Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Web: Import from databases

The basics of using EndNote Web to manage and save citations and references.

Quick tips

The EBSCO databases are the easiest use with EndNote Web. If possible, use those databases first!

Importing from the CONSULS Catalog

You can import citations for books from within EndNote Web. Click the Collect Tab and go to Online Search. Choose the Library Catalog (SCSU, Yale, or the Library of Congress) you wish to import from. Do a search, then select the records you wish to import from the results list. Importing will add the entries to your EndNote Web collection.

EndNote Web Links

Import/Export

Most databases provide a way to export information that can be added to your EndNote Web collection. Some are easier than others.

In general, you are exporting information from a database which is then imported into EndNote Web. In a few cases, you can search from within EndNote Web and import the information directly.

We'll start with the easiest ones, the EBSCO databases. Further down are instructions for using FirstSearch and ScienceDirect databases, Google Scholar, and a general guide for other databases.

EBSCO Exports

All of the EBSCO databases have a built-in export to EndNote Web.

Once you have found an interesting article, either:

  1. EBSCO Export iconclick on the Export button at the top of the record, or
  2. add to your Folder and then export from the Folder page, using the same Export button. By adding it to the Folder, you can export more than one article at once.

Be sure to choose the Direct Export to EndNote Web option on  the Export page. You will be asked to log into EndNote Web, if you aren't already logged in. Your new citations go into the Unfiled folder by default.

It's that simple.

Exports from ScienceDirect & Proquest

Databases like ScienceDirect, JSTOR, and most Proquest databases are a little more complicated. You need to have the Internet Explorer or Firefox web browser tool bars installed for easy export.

  1. To install the toolbars, log into EndNote Web and click on Download Installers at the bottom of the page.
  2. Install the correct plugin for whichever system you are using:
    • 'Cite While You Write(TM) for Windows' for Internet Explorer on Windows
    • Firefox Extension for Firefox on Windows or Mac - be sure to check the box for "Redirect the following MIME types for direct export" when you install the Firefox extension.
    • You will probably have to restart your browser.
  3. Detailed instructions are available in the Help files (upper right of any screen) under Plug-ins.

Once you have the toolbars installed, and have restarted your browser, go into the database. We'll use ScienceDirect as the first example.

  1. Select the article(s) of interest. Either click on the article title to see the full article record, or check the boxes to mark one or more records on the results list.
  2. Click on the Export Citation(s) link .
  3. Export using the Export Format: RIS format (for Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote).
  4. If you get an option to Open the file in a ResearchSoft program, click to accept that software.
  5. You should get a pop up asking you to log into EndNote Web using your email address and password. Even if you are already logged in, you may get this pop up. If you have pop ups blocked in your browser, you may get a message asking what you want the browser to do. "Allow" the pop up from the site if possible. 'Temporarily allow' or 'View' options will also work.
  6. After you log in, a second pop up should tell you how many citations were added. The citations will be in your Unfiled folder.
  7. If you do not get a log in pop up, save the file and follow the instructions in the next box.

 

The steps are the same for JSTOR, using their "Export Citation" links.

 

In the Proquest databases, like ABI/Inform, Digital Dissertations, and the Newspapers:

  1. Mark the articles you want to export.
  2. Go to your Marked records, and choose Export citations to Endnote, Procite, RefWorks, or Reference Manager.

  3. Choose Export Directly to EndNote, ProCite or Reference Manager on the next screen.
  4. If you are not logged in to EndNote Web, it will ask you to log in. Sometimes you will have to click the Export link again, after logging in, to export. You should see a pop-up message detailing the number of references exported to EndNote.
  5. If you do not get a login prompt or a pop-up, download the file (last option in the image above) and see the instructions in the next box.

 

Most databases with an Export to EndNote option will work in a similar fashion.

Download a file for Export

In some cases there is no export function in the database you are searching, or the export function doesn't work on your computer. In these cases, you can usually download a text file with the citation information in a format readable by EndNoteWeb. To do this you will first export and download the text file, then import it into EndNoteWeb.

When exporting, choose the format specifically for EndNote/EndNote Web, if available, or an RIS format. It is usually most convenient to save the file someplace easy to find, like the Desktop.

To import

  1. In EndNote Web go to Collect. Select Import References.
  2. Browse for your file.
  3. Select the appropriate filter from the list. The filters usually have the name of the database, such as JSTOR, and sometimes the name of a provider, such as AGRICOLA (OCLC) for AGRICOLA on OCLC's FirstSearch (FS on our database list). If you do not choose the correct filter, you may get errors. If you do not see a filter with your database name, try the RefMan RIS filter. *
  4. Choose which group you want your new citations to go to. If you are uncertain about the import or which filter to use, it is helpful to create a test group. That way, if the import does not load correctly, it is easy to delete the faulty citations and try again.*
  5. Click the Import button.

You should see a report above the boxes listing how many records were imported into which folder. The first time you use a filter, and especially if the number of records does not match the number you exported, view the new records to see if there were errors.*

 

*If you are unable to import your file correctly, or can't figure out which filter to choose, please contact Rebecca Hedreen. The list of filters is limited to databases to which we subscribe or commonly use, but there are many more that can be added if needed. Some suggested filters are given on the websites of other libraries:

Importing from files

It is possible to import a 'tab deliminated' file, which can be created from a spreadsheet or word processing file. Please see the Help File for more information.

It is not, unfortunately, possible to import references from a formatted reference list (for instance, an APA list as a Word document).