Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EasyBib: Creating a Bibliography with Easybib

You can use EasyBib to create bibliographies in APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian citation styles. EasyBib will also suggest more scholarly references for your paper.

Creating a Bibliography

It's a very good idea to start your bibliography at the same time you start working on a research paper. This will allow you to keep track of all your resources from the very beginning.

Start at EasyBib's Bibliography tab.

First, figure out what type of resource you are citing. It's usually easy to tell (book, journal article, etc) but ask a librarian if you're not sure. Easybib has 59 different options for you to choose from. Choose the tab you want to use, and click on the citation style you want to use (APA, MLA, or Chicago/Turabian).

Type or copy and paste in the title, ISBN, or DOI. Easybib may be able to pull up the rest of the information. If it's a book with multiple editions, you will be asked to choose which one is the correct one. Click Select.

The next screen asks you to make sure the information is correct. (You can add an annotation at this point by clicking Add Annotation.) Click Create Citation.

Now, you can add additional sources. When you are all done with the bibliography, you can copy and paste it into your research paper, email it, save it as a GoogleDoc, or print it as a Word document. 

What's the Autocite feature?

Autocite is available for 22 of the 59 different source options. It means EasyBib will start looking for the source as you're typing, and pull up options for you to select. That way you don't have to fill out the entire citation form.

Let Easybib Analyze your Bibliography

If you click on Analyze, Easybib will rate your bibliography on the number of source types, your database usage, and website creativity. You can get an idea of whether or not you should keep looking for additional or better sources, and EasyBib will even suggest scholarly resources for you to use.

Multiple Projects

You can work on separate projects within EasyBib. Just go to the Bibliography page, then click on Create a New Project to work on a bibliography for a different project.

Cite everything!

Parenthetical Citations

Once you've created a citation for a resource, you can then start using it in parenthetical citations within the paper (or footnotes, if you are using Chicago).

Have EasyBib open in one window, and your Word document in another. Right below the Easybib citation, click Parenthetical. A box will pop up asking you for the page number that you are citing. Enter it, then EasyBib will create the parenthetical citation for you to paste into your document.