, and zoological illustrations. It includes information on computer graphics that encompasses hardware, software, techniques, and usage tips. The author provides a basic overview of the field, including introductory rendering techniques, and an in-depth discussion of the many applications of the work, such as presentation graphics and exhibit design."
"Wildlife photographer Graeme Mackay provides beautiful photos of waterfowl to inspire artists from beginner to advanced stage to create their own art works. Work from outlines or download free full size high resolution images for printing off onto paper or canvas. Fun for lovers of Nature, young and old."
"This book was written and illustrated by Charles R. Knight (1874-1953), the acknowledged master of animal drawing... Those who have seen his murals, paintings, and bronzes of both prehistoric and modern animals in the New York Museum of Natural History or any one of a dozen other major zoological museums know why his work is so highly regarded. ... In this book, which is an extensive course in animal drawing, Knight offers an almost incredible wealth of practical instruction to commercial and fine artists, painters, sculptors, book illustrators, designers, decorators, and art students. He discusses animal musculature, bone structure, animal psychology, movements, habits, and habitats. He provides innumerable tips on animal proportions, the play of light and shadow, coloring, hair formation, feather arrangements of birds, scales of fish, how animals lie down, animal expressions, how a lioness bends back her ears when angry, and many others. Scores of animal categories are covered: great apes, tigers, lions, dogs, bears, cattle, horses, antelopes, sheep, goats, camels, swine, seals, rodents, young animals, exotic animals, crocodiles, snakes, fish, and birds."
"Every graduate student, postdoc and scientist knows that images and illustrations can make or break their lecture, poster presentation, and journal or book article. Graphics software and laser printers have placed professional-quality graphics within the reach of everyone. But in the end, whether your audience sees clear, understandable images or not depends on whether you followed the principles presented here. Learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of visual presentations. Understand when to use a figure, and how much information can be represented in one. See examples of bad, good, and better graphs and tables. The author also presents information on presenting DNA sequences, protein structures, and other molecular graphics."
"The author gives detailed advice on working in pencil, pen, scraper board, water-colour and gouache, and acrylics; on building up a drawing or painting by stages; on taking measurements and understanding plant structure; on collecting, handling and preserving plant material; and on the use of the hand lens and dissecting microscope. The accurate observation and the techniques that he advocates are equally applicable to the disciplined requirements of providing plates for the scientific press and to illustrations for more popular work or to drawing for pleasure...Approximately 130 illustrations (ten in colour) include examples of the work of well-known artists of the past and a large number of diagrams and line drawings."
"Using pencil and charcoal, students learn how to draw trees and forests with this clearly written and charmingly illustrated handbook. The book's pervasive mood of communing with nature reflects today''s growing environmental concerns."
"Maltzman teaches how to render the powerful beauty of nature with easy-to-master pencil and charcoal techniques. Piece by piece, artists will achieve solid compositions, filled with strong values and rich depth."
"...Macnamara shares her singular method, which relies on a slow layering of washes that eliminate the rigid and error-prone formulas of traditional watercolour painting. She provides the simple instruction all beginners and intermediate artists need to know about creating lifelike renderings of fur and feathers, along with detailed illustrations of a vast range of both familiar and exotic animals and their habitats."
Call Number: Main Circulating Stacks QE861.4 .C66 2013
Publication Date: 2017
"This is a book about the way we see dinosaurs and other prehistoric animals. Lavishly illustrated with over sixty original artworks, All Yesterdays aims to challenge our notions of how prehistoric animals looked and behaved. As a critical exploration of palaeontological art, All Yesterdays asks questions about what is probable, what is possible, and what is commonly ignored."
Collections of nature, wildlife, botanical, and other scientific illustrations
"During the past century the western world has shown an unprecedented interest in wildlife and its identification and conservation, and the art of the era has both stimulated and reflected this interest. This stunning book examines the various forms of wildlife art--from photographic hyper-realism to the abstract--each illustrated by paintings or prints that best represent the genre."
"A quite brilliant and beautiful examination of the efforts of scholars and science aficionados alike to conceive, document, describe, classify, order, and analyze natural phenomena with the aid of illustrations as varied as their interests and methods. Robin has assembled dozens of intriguing images."
"Here are 288 remarkably lifelike drawings of animals, furnishing artists and students with an easy-to-follow method of instruction in the drawing of horses, dogs, lions, cows and bulls, stags, and goats. So detailed and so accurate are these drawings that this book has long been a classic work of its kind."
"The Missouri River Journals of John James Audubon is the definitive presentation of America's most famous naturalist on his last expedition and assesses Audubon's actual environmental ethic amid his conflicted relationship with the natural world he so admired and depicted in his iconic works."
"In this inspiring companion to the acclaimed "Zoltan Szabo Paints Landscapes," one of the most brilliant watercolorists of the 20th century shows how to paint nature close-ups in 40 full-color step-by-step demonstrations."
"Arleta Pech shares her secrets for capturing the beauty of flowers in vibrant watercolour renderings. Starting with the basics, beginners can learn to successfully paint transparent petals, luminous colours and various delicate floral shapes."
"Watercolorists want to infuse their flowers with drama and intimacy. This book shows them how by capturing nature's beauty from a close-focus point of view. Easy-to-learn techniques for mingling colors and manipulating light, insights into the character of petals, designing composition and more essential information for portraying these dramatic viewpoints is included."
"This work is filled with illustrations by contemporary artists such as Charles LeClair, Eleanor Wunderlich and Harriet Shorr, and offers painting ideas and exercises that should encourage a fresh approach to painting flowers. Painting styles are diverse, showcasing pieces in watercolour, oil, acrylic, gouache, casein and pastel. The author gives an overview of the anatomy of flowers and provides sections on flower arranging, botanical illustration, colour and composition. In addition there is advice on selecting format, choosing viewpoint, balancing flowers with surrounding space to evoke particular moods, creating dynamic contrasts and capturing magic in everyday floral arrangements."
"Charles Reid is one of watercolor's best-loved teachers, a master painter whose signature style captures bright floral still-lifes with a loose spontaneity that adds immeasurably to the whole composition...Special "assignments" and step-by-step demonstrations help you master techniques for superior brushwork, edge control, and composition. You'll learn to paint wild daffodils, roses, mums, sunflowers, lilacs, tomatoes, avocados, oranges, strawberries, jars, coffeepots, wine bottles and more."
"In this complete guide to flower painting, Jan Kunz teaches how to capture the brilliant glow that all watercolor artists want in their floral compositions. In six detailed, step-by-step demonstrations she describes the finer points of painting flowers, covering everything from materials to setting up a subject to her special floral painting techniques."
"A guide to painting flowers, foliage and fruit which demonstrates several painting styles, this text contains a chapter on basic equipment and materials, and offers step-by-step sequences for ease of use."
"Offers detailed technical information and advice on the step-by-step process involved in making high-quality scientific photographs, from buying equipment to mounting finished work." Somewhat dated in technology and equipment, but the process is still useful.