Boston College
Walking Ulysses - You can follow the characters in James Joyce's Ulysses by walking with them through the streets of Dublin on June 16, 1904. The walks are made alive with audio recordings, images, sketches, and passages.
Center for Digital Humanities - University of South Carolina
Part of the Humanities Collaborative which is currently (May 2022) sponsoring a new working group committed to the digital humanities that is aimed at humanists, librarians and graduate students with curiosity, interests, plans or projects related to the digital humanities."
Center for Digital Research in the Humanities, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
The Walt Whitman Archive
The Willa Cather Archive
The Charles Chesnutt Archive
The Tar Baby and the Tomahawk (Race and Ethnic Images in American Children's Literature 1880-1939)
Austen Said: Patterns of Diction in Jane Austen's Major Novels
Every Week Magazine which was of significant importance during world war I
Nebraska Authors
One More Voice
"One More Voice, a work of digital humanities scholarship, focuses on recovering non-European contributions from nineteenth-century British imperial and colonial archives."
Quills and Feathers (a project that documents the literary relationship between Great Plains humans and birds)
Scholarly Editing
The Writings of Thomas Wentworth Higginson
CUNY Digital Humanities Projects
An excellent resource guide from the CUNY Digital Humanities Initiative that includes an introduction to DH, sample projects, and links to tools, syllbabi, associations and organizations, conferences, jobs, blogs, tips, and other resources.
Lehman College -CUNY
Mapping New York Literary History is a digital project produced by Lehman College English majors.The project involves research and writing about New York locations that have a significant bearing on American literary history.
Digital Humanities Projects at Stanford
Between Canon and Corpus: The Twentieth-Century Novel in English (PDF)
George Moses Horton, Slave Poet (requires Stanford login)
Global Currents: Cultures of Literary Networks, 1050-1900
Crowdsourcing in the Humanities (how humanities researchers can use different types of crowdsourcing and community sourcing to further research. Requires Stanford login))
Mapping the Republic of Letters
Emotions of London (creating an emotional map of the London metropolis from place names in the eighteenth and nineteenth century novels)
Emory Center for Digital Scholarship
Sample projects showcased here are Belfast Group Poetry Networks which features tools for identifying materials in Emory's collection dealing with a set of poets; Digital Danowski which uses data points to question key narratives about American literary culture in the 20th century; Shakespeare and the Players featuring an online exhibit of postcards of American and English actors from the Victorian and Edwardian era, and more.
Grand Valley State University
English Faculty projects - Dr. Johnson’s uses the Ladies’ Home Journal (1885), to have students actively engage with primary sources that intersect the study of literature and archival research skills, with technology
Professor Rozema has created a multimodal, multigenre, interactive work of creative non-fiction that includes personal testimonies, images, maps, found artifacts, video, audio, and animations, to show how one family survived the war in West Africa and came to America in 2005
Mike Webster has been writing hypertextual notes on the writings of e.e.Cummings
Working with digital sound files of non-native speakers of English, Shinian Wu develops test questions for an English teacher certification test (Praxis ESOL).
Kansas State University
Curry Illustrations Project (a research endeavor conducted by Kansas State University students on the book illustrations of John Steuart Curry)
American Poetry of the First World War (Rookie Rhymes)
The Learning Tree, a Gordon Parks Archive Project
The Words and The Bees: Insect Zoo Poetry
Loyola University of Chicago
The Center for Textual Studies and Digital Humanities" supports and sponsors a series of online research projects in Textual Studies and Digital Humanities. These projects include, but are not limited to, digitization, text editing, tool building, critical analyses, and archive construction."
Marshall University - Student Projects- Digital Humanities
An Examination of Pearl in Nathaniel Hawthorn's The Scarlet Letter
It Helps to be in on the Joke (This piece examines the various ways the design of “A Duck has an Adventure”–an e-text–impacts a reader’s experience of the text)
Ultra-ego: Agency in Alter Ego (This project draws upon media-specific analysis to look at agency and the cultural relevancy, particularly issues of representation, of the e-lit game Alter Ego.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
American Authors
Annotation Studio - Annotation Studio is an open source web application that engages students in close reading and textual interpretation; Students can link images, video, and audio to texts; Annotations can be linked to multiple texts; Students can share their comments with individual students, small workgroups, or the whole class; Faculty and students can create collections of texts.
Comédie-Française Registers Project - Aims t make accessible the complete registers of the Comédie-Française theater troupe (1680-1800), so researchers can delve into the theater practices of that time.
Global Shakespeare - An interactive video archive including the theatrical adaptations of dozens of Shakespeare's plays.
Northeastern University - NUlab for Texts, Maps, and Initiatives
Our Marathon (the Boston Bombing Digital Archive)
Women Writers Online, a TEI-encoded collection of close to 400 texts written or translated by women and first published in print between 1526 and 1850
The Viral Texts Project which seeks to develop theoretical models that will help scholars better understand what qualities helped particular news stories, short fiction, and poetry “go viral” in nineteenth-century newspapers and magazines
The Margaret Fuller Digital Archive
The Early Caribbean Digital Archive, an open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries.
Northeastern is also home to the Digital Humanities Quarterly journal.
Northwestern University
EarlyPrint - A collaborative effort to transform the early English print record, from 1473 to the early 1700s, into a linguistically annotated and deeply searchable text corpus
Open Door Archive - A digital repository and exhibition space dedicated to the print culture and multimedia archives of multiethnic poetry in and beyond the US
Shakespeare's Circuits, tracking the circulation of Shakespeare’s plays and some of their translations, transformations, and adaptations across four centuries, from locale to locale to cover the great globe through maps and essays
Visualizing Les Miserables. This website provides scholars and teachers with two visual tools for interpreting and teaching Hugo's Les Miserables
WordHoard, a digital humanities application for the close reading and scholarly analysis of deeply tagged texts, funded by the Mellon Foundation
Oregon State University
ENG/HIST 485/585, a newly designed course in the Digital Humanities focuses on student-driven digital humanities projects built around available archival material for the noted author Bernard Malamud. Malamud, the author of The Natural, The Magic Barrel, and numerous short story collections, was a past winner of the National Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize, and the O. Henry Award. Check out the Malamud Project.
Princeton University
ABC Books (An Archive of TEI-encoded Alphabet Books for an English class)
ABO: Annotated Books Online (a digital archive of early modern annotated books)
F.Scott Fitzgerald Digital Collection
The Blue Mountain Project (a digital thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain)
Annotated Books (PUDL) from the Firestone Library which include those annotated by Gabriel Harvey, c. 1545 - 1630, friend of Edmund Spenser, and a noted Elizabethan scholar)
San Diego State University - Various projects by students of Professor Jessica Pressman
Topics covered include 21st Century Experimentation Novel, Book History, Cyberfeminism, Digital Literature (comics and memes) and Digital Literacy.
Stanford Literary Lab
Projects include Fanfiction, Microgenres, Reading Norton anthologies, Representations of race and ethnicity in American fiction, and Trans-historical poetry
University of California, Berkeley
A Digital Corpus of Texts for the Study of Magical Ritual -The project set out to collect a large and diverse set of texts related to magical ritual, in particular Greek and Latin incantations used in healing and protective magic as well as aggressive magic; Automatic Authorship Attribution in the Hebrew Bible and Other Literary texts (develop a set of machine learning algorithms to contribute to the analysis of biblical authorship)
Digital Decolonial: Humanities Methods in Ethnic Studies
Early Modern Scholar Printers Online (transcription of various texts in the Bancroft Library)
Milton Revealed (collection of audio-visual materials related to Milton and his works)
Shakespeare's Staging (explores the history of Shakespeare performance through images, videos, essays, and bibliographies)
University Of Georgia, Franklin College of Arts and Science
Emma, a suite of software applications for writers designed to foster a writing community in classrooms
Linguistic Atlas Project, the site through which the Atlas distributes text and audio materials related to American English, especially using GIS tools.
University of Missouri, Kansas City - Daedalus Project
A Digital Tutorial for Ancient Greek
Codices - A digital studio for the optical, chemical and computational analysis of manuscripts, texts, and early printed books
Statistical Methods for Studying Literature Using "R" - This site introduces the R environment, describe data structures in R, ways to format data about literary texts for statistical analysis, and provide practical examples of ways to use R to answer questions about literature.
University of Pennsylvania
Contemporary Fiction Database Project - The project is in two phases. The first phase consisted of "statistical comparisons between bestsellers and prize-nominated novels year by year from 1960 to the present. The analysis relied entirely on hand-coded metadata; there was no computational “distant reading” involved. That work produced one important finding: a dramatic shift of the field of contemporary fiction around the year 1980, after which it becomes much more likely that a novel nominated for a major prize is set in the past, and much more likely that a novel on the bestseller list is set in the present or the future. The second phase of the project aims to dig further into that fulcrum point around 1980 by building a digitized corpus of contemporary fit Multimedia Archives and subjecting it to computational analysis."
University of Virginia (Projects from The Institute of Advanced Technology in the Humanities and Scholars' Lab)
Collective Biographies of Women - Collective Biographies of Women, with its annotated bibliography, growing archive of texts, resources featuring individual women, and new tools for interpreting prosopography, is an experiment in digital humanities focused on a widespread genre, the collection of short biographies.
Dickinson Electronic Archives
Melville Electronic Library
The Independent Works of William Tyndale - Provides access to crititcal editions of Tyndale's books, and the tools to reassess Tyndale's importance and influence.
The World of Dante - provides a hypermdia environment for the study of the Inferno.
William Blake Archive
Homer's Trojan Theater
The Thomas McGreevy Archive including an online bibliography of writings by and about the author.
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture: Multimedia Archive - "The project is founded on three premises. First as the best-selling novel and most frequently dramatized story in the 19th Century America, Uncle Tom's Cabin can teach us an enormous amount about our history and culture. No text has more to say about how American society has understood relations between the races, the meaning of slavery, the nature and place of women and men, the significance of Christians, the South as a region, and so on. Second, access to original texts and manuscripts of Stowe's work will enrich the learning experience and further an understanding of society during the 19th century. Third, modern electronic technology can give us powerful new ways to research and appreciate our past."
Piers Plowman Electronic Archive
The Complete Writings and Pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti
Faulkner at Virginia: An Audio Archive - "Here you can listen in on William Faulkner’s sessions with audiences at the University of Virginia in 1957 and 1958, during his two terms as UVA’s first Writer-in-Residence. Under CONTEXTS you’ll find an introduction to this archive as well as essays, news articles, photographs and other materials to provide backgrounds to the writer, the times and the place."
For Better For Verse - tests users’ understanding of prosody, or poetic meter in English-language poetry.
The Mind is a Metaphor - collects “metaphors and root-images appealed to by the novelists, poets, dramatists, essayists, philosophers, belle-lettrists, preachers, and pamphleteers of the long eighteenth century.”
Gertrude Stein's Grammars - the project "applies recent tools and packages for natural language processing to Gertrude Stein's 1931 book How to Write", with particular focus on grammar.
Songs of the Victorians and Augmented Notes - "an archive of parlor and art song settings of Victorian poems, and also a scholarly tool to facilitate interdisciplinary music and poetry scholarship."
Reading Silent Woolf - "Python project that uses natural language processing and machine learning to perform distant readings of Virginia Woolf’s use of quotation marks. The study aims to chart Woolf’s use of moments that imply speech even when no punctuation is present."
Unclosure - "examines how U.S. copyright law interacts with digital research and pedagogy. Working with Robert Frost’s New Hampshire (1923), the project presents a series of tutorials that demonstrate how to use a public domain work in order to empower our audience to understand, transform, and intervene in the range of material now available online."
Yale University
Ensemble: Crowdsource Yale Theater History. What is the most-produced play at Yale? Who starred with Lupita Nyong’o, Meryl Streep, and Paul Giamatti when they were students? Ensemble@Yale is an experiment that aims to answer these questions and more by transforming historical theater programs from Yale’s archives into searchable text through crowdsourced transcription.
John Ashbury's nest - a website which includes a virtual tour of the poet's home.
Let Them Speak: An Anthology of Holocaust Testimonies - contains thousands of audio-visual interviews with survivors of the holocaust recorded since the end of the Second World War.
Robots Reading Vogue - "Few magazines can boast being continuously published for over a century, familiar and interesting to wide audiences, full of iconic pictures, and also completely digitized and marked up as both text and images. Robots Reading Vogue demonstrates the possible forms humanistic research can take when you have 2,700 covers, 400,000 pages, and 6 TB of data. Experiments include topic models, N-gram searches, and colormetric analysis."
