Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Folk and Fairy Tales

This guide lists books, databases, indexes and web resources that provide information on folk and fairy tales.

Internet Resources

                                                  

Aaron's Folktales
Contains Folk Tales, Fairy Tales, Tall Tales, Trickster Tales, Animal Tales, Myths, and Legends From Africa, Asia, Middle East Scandinavia, North America, and South America

American Folk and Fairy Tales
This site contains American folk tales retold from all fifty states.

Armenian Fairy Tales
Read Armenian folk tales collected from authors Andrew Lang and A. G. Seklemian in a collection suitable for children of all ages.

Celtic Fairy Tales
Contains 26 tales of the Celtic people by Joseph Jacobs.

Chinese Fairy Tales Folk Tales and Fables
Contains tales from China collected by R. Wilhelm, Norman HInsdale Pitman, and Andrew Lang.

Cinderella Project
The Cinderella Project form the University of Southern Mississippi offers a dozen versions of the famous fairy tale.

Fairy Tales Resources from Pace University
Contains "a variety of scholarly resources on the web".

Folk and Fairy Tale Web Site Links
This list is compiled by D.L. Ashliman as a companion to "Folk and Fairy Tales: A Handbook."

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
This site is created and maintained by D. Ashliman of the University of Pittsburgh.

Grimms' Fairy Tales
Contains 209 tales by the brothers Grimm.

Hans Christian Andersen: Fairy Tales and Stories
Contains the complete list of 168 tales from Hans Christian Andersen in chronological order.

Hawaiian Folk Tales
This is an anthology of Hawaiian folk tales and includes articles that were published in early nineteenth or twentieth century.

Japanese Fairy Tales
This is a collection of Japanese fairy tales translated by Yei Theodora Ozaki.

Legends
You can explore the world of legends at this site by Paula Kate Marmor. Links to primary sources, scholarship, essays, and  historical surveys.

Little Red Riding Hood Project
This is a text and image archive of sixteen different versions of the tale at the University of Southern Mississippi.

Marvels and Tales - Journal of Fairy Tale Studies
The home of the peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles that are international in scope.

Norwegian Fairy Tales
Read Norwegian fairy tales from the collections of Asbjornsen, Lang, and more.

Open Directory - Fairy Tales
A directory of tales resources broken down by categories.

Perrault's Fairy Tales
Contains 8 fairy tales of Charles Perrault illustrated by Gustave Dore.

Romanian Fairy Tales
Links to a book containing 18 fairy tales from Romania.

Russian Fairy Tales
Translations of Russian fairy tales housed at the Tradestone Gallery.

Scottish Fairy Tales
A collection of Scottish fairy tales by Sir George Douglas.

Snow White
Translations of Snow White and other fairy tales by D. Ashliman.

Stories, Folklore, and Fairy Tales Theme Page
Contains curricular resources for students and teachers on the theme of fairy tales.

The SurLaLune Fairy Tale Pages
A very comprehensive site that contains 49 annotated fairy tales and their histories as well as similar stories from other cultures. Includes over 1600 tales from around the world.

Tim Sheppard's Story Links
Comprehensive collection of stories, articles, links, and information on the oral tradition and the art of storytelling.

World of Tales
Contains stories for children from around the world.