Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama Criticism

Web Resources

Billy Rose Theatre Division (NYPL)
"The Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts."

A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
This excellent resource guide is maintained by Professor Ken McCoy of Stetson University.

Concord Theatricals
Can search for performances by type, genre, cast size, by themes, by production details, and more.

Dramatist's Play Service
"Dramatists Play Service, Inc. (DPS) was created to foster national opportunities for playwrights by publishing affordable editions of their plays and handling the performance rights to these works."

The English Server Drama Collection
The Eserver drama collection offers access to Classical, Medieval, Renaissance/Early Modern,, 17th Century, 18th Century, 19th Century, Modern, and Contemporary plays.

English Renaissance Drama
This site from Luminarium provides a general overview of English Renaissance drama.

Folger Shakespeare Library
The ultimate resource for exploring Shakespeare and his world.

Infotrek - English Renaissance Drama
A complete annotated list of playwrights, actors, patrons, and musicians involved with English drama before 1660.

Internet Broadway Database
The most comprehensive site for Broadway shows, people, theatres, and awards.

Internet Shakespeare Editions
Delivers open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability.

Literary Resources - Theatre and Drama (Jack Lynch)
Index of drama resources on the web. Organized by period and topic,

Medieval Drama and the Mystery Plays
Information on mystery and morality plays of th e15th and 16th centuries at the British Library.

Middle English Plays
This site from Luminarium  contains an introduction to Medieval Drama in England and texts of Middle English plays. 

MIT Global Shakespeare
Provides online access to Shakespeare performances all over the world including essays and metada from Shakespeare scholars.

New York Times Theater Reviews
Critics of plays and musicals currently showing in New York city.

Perseus Collection Greek and Roman Plays
This project from Tufts University provides documents and information on Greek and Roman Plays.

Playscripts
Playscripts is the creator of Findplay.com, a free service for locating plays in the catalogs of all major publishers.

Pulitzer Prizes - Drama
Lists winners of Pulitzer Prize for drama since the 1910s.

World Wide Web Virtual Library for Theatre and Drama
A multi-cultural, multi-lingual site for professionals, academics, amateurs, and students of all ages.

Teaching Resources (Contd.)

Association for Theater in Higher Education
Contains open source resources for  teaching online.

Drama Resource.com
Offers creative ideas for teaching drama

Online Resources for Drama Education
Websites tha provide good resources and reliable guidance from Cengage

Teaching Drama Online
A growing list of free tools and resources for distance learning.

Theaterish - Virtual Theater Education Resources
Comprehensive site containing lesson plans, digital resources, videos, and digital content for any age group.