Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Collection Development: Collection Development Policy

Collection Development Calendar

July 1                   Beginning of new fiscal year

January 1          "Outstanding Academic Resources" list available from Choice

January 1          "Outstanding Nursing Books of the Year" list available from AJN

February 15      Ordering deadline

June 30             University fiscal year close

(please note that above dates are approximate)

Suggest a Title

Use this form to send a suggestion:

Gift Policy

The Hilton C. Buley Library recognizes that gifts play an important role in building the library collection and often accepts gifts.  Donations may be in the form of  library materials or funding for library materials.   Library materials that are given must meet the overall collection development policy before being added to the collection.

Read the entire Library Gift Policyfor more information.

Buley Library Collection Development Policy

The Collection Development Policy provides a comprehensive, coordinated framework for current and future collecting activity within the Hilton C. Buley Library.  Within this context it assists the Library's selectors in building a collection covering all applicable fields of knowledge and communicates this activity to the Library's other constituencies; faculty, students, staff, administrators, and the general public.

The Policy serves a variety of purposes reflecting the Library's relationship with its varied clientele.  These purposes include:

  • creating an orderly plan for Library collection development
  • relating the collection building activities to the mission of the Library and to the teaching, learning, and research needs of the clientele
  • enabling the evaluation of colection strengths and weaknesses and directing future development
  • assisting the selectors in materials selection by defining areas of collecting responsibility and coordinating collecting activities
  • communicating guidelines to the Library's constituencies and other interested parties
  • providing consistency and focus toward defined goals in order to shape stronger collections

Collection Development Policy Narrative (in PDF)


Introduction

 

Subject Specific Policies (in PDF)

Weeding/Withdrawal Policy

Weeding/Withdrawal Policy For Hilton C. Buley Library

Collection Development Policy
p.8 (item 16)

Removal From Collection. Weeding (de-acquisition) is the systematic evaluation of the Library’s information resources with an eye to withdrawal of damaged or obsolete materials. This process is an integral part of a comprehensive collection development and management plan.”

Adapted from Reference Weeding Policy:
https://libguides.southernct.edu/c.php?g=7263&p=35095

The collection is weeded periodically for the purpose of maintaining an updated and useful collection.  Subject selectors are responsible for weeding the collection in their subject areas and since some classification numbers are multidisciplinary, all librarians may participate in the de-selection process.

Criteria

The following criteria are used to determine if a book should be removed from the collection:

  1. How important is the publication in terms of research or historical value? 
  2. What is the scope and depth of the work?
  3. Does the material belong in the reference collection or more appropriately in the circulating collection?
  4. How likely is it that the publication will be used in the future?
  5. Is there a later edition, which supersedes this publication?
  6. Is the information in the work duplicated in other works?
  7. Do duplicate copies exist on the shelf?
  8. If the book is in poor condition, should it be replaced or refurbished?
  9. Is the information obsolete?
  10. Are there gaps in the collection that should be filled?

Process

  1. The Collection Development Librarian works with the subject librarians to develop a schedule of weeding based on classification numbers.  
  2. The subject librarians identify materials for potential withdrawal, (and possibly repair, and replacement).
  3. Subject librarians should be mindful and notify other librarians that they are withdrawing materials that cross into other disciplines i.e. special collections and world languages, etc.
  4. If duplicate copies and older editions are identified by the subject librarian, they can be flagged and immediately withdrawn by Technical Services Staff. 
  5. Materials selected for weeding are changed in Alma to Temporary Location “Technical Services In Review”
  6. The relevant academic department and Buley librarians are notified that they have three weeks to review materials in Technical Services.  (Title lists can also be sent).
  7. Materials identified for retention will be restored to the shelves once a week during the review process.
  8. Materials marked as core i.e. “retain” in Alma item record Internal Note 3 will be restored to the shelves.  (Pink dots identify these on the right side endpaper, this is in process)
  9. Review of materials should take place during the academic year so that academic faculty have time to come to the library.

Miscellaneous

  1. Weeding of the Reference Collection is continuous and materials are reviewed in the Reference Department.  When materials are delivered to Technical Services, they are either withdrawn or moved into a circulating collection as instructed by the reference librarians.
  2. Government documents should not be withdrawn until the Government Documents Librarian obtains permission from the state librarian.
  3. Monographic serials are withdrawn according to their retention policy published in the catalog.  If the retention policy changes, the subject librarian should notify the collection development librarian.  Serial monographs that are marked for review when older issues in the series are still on the shelf will be returned to the collection by Technical Services.

Summer Review Process

The Collection Development Librarian will work with subject librarians on processes to mark materials for review during the summer term.  This may be inside of Technical Services or in a location designated by the Access Services Librarian if there are empty stacks.

Developed by Ad. Hoc. Committee: J. Toce, J. Aschenbach, K. Swanson, and W. Shyam.
Adopted by Library Faculty on November 2, 2018