Knowing the Latin name for any animal you are researching will make finding scholarly information much easier. Common names may describe several species (and there may be several common names for a given species.) Once you have the Latin name, use the full name (Genus species) to find information on that one animal. Use just the Genus name to find information on related animals.
The Wikipedia page for each species will give the species Latin name (Genus species) in a box on the right hand side of the page. Links to related species are often available. Check the References for useful scholarly material. Generally, you will not cite Wikipedia, but use it to begin your research.
Not yet complete, the EOL aims to create a page for every species on earth, with descriptions, life history, genetic data, literature references, researchers and projects.
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
bioscience research global warming stem cell research ecological biodiversity conservation biology botany ecology zoology paleobiology paleobotany entomology vertebrates invertebrates mammals birds animals plant vegetation insects arthropods ornithology natural nature freshwater marine fish ichthyology coastal paleontology shellfish wildlife naturalist science wetlands
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today۪s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Chemical Engineering Chemistry Computer Science Earth Planetary Energy Materials Mathematics Physics Astronomy Agricultural Biological Biochemistry, Genetics Molecular Biology Environmental Immunology Microbiology Neuroscience Medicine Dentistry Nursing Health Professions Pharmacology, Toxicology Veterinary Arts Humanities Business, Management Accounting Decision Economics, Econometrics Finance Psychology Social Sciences anthropology archaeology
Search interface for journals and books from Elsevier, one of the world's premier publishers in science, technology, and medicine. We have a limited number of current journals in ScienceDirect (back to 1995), a few back files (up to 1995), and no books. Document Delivery may be available, contact the Reference Desk.
Wikipedia tells us that there are several subspecies, gives us the Latin names for the subspecies and for related species in the Family Rhinocerotidae. Several article sections include information on evolution, range, diet. Check the References for the sources of this information.
EoL includes basic information, images, maps, names, and references. As this species is endangered, EoL also links to the IUCN Red List page for the black rhinoceros.
This will include general books and articles on rhinoceroses, including children's and teaching books, plus books specifically on topics like conservation
