Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science: US Government

This guide will help you find scholarly resources in political science.

Reference Books

Africa Americans in Congress
REF JK 1021 .A47 2008

American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia
REF JC 573.2 .U6 A43

Dictionary of Political Biography (ONLINE)

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
REF KF 4548 .E53 2000 (also online)

Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party
REF JK 2352 .K87

Encyclopedia of the First Amendment
REF KF 4770 .E53 2009

Encyclopedia of the Republican Party
REF REF JK 2352 .K87

Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
REF JK 1067 .E63

Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America
REF JK 2261 .E474 2000

Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States ONLINE

Ethics in US Government: An Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms, and Legislations
REF JK 468 .E7 R556 2001

Federal Regulatory Directory: The Essential Guide to the History, Organization, and Impact of U.S. Federal Regulation
REF KF 5406 .A15 F4 2008 

The Legislative Branch
REF JK 1021 .L44 2005 

Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and Sovereignty
REF KF 8203.6 .T74 2008

Oxford Guide to the United States Government ONLINE

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History ONLINE
REF E183 .P85 2010

U.S. Military Service: A Reference Handbook
REF UB 323 .W358 2007

Women in Congress, 1917-2006
REF JK 1030 .W66 2006

Online Sources

Congress