Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While 'Creative Activity' is more than publication, that is still a primary focus in many disciplines. The Library provides many resources to assist your scholarly publication efforts. Contact your Subject Librarian for additional resources specific to your field.
Think. Check. Submit.
Lists of questions to ask when choosing a journal, to both ensure fit and to avoid predatory or low reputation journals.
Google Scholar Journal Metrics
GS uses h-index
rankings to identify top journals in general disciplines. Use the Category drop down menu to narrow in to your general discipline.
Microsoft Academic Search Journal Metrics
Number of journals in various discipline categories, and rankings by several metrics. Click the category names to drill down through the category hierarchy. (If you can't find a topic, do a search in the main search for that topic and click the topic links on the right to find parent categories: i.e. Health Education is under Public Health, which is under Nursing (or Pathology), which is under Medicine.)
Library Databases, Alphabetically & by Subject
Making sure people can FIND your articles is nearly as important as publishing them in the first place. Check if journals are listed in the databases that are commonly used in your discipline. Most databases have a publication list, or search for the journal title. Ask a librarian for help if needed.
Think. Check. Attend.
Think, Check, Submit also has a site devoted to conferences. Do get taken in by scammy conferences!
Reviews and Reviewing
Doing reviews for journals is an excellent way of learning what makes an article publishable.
A few resources for early career researchers (ECRs), and faculty in general:
SPARC Author Rights
The importance of understanding and, when possible, keeping rights to your own published work
Publisher policies on self-archiving (aka "green" open access)
OSF Preprints Repository
One of several topic-based repositories for pre-prints (author submitted versions) of articles and other works (posters, presentation slides, theses/diss, etc.) The repositories are indexed in Google Scholar and DOIs are assigned for each submission, making the works findable and citable. OSF also supports registration
of study protocols for greater transparency and ethical research behavior.
Another repository for all types of research output. Groups and organizations can form 'Communities' to cluster and curate research products. All entries assigned DOIs and are discoverable through search engines such as Google Scholar. Zenodo is used for dataset and supplemental information collections from several journal publishers.
Currently available for biology, with chemistry and geology soon to come. "[B]rief, novel findings, negative and/or reproduced results, and results which may lack a broader scientific narrative. Each article is peer reviewed and assigned a DOI."
Especially good for protocols, single figures, etc.
Publish protocols in this step-by-step publication platform. Protocols get a DOI and are available for post-publication review (not traditional pre-pub peer-review)
PROSPERO Systematic Review Protocols
Search and register protocols for systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.
Upload any type of file up to 5 GB: images, datasets, documents, etc. DOIs are available upon public publication (not peer reviewed.)
Managing your online presence is important in these days of "just Google it." Below are links to profiles for Librarian Rebecca Hedreen on some of the most common services. Different services track different things, some are connected to each other, and some are editable to a greater extent than others--which can give a different view of the author as a researcher.
While setting up profiles sometimes takes some time, once they are set up they require only occasional review. ORCID is probably the most important, as it is used by funders and journals to distinguish researchers with similar names and to collect the research output of researchers who have published under more than one name.
Example profiles from Librarian Rebecca Hedreen:
Manage your own citations
Use a citation manager to organize and store citations to your own work so that you can easily and quickly create a bibliography for CVs, bios, and for export to other systems (like Digital Measures). I (Rebecca Hedreen) particularly recommend Zotero, because it exports in many formats, including spreadsheets (CSV/Excel).
Writing Guides and Advice
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing (online) by The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing is a groundbreaking resource that offers emerging and experienced scholars from all disciplines a comprehensive review of the essential elements needed to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals. The authors discuss the components of different types of manuscripts, explain the submission process, and offer readers suggestions for working with editors and coauthors, dealing with rejection, and rewriting and resubmitting their work. They include advice for developing quality writing skills, outline the fundamentals of a good review, and offer guidance for becoming an excellent manuscript reviewer. "One of those rare books that will teach you something new every time you pick it up. It belongs on the desks of emerging scholars and writing professors everywhere."--Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor, The State University of New York "Rocco and Hatcher have done every scholar, doctoral student, and committee chair a huge favor by putting this book together. Now in one place we can find resources to help graduate students and scholars get over their writing blocks and fear of writing, and learn how to write successfully."--Alan L. Carsrud, Loretta Rogers Chair of Entrepreneurship Research, Ryerson University, and associate editor, Journal of Small Business Management "This handbook performs a valuable service by collecting the wisdom of scholars from different disciplines and countries and offering publishing guidance that is both rigorous and systematic. Everyone who writes for scholarly publication will benefit from the insights provided by this book."--Tom Radko, editor, Journal of Scholarly Publishing
Publication Date: 2011
Writing for Academic Journals (online) by Writing for publication is a daunting and time-consuming task for many academics. And yet the pressure for academics to publish has never been greater. This book demystifies the process of writing academic papers, showing readers what good papers look like and how they can be written. Offering a research-informed understanding of the contemporary challenges of writing for publication, this book gives practical advice for overcoming common obstacles such as finding a topic, targeting journals, and finding the time to write. The author offers a range of helpful writing strategies, making this an invaluable handbook for academics at all stages of their career, from doctoral students to early career researchers and even experienced academics. The third edition has been comprehensively updated to reflect the changing landscape of academic writing, including the most recent research and theory on writing across the disciplines. Drawing on her extensive experience of running writing workshops and working closely with academics on developing writing, Rowena Murray offers practical and tested strategies for good academic writing. New to the third edition: Advice on how to use social media to promote your publications More examples from different disciplines and journals More advice on how to tackle writer's block Extended end-of-chapter checklists New evidence that these strategies really work!
Publication Date: 2013
Writing for Publication: Transitions and Tools that Support Scholars’ Success (online) by This book offers systematic instruction and evidence-based guidance to academic authors. It demystifies scholarly writing and helps build both confidence and skill in aspiring and experienced authors. The first part of the book focuses on the author's role, writing's risks and rewards, practical strategies for improving writing, and ethical issues. Part Two focuses on the most common writing tasks: conference proposals, practical articles, research articles, and books. Each chapter is replete with specific examples, templates to generate a first draft, and checklists or rubrics for self-evaluation. The final section of the book counsels graduate students and professors on selecting the most promising projects; generating multiple related, yet distinctive, publications from the same body of work; and using writing as a tool for professional development. Written by a team that represents outstanding teaching, award-winning writing, and extensive editorial experience, the book leads teacher/scholar/authors to replace the old "publish or perish" dictum with a different, growth-seeking orientation: publish and flourish.
Publication Date: 2016
Professional Academic Writing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (online) by In Professional Academic Writing in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Susan Peck MacDonald tackles important and often controversial contemporary questions regarding the rhetoric of inquiry, the social construction of knowledge, and the professionalization of the academy. MacDonald argues that the academy has devoted more effort to analyzing theory and method than to analyzing its own texts. Professional texts need further attention because they not only create but are also shaped by the knowledge that is special to each discipline. Her assumption is that knowledge-making is the distinctive activity of the academy at the professional level; for that reason, it is important to examine differences in the ways the professional texts of subdisciplinary communities focus on and consolidate knowledge within their fields. Throughout the book, MacDonald stresses her conviction that academics need to do a better job of explaining their text-making axioms, clarifying their expectations of students at all levels, and monitoring their own professional practices. MacDonald's proposals for both textual and sentence-level analysis will help academic professionals better understand how they might improve communication within their professional communities and with their students.
Publication Date: 2010
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences (online) by "The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Infused with multidisciplinary examples, humor, and a healthy dose of irreverence, Fallon helps emerging researchers successfully navigate the intellectual and emotional challenges of writing quantitative research reports. After reinforcing foundations in methodology, statistics, and writing in the first section of the book, emerging researchers work through a series of questions to construct their research report. The final section contains sample papers generated by undergraduates illustrating three major forms of quantitative research - primary data collection, secondary data analysis, and content analysis. Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is appropriate for research methods classes in communication, criminology or criminal justice, economics, education, political science, psychological science, social work, and sociology. Individual students and novice researchers can also read the book as a supplement to any course or research experience that requires writing up quantitative data. "Fallon brings much-needed accessibility to the daunting world of quantitative methods. Filled with contemporary references to pop culture ... key concepts are creatively introduced." - Diana Cohen, Associate Professor of Political Science, Central Connecticut State University "This book covers the 'how to' of writing research projects in a highly engaging manner. Graduate students who are preparing to work on their master's thesis will get a lot out of this book." - Damon Mitchell, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Central Connecticut State University "Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences is not your typical book. It is a MUST HAVE handbook for students in the social and behavioral sciences ..." - Carolyn Fallahi, Professor of Psychological Science, Central Connecticut State University "Kudos to Fallon for writing a very thorough and readable foundational text for beginning researchers!" - Linda Behrendt, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Indiana State University Marianne Fallon, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychological Science at Central Connecticut State University and has taught undergraduate Research Methods for over 10 years. A recipient of the Connecticut State University Trustees Teaching Award, she has mentored many emerging researchers, several of whom have won local and regional research awards and have published their research."
Publication Date: 2016
Composition, Creative Writing and the Digital Humanities (print) by In an era of blurred generic boundaries, multimedia storytelling, and open-source culture, creative writing scholars stand poised to consider the role that technology-and the creative writer's playful engagement with technology-has occupied in the evolution of its theory and practice. Composition, Creative Writing Studies and the Digital Humanities is the first book to bring these three fields together to open up new opportunities and directions for creative writing studies. Placing the rise of Creative Writing Studies alongside the rise of the digital humanities in Composition/Rhetoric, Adam Koehler shows that the use of new media and its attendant re-evaluation of fundamental assumptions in the field stands to guide Creative Writing Studies into a new era. Covering current developments in composition and the digital humanities, this book re-examines established assumptions about process, genre, authority/authorship and pedagogical practice in the creative writing classroom.
Call Number: Stacks PN187 .K64 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Elements of Academic Style: Writing for the Humanities (online) by Eric Hayot teaches graduate students and faculty in literary and cultural studies how to think and write like a professional scholar. From granular concerns, such as sentence structure and grammar, to big-picture issues, such as adhering to genre patterns for successful research and publishing and developing productive and rewarding writing habits, Hayot helps ambitious students, newly minted Ph.D.'s, and established professors shape their work and develop their voices. Hayot does more than explain the techniques of academic writing. He aims to adjust the writer's perspective, encouraging scholars to think of themselves as makers and doers of important work. Scholarly writing can be frustrating and exhausting, yet also satisfying and crucial, and Hayot weaves these experiences, including his own trials and tribulations, into an ethos for scholars to draw on as they write. Combining psychological support with practical suggestions for composing introductions and conclusions, developing a schedule for writing, using notes and citations, and structuring paragraphs and essays, this guide to the elements of academic style does its part to rejuvenate scholarship and writing in the humanities.
Publication Date: 2014
Hacking the Academy New Approaches to Scholarship and Teaching from Digital Humanities (online) by On May 21, 2010, Daniel J. Cohen and Tom Scheinfeldt posted the following provocative questions online: Can an algorithm edit a journal? Can a library exist without books? Can students build and manage their own learning management platforms? Can a conference be held without a program? Can Twitter replace a scholarly society? As recently as the mid-2000s, questions like these would have been unthinkable. But today serious scholars are asking whether the institutions of the academy as they have existed for decades, even centuries, aren't becoming obsolete. Every aspect of scholarly infrastructure is being questioned, and even more importantly, being hacked. Sympathetic scholars of traditionally disparate disciplines are canceling their association memberships and building their own networks on Facebook and Twitter. Journals are being compiled automatically from self-published blog posts. Newly minted PhDs are forgoing the tenure track for alternative academic careers that blur the lines between research, teaching, and service. Graduate students are looking beyond the categories of the traditional CV and building expansive professional identities and popular followings through social media. Educational technologists are 'punking' established technology vendors by rolling out their own open source infrastructure. Here, in Hacking the Academy, Daniel J. Cohen and Tom Scheinfeldt have gathered a sampling of the answers to their initial questions from scores of engaged academics who care deeply about higher education. These are the responses from a wide array of scholars, presenting their thoughts and approaches with a vibrant intensity, as they explore and contribute to ongoing efforts to rebuild scholarly infrastructure for a new millennium.
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Academic Writing for Librarians (print) by Elements of good academic writing
Elements of writing well
Elements of the scholarly paper
Elements of selecting the right journal
Elements of the publishing process
Elements of the scholarly book
Call Number: Stacks Z669.7 .H65 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Economical Writing: Thirty-Five Rules for Clear and Persuasive Prose by
Call Number: Stacks PE1479.E35 M33 2000
Publication Date: 1999
Science research writing for non-native speakers of English (online and print) by This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.
Call Number: online and Stacks PE1475 .G57 2010
Publication Date: 2009
Going Public: A Guide for Social Scientists (print) by At a time when policy discussions are dominated by "I feel" instead of "I know," it is more important than ever for social scientists to make themselves heard. When those who possess in-depth training and expertise are excluded from public debates about pressing social issues--such as climate change, the prison system, or healthcare--vested interests can sway public opinion in uninformed ways. Yet few graduate students, researchers, or faculty know how to do this kind of work--or feel empowered to do it. While there has been an increasing call for social scientists to engage more broadly with the public, concrete advice for starting the conversation has been in short supply. Arlene Stein and Jessie Daniels seek to change this with Going Public, the first guide that truly explains how to be a public scholar. They offer guidance on writing beyond the academy, including how to get started with op-eds and articles and later how to write books that appeal to general audiences. They then turn to the digital realm with strategies for successfully building an online presence, cultivating an audience, and navigating the unique challenges of digital world. They also address some of the challenges facing those who go public, including the pervasive view that anything less than scholarly writing isn't serious and the stigma that one's work might be dubbed "journalistic." Going Public shows that by connecting with experts, policymakers, journalists, and laypeople, social scientists can actually make their own work stronger. And by learning to effectively add their voices to the conversation, researchers can help make sure that their knowledge is truly heard above the digital din.
Call Number: Stacks H61.8 .S84 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Professional Presentations: a practical guide for preparing and delivering professional presentations by Conversations with Your Audience: A Practical Guide for Preparing and Delivering Professional Presentations provides practical and accessible advice to college students and pre-professionals on how to present effectively in a work environment. This book is a collaborative effort of the Communication Department at Southern Connecticut State University and represents their time-tested method of teaching students to design and deliver professional presentations to clients. Unlike many standard texts on oral communication skills that focus on writing and memorization, Conversations with Your Audience advocates a more realistic, audience-centered approach. Based on the tenet that effective presenters make their presentations feel like conversations, the material focuses on audience engagement and strengthening communication skills rather than on reciting manuscript or memorized speeches. Specific topics include analyzing and adjusting to your audience, planning and delivering organized and memorable presentations, refining your vocal quality and nonverbal communication, handling question-and-answer sessions, demonstrating respect for clients, creating effective visual aids, and working and presenting in groups. Performance-based rather than theory-based, Conversations with Your Audience helps students navigate the various stages of planning and delivering presentations in an easy-to-read format.
Call Number: Faculty Collection PN4121 .C668 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This guide is maintained by Librarian Rebecca Hedreen, but has been enriched by suggestions from librarian colleagues. It was inspired by a workshop organized by HHS Dean Sandy Bulmer and Public Health Chair Jean Breny (summer 2019).