SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Islamic Literature: Articles

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Check the following databases for articles on Arabic literature from journals and magazines.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Granger's World of Poetry Online (Columbia) This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of poetry containing full text, audio recordings, commentaries, biographies, glossary, history and criticism. At present The Columbia Granger۪s World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, including the most widely-read poems in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other languages. In addition users will find a wealth of current poetry from some of the best poetry periodicals, such as Poetry Magazine, The Southern Review, and Poetry Northwest.

Biographical information on poets and full-text of poems.

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text from journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.