These are some examples of Data Science books in our catalog. Use SouthernSearch the online CSU catalog for books at Southern and the other CSCU libraries.
Analyzing US Census Data: Methods, Maps, and Models in R by
Access US Census Bureau geographic and demographic data directly within R. Wrangle Census data with tidyverse tools and work with margins of error in the American Community Survey. Make maps and interactive web visualizations with US Census data. Explore Census data with spatial analysis using the sf package. Integrate Census data into spatial and machine learning models.
Critical Data Literacies: Rethinking Data in Everyday Life by
A guide to everything you need to understand to navigate a world increasingly governed by data. Data has become a defining issue of current times. Our everyday lives are shaped by the data that is produced about us (and by us) through digital technologies. In this book, Critical Data Literacies, Luci Pangrazio and Neil Selwyn introduce readers to the central concepts, ideas, and arguments required to make sense of life in the data age. The authors challenge the idea that datafication is an inevitable and inescapable condition. Drawing on emerging areas of scholarship such as data justice, data feminism, and other critical data studies approaches, they explore how individuals and communities can empower themselves to engage with data critically and creatively. Over the course of eight wide-ranging chapters, the book introduces readers to the main components of critical data literacies-from the fundamentals of identifying and understanding data to the complexities of engaging with more combative data tactics. Critical Data Literaciesexplores how the tradition of critical literacies can offer a powerful foundation to address the big concerns of the data age, such as issues of data justice and privacy, algorithmic bias, dataveillance, and disinformation. Bringing together cutting-edge thinking and discussion from across education, sociology, psychology, and media and communication studies, Critical Data Literaciesdevelops a powerful argument for collectively rethinking the role that data plays in our everyday lives and re-establishing agency, free will, and the democratic public sphere.
Data Science: Techniques and Intelligent Applications by
This book covers the topic of data science in a comprehensive manner and synthesizes both fundamental and advanced topics of a research area that has now reached its maturity. The book starts with the basic concepts of data science. It highlights the types of data and their use and importance, followed by a discussion on a wide range of applications of data science and widely used techniques in data science. Key Features * Provides an internationally respected collection of scientific research methods, technologies and applications in the area of data science. * Presents predictive outcomes by applying data science techniques to real-life applications. * Provides readers with the tools, techniques and cases required to excel with modern artificial intelligence methods. * Gives the reader a variety of intelligent applications that can be designed using data science and its allied fields. The book is aimed primarily at advanced undergraduates and graduates studying machine learning and data science. Researchers and professionals will also find this book useful.
Data Science in Context: Foundations, challenges, opportunities by
Data science is the foundation of our modern world. It underlies applications used by billions of people every day, providing new tools, forms of entertainment, economic growth, and potential solutions to difficult, complex problems. These opportunities come with significant societal consequences, raising fundamental questions about issues such as data quality, fairness, privacy, and causation. In this book, four leading experts convey the excitement and promise of data science and examine the major challenges in gaining its benefits and mitigating its harms. They offer frameworks for critically evaluating the ingredients and the ethical considerations needed to apply data science productively, illustrated by extensive application examples. The authors' far-ranging exploration of these complex issues will stimulate data science practitioners and students, as well as humanists, social scientists, scientists, and policy makers, to study and debate how data science can be used more effectively and more ethically to better our world.
Discriminating Data: Correlation, Neighborhoods, and the New Politics of Recognition by
How big data and machine learning encode discrimination and create agitated clusters of comforting rage. In Discriminating Data, Wendy Hui Kyong Chun reveals how polarization is a goal--not an error--within big data and machine learning. These methods, she argues, encode segregation, eugenics, and identity politics through their default assumptions and conditions. Correlation, which grounds big data's predictive potential, stems from twentieth-century eugenic attempts to "breed" a better future. Recommender systems foster angry clusters of sameness through homophily. Users are "trained" to become authentically predictable via a politics and technology of recognition. Machine learning and data analytics thus seek to disrupt the future by making disruption impossible. Chun, who has a background in systems design engineering as well as media studies and cultural theory, explains that although machine learning algorithms may not officially include race as a category, they embed whiteness as a default. Facial recognition technology, for example, relies on the faces of Hollywood celebrities and university undergraduates--groups not famous for their diversity. Homophily emerged as a concept to describe white U.S. resident attitudes to living in biracial yet segregated public housing. Predictive policing technology deploys models trained on studies of predominantly underserved neighborhoods. Trained on selected and often discriminatory or dirty data, these algorithms are only validated if they mirror this data. How can we release ourselves from the vice-like grip of discriminatory data? Chun calls for alternative algorithms, defaults, and interdisciplinary coalitions in order to desegregate networks and foster a more democratic big data.
Econometrics and Data Science: Apply Data Science Techniques to Model Complex Problems and Implement Solutions for Economic Problems by
Get up to speed on the application of machine learning approaches in macroeconomic research. This book brings together economics and data science. Author Tshepo Chris Nokeri begins by introducing you to covariance analysis, correlation analysis, cross-validation, hyperparameter optimization, regression analysis, and residual analysis. In addition, he presents an approach to contend with multi-collinearity. He then debunks a time series model recognized as the additive model. He reveals a technique for binarizing an economic feature to perform classification analysis using logistic regression. He brings in the Hidden Markov Model, used to discover hidden patterns and growth in the world economy. The author demonstrates unsupervised machine learning techniques such as principal component analysis and cluster analysis. Key deep learning concepts and ways of structuring artificial neural networks are explored along with training them and assessing their performance. The Monte Carlo simulation technique is applied to stimulate the purchasing power of money in an economy. Lastly, the Structural Equation Model (SEM) is considered to integrate correlation analysis, factor analysis, multivariate analysis, causal analysis, and path analysis. After reading this book, you should be able to recognize the connection between econometrics and data science. You will know how to apply a machine learning approach to modeling complex economic problems and others beyond this book. You will know how to circumvent and enhance model performance, together with the practical implications of a machine learning approach in econometrics, and you will be able to deal with pressing economic problems. What You Will Learn Examine complex, multivariate, linear-causal structures through the path and structural analysis technique, including non-linearity and hidden states Be familiar with practical applications of machine learning and deep learning in econometrics Understand theoretical framework and hypothesis development, and techniques for selecting appropriate models Develop, test, validate, and improve key supervised (i.e., regression and classification) and unsupervised (i.e., dimension reduction and cluster analysis) machine learning models, alongside neural networks, Markov, and SEM models Represent and interpret data and models Who This Book Is For Beginning and intermediate data scientists, economists, machine learning engineers, statisticians, and business executives
Foundations of Data Science by
This book provides an introduction to the mathematical and algorithmic foundations of data science, including machine learning, high-dimensional geometry, and analysis of large networks. Topics include the counterintuitive nature of data in high dimensions, important linear algebraic techniques such as singular value decomposition, the theory of random walks and Markov chains, the fundamentals of and important algorithms for machine learning, algorithms and analysis for clustering, probabilistic models for large networks, representation learning including topic modelling and non-negative matrix factorization, wavelets and compressed sensing. Important probabilistic techniques are developed including the law of large numbers, tail inequalities, analysis of random projections, generalization guarantees in machine learning, and moment methods for analysis of phase transitions in large random graphs. Additionally, important structural and complexity measures are discussed such as matrix norms and VC-dimension. This book is suitable for both undergraduate and graduate courses in the design and analysis of algorithms for data.
Practical Data Science for Information Professionals by
Practical Data Science for Information Professionals provides an accessible introduction to a potentially complex field, providing readers with an overview of data science and a framework for its application. It provides detailed examples and analysis on real data sets to explore the basics of the subject in three principle areas: clustering and social network analysis; predictions and forecasts; and text analysis and mining. As well as highlighting a wealth of user-friendly data science tools, the book also includes some example code in two of the most popular programming languages (R and Python) to demonstrate the ease with which the information professional can move beyond the graphical user interface and achieve significant analysis with just a few lines of code. After reading, readers will understand: · the growing importance of data science · the role of the information professional in data science · some of the most important tools and methods that information professionals can use. Bringing together the growing importance of data science and the increasing role of information professionals in the management and use of data, Practical Data Science for Information Professionals will provide a practical introduction to the topic specifically designed for the information community. It will appeal to librarians and information professionals all around the world, from large academic libraries to small research libraries. By focusing on the application of open source software, it aims to reduce barriers for readers to use the lessons learned within.
Practical Python Data Visualization: A Fast Track Approach To Learning Data Visualization With Python by
Quickly start programming with Python 3 for data visualization with this step-by-step, detailed guide. This book's programming-friendly approach using libraries such as leather, NumPy, Matplotlib, and Pandas will serve as a template for business and scientific visualizations. You'll begin by installing Python 3, see how to work in Jupyter notebook, and explore Leather, Python's popular data visualization charting library. You'll also be introduced to the scientific Python 3 ecosystem and work with the basics of NumPy, an integral part of that ecosystem. Later chapters are focused on various NumPy routines along with getting started with Scientific Data visualization using matplotlib. You'll review the visualization of 3D data using graphs and networks and finish up by looking at data visualization with Pandas, including the visualization of COVID-19 data sets. The code examples are tested on popular platforms like Ubuntu, Windows, and Raspberry Pi OS. With Practical Python Data Visualization you'll master the core concepts of data visualization with Pandas and the Jupyter notebook interface. What You'll Learn Review practical aspects of Python Data Visualization with programming-friendly abstractions Install Python 3 and Jupyter on multiple platforms including Windows, Raspberry Pi, and Ubuntu Visualize COVID-19 data sets with Pandas Who This Book Is For Data Science enthusiasts and professionals, Business analysts and managers, software engineers, data engineers.