NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.
The Digital Bodleian Library
Over 650,000 digital objects (including maps, manuscripts, images, historical documents and records, etc.) are freely available and downloadable from the research libraries of Oxford University.
Creative Commons Search
Creative Commons has created this really useful search engine that lets you search for resources that are CC licensed. The image search is the most useful. Attribution required.
Getty Public Domain images
"The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required." Attribution required.
Google Images
Select tools,, then rights and then Creative Commons. If the tools search is missing, to to Google Images Advanced Search and there will be many options to narrow your search including usage rights.
Nappy.co
Contains beautiful high resolution photos of black and brown people for free.
NounProject.com
Free icons and stock photos on just about everything.
OpenClip Art
Contains thousands of clip art at no cost and no attribution required.
Pexels
Contains the best free-stocked videos and photos. Attribution is appreciated but not required.
Unsplash.com
This is an excellent site for freely usable images.
Creative Commons: CC licensed video, audio, literary works, etc.
CCSearch: For now, images only
Flickr: The Commons: Institutions share images with "no known copyright restrictions" including those is the public domain
Flickr CC: Images are arranged and searchable by CC license
Wikimedia Commons: Images, videos, audio files searchable by CC license and public domain
The Public Domain Review: The journal hosts collections of public domain video, audio, images, books
Life Photo Archive hosted by Google
Searchable photo archives of Life magazine from 1750 to the present. Many have not been published before.
Internet Archive: Free books, movies, music, etc.
Jamendo: Songs by musicians who want to share their music.
YouTube Unroyalty Channel: royalty-free music
Wikimedia Commons: Images, videos, audio files searchable by CC license and public domain
The Public Domain Review: The journal hosts collections of public domain video, audio, images, books
Internet Archive: Free books, movies, music, etc.
LibriVox: Offers a wide array of audiobooks in the public domain read by volunteers from around the world.
Merlot II Multimedia Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
Developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning, Merlot II offers access to thousands of open resource materials that are searchable.
MIT Global Shakespeares Video and Performance Archive
Internet Archive: Free books, movies, music, etc.
Provides online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays from scholars in the field.
Modern Writers Archive Collection (BBC)
A collection of interviews with the most read authors of the twentieth century. The site is archived and no longer updated.
NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.
Open Culture
Has the best free cultural and educational resources on the web.
Wikimedia Commons
A free media repository that makes available public domain and freely licensed educational media content.
NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.
Wikimedia Commons
The thinkers behind Wikipedia bring you images, video and music all openly licensed or in the public domain.
YouTube: Videos searchable by CC license
Creative Commons: CC licensed video, audio, literary works, etc.
Vimeo
A social network of video producers. This is a great place to look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.
The Public Domain Review: The journal hosts collections of public domain video, audio, images, books
Videvo: Free stock footage
Internet Archive: Free books, movies, music, etc.
Pexels
Contains the best free-stocked videos and photos. Attribution is appreciated but not required.
NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.
MIT Global Shakespeares Video and Performance Archive
Provides online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays from scholars in the field.
Khan Academy
Hundreds of short educational videos covering many subjects; especially strong collections in science and math.
PhET Science Simulations
These interactive tools from the University of Colorado at Boulder are mostly CC licensed.
HippoCampus
HippoCampus, a project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education (MITE), is full of high-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
Critical Commons
A community of people who seek to promote the use of media in teaching. The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.
American Memory Project
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress is a digital record of American history and creativity.
The Digital Bodleian Library
Over 650,000 digital objects (including maps, manuscripts, images, historical documents and records, etc.) are freely available and downloadable from the research libraries of Oxford University.
Digital Public Library of America
Contains a collection of images of objects of cultural heritage from archives, libraries, and museums across the country.
Merlot II Multimedia Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
Developed by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning, Merlot II offers access to thousands of open resource materials that are searchable.
MIT Global Shakespeares Video and Performance Archive
Provides online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays from scholars in the field.
NYPL Digital Collections
This searchable collection features manuscripts, maps, photographs, prints, streaming video, and more.
Open Culture
Has the best free cultural and educational resources on the web.
