Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Folk and Fairy Tales

This guide lists books, databases, indexes and web resources that provide information on folk and fairy tales.

History and Criticism - Books in Buley Library

American Folklore: An Encyclopedia

The Beanstalk and Beyond: Developing Critical Thinking Through Fairy Tales

Beauty and the Beast: Visions and Revisions of an Old Tale

Breaking the Magic Spell: Radical Theories of Folk and Fairy Tales
Children into Swans: Fairy Tales and the Pagan Imagination

A Companion to the Fairy Tale  

Critical and creative perspectives on fairy tales: an intertextual dialogue between fairy tale cholarship and postmodern retellings

Don't Bet on the Prince: Contemporary Feminist Fairy Tales in North America and England

Encyclopedia of folk heroes

Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature

The Fairy-faith in Celtic Countries

Fairy Godfather: Straparola, Venice and the Fairy Tale Tradition 

The Fairytale as Art Form and Portrait of Man

The Fairy Tale: The Magic Mirror of Imagination

Fairy Tale Romance: the Grimms, Basile, and Perrault

Fairy Tales: A New History

Fairy tales and Feminism: New Approaches 

Fairy Tales and the Art of Subversion: The Classical Genre for Children and the Process of Civilization

Fairytale in the Ancient World

Fairy Tales From Before Fairy Tales: the Medieval Latin Past of Wonderful Lies

Fairy Tales Transformed? Twenty-First-Century Adaptations and the Politics of Wonder

Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art

The Forgotten Language; an Introduction to the Understanding of Dreams, Fairy Tales, and Myths

From the Beast to the Blonde: On Fairy Tales and Their Tellers

The Golden Key: A Study of the Fiction of George MacDonald

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales.

Happily Ever After: Fairy Tales, Children, and the Culture Industry

The Hard Facts of the Grimms' Fairy Tales

Heavens Unearthed in Nursery Rhymes and Fairy Tales

The Irresistible Fairy Tale: the Cultural and Social History of a Genre

Marvelous Geometry Narrative and Metafiction in Modern Fairy Tale

The Metamorphosis of Apuleius: Cupid and Psyche, Beauty and the Beast, King Kong

The Mermaid in the Pond: An Erotic Fairy Tale for Adults

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall: Women Writers Explore Their Favorite Fairy Tales

Mixed Magic : Global-local Dialogues in Fairy Tales for Young Readers

Morphology of the Folktale

National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in Nineteenth Century England

Once upon a time in the contemporary world : modern vision of old stories

Once Upon a Time: On the Nature of Fairy Tales

Oscar Wilde's Fairy Tales: Origins and Contexts

The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales

Popular Tales and Fictions; Their Migrations and Transformations

Postmodern Fairy Tales: Gender and Narrative Strategies

Pregnant Fictions: Childbirth and the Fairy Tale in Early-Modern France  

Preserving the Spell : Basile's "The Tale of Tales" and its Afterlife in the Fairy Tale Tradition

Revisioning Red Riding Hood Around the World: an Anthology of International Tellings

Social Dreaming: Dickens and the Fairy Tale

The Teller's Tale: Lives of the Classic Fairy Tale Writers

Tree and Leaf

The Trials and Tribulations of Little Red Riding Hood

Twice Upon a Time: Women Writers and the History of the Fairy Tale

The Uses of Enchantment: The Meaning and Importance of Fairy Tales

The Vanishing People: A Study of Traditional Fairy Tale Beliefs

When Dreams Came True: Classical Fairy Tales and Their Tradition

Willa Cather and the Fairy Tale

Womenfolk and Fairy Tales

The World of Fairy Tales

The World of the Irish Wonder Tale: An Introduction to the Study of Fairy Tales