Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Linguistics

This guide will help you find resources in anthropology, including archaeology, linguistics, and biological anthropology.

Reference Books

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language
REF P 29 .C64 1987

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages
REF P371 .C357 2004

Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition ONLINE

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics ONLINE

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
REF P 29 .M34 1997 and ONLINE

Dictionary of Sociolinguistics ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
REF P 29 .E48 2006

Encyclopedia of Language Development ONLINE

Encyclopedia of Swearing
REF PE 3724 .O3 H84

Facts About the World's Languages: An Encyclopedia of the World's Major Languages, Past and Present
REF P371 .F33 2000

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
REF P29 .I58 2003

Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
ONLINE

Language and Communication: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia
REF P 29 .F47 1998

The Linguistics Encyclopedia
REF P 29 .L52 1995

Finding Scholarly Articles

Anthrosource
Fulltext journals from the American Anthropological Association. 

JSTOR
Fulltext articles in anthropology, archaeology, African studies, Asian studies, evolutionary biology, folklore, Latin American studies, linguistics, Middle East studies, and more.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index to linguistics articles.

 

Online Resources