SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Open Access &amp; Open Educational Resources for Journalism: Teaching Resources

Journalism Titles

Below is a selective list of OA or OER books relating to journalism. So that you can read reviews and summaries, the links go to the book's entry in the collection I found it in: Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers goes to the book's entry in BC Commons, Data Journalism Handbook goes to that book's entry in Directory of Open Access Books, etc. There is overlap among collections and each collection yields between a dozen and a million hits for a simple search of "journalism".

Verification Handbook
"Authored by leading journalists from the BBC, Storyful, ABC, Digital First Media and other verification experts, the Verification Handbook is a groundbreaking new resource for journalists and aid providers. It provides the tools, techniques and step-by-step guidelines for how to deal with user-generated content (UGC) during emergencies."
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries
"Good writing skills are important in today’s competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing. Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical application of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills. This book has straightforward chapters that use real-world examples to illustrate key points. It discusses different writing styles and techniques and provides examples of communication materials such as press releases, creative briefs, feature articles, and more. It includes embedded videos of insights from communication professionals, tips on pitching to the media, and a collection of popular sources for further explanation."
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers
"This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly. We will show you how to use date filters to find the source of viral content, how to assess the reputation of a scientific journal in less than five seconds, and how to see if a tweet is really from the famous person you think it is or from an impostor. We’ll show you how to find pages that have been deleted, figure out who paid for the web site you’re looking at, and whether the weather portrayed in that viral video actual matches the weather in that location on that day. We’ll show you how to check a Wikipedia page for recent vandalism, and how to search the text of almost any printed book to verify a quote. We’ll teach you to parse URLs and scan search result blurbs so that you are more likely to get to the right result on the first click. And we’ll show you how to avoid baking confirmation bias into your search terms. In other words, we’ll teach you web literacy by showing you the unique opportunities and pitfalls of searching for truth on the web. Crazy, right?"
Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship
"This is a modular open textbook designed for entrepreneurial journalism, media innovation, and related courses. It covers the following topics: Developing the Entrepreneurial Mindset, Ideation, Customer Discovery, Business Models for Content & Technology Ventures, Nonprofit Model Development, Freelancing as Entrepreneurship and Consulting as Business Models, Startup Funding, Pitching Ideas, Marketing Your Venture to Audiences, and Entrepreneurship Abroad: Cultural and International Perspectives and Challenges."
The Data Journalism Handbook
"The Data Journalism Handbook: Towards a Critical Data Practice provides a rich and panoramic introduction to data journalism, combining both critical reflection and practical insight. It offers a diverse collection of perspectives on how data journalism is done around the world and the broader consequences of datafication in the news, serving as both a textbook and a sourcebook for this emerging field. With more than 50 chapters from leading researchers and practitioners of data journalism, it explores the work needed to render technologies and data productive for journalistic purposes. It also gives a “behind the scenes” look at the social lives of data sets, data infrastructures, and data stories in newsrooms, media organizations, start-ups, civil society organizations and beyond. The book includes sections on “doing issues with data,” “assembling data,” “working with data,” “experiencing data,” “investigating data, platforms and algorithms,” “organizing data journalism,” “learning data journalism together” and “situating data journalism.”"
Responsible Drone Journalism
"Camera drones provide unique visual perspectives and add new dimensions to storytelling and accountability in journalism. Simultaneously, the rapidly expanding uses of drones as advanced sensor platforms raise new legislative, ethical and transparency issues. Responsible Drone Journalism investigates the opportunities and dilemmas of using drones for journalistic purposes in a global perspective. Drawing on a framework of responsible research and innovation (RRI), the book explores responsible drone journalism from multiple perspectives, including new cultures of learning, flying in lower airspace, drone education and concerns about autonomous agents and big data surveillance."
Journalism History & Digital Archives
"This book showcases various ways in which digital archives allow for new approaches to journalism history. The chapters in this book were selected based on three overall objectives: 1) research that highlights specific concerns within journalism history through digital archives; 2) discussions of digital methodologies, as well as specific applications, that are accessible for journalism scholars with no prior experiences with such approaches; and 3) that journalism history and digital archives are connected in other ways than through specific methods, i.e., that the connection raises larger questions of historiography and power."
Introduction to Narrative Journalism
"This textbook was created for beginning narrative journalists exploring the craft. It is inspired by the Narrative Journalism course (JASS/COMP/ENGL 310) at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and it is intended to be used as a guide and handbook. It is structured around the five elements of fiction, and provides both instruction and student examples of various narrative journalism projects."
Writing Fabulous Features
""Writing Fabulous Features" teaches the art and craft of feature writing to help readers learning to write non-fiction with flair."
Be Credible
"The primary audience for this book starts with students in Journalism 302: Infomania, a course we teach at the University of Kansas. When they take this class, these students usually are in their second or third semesters in the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications. They have varied career aspirations. A few of them want to be “traditional” journalists, writing for online news sites, magazines, or newspapers. Some of them want to be broadcast journalists. Many of them want to work in strategic communications, which encompasses public relations, advertising, marketing, and related fields."
Tools for Podcasting
"This handbook provides instruction and tools to produce your own podcast — whether you are a professional in journalism, the arts, sciences, business or law, an activist or just someone who has a story to tell. The tools discussed are focused on keeping costs low for entry-level podcasters and designed to help anyone who wants to record, edit and distribute podcasts."

Journalism Searches

The links below are search strings for journalism topics in Mason OER Metafinder, MERLOT, and OASIS. Results include textbooks, book chapters, assignments, lesson plans, syllabi, journal articles, websites, government documents, images, posters, charts, and other material.

Mason:

MERLOT

OASIS:

Open Access Book Collections

Almost all of the resources listed here are searched by the Mason OER Metafinder and/or one of the other aggregators (MERLOT, OASIS, etc.).and contain course materials as well as books.

Open Access Article Collections

CORE
"The following item types can be deposited with CORE: abstract, article, bibliography, book, book chapter, catalog, chart, conference publication, course material or learning objects, data set, documentary, dissertation, essay, fictional work, finding aid, image, interview, map, music, performance, photograph, podcast, presentation, report, review, syllabus, technical report, thesis, translation, video essay, visual art."
Digital Commons Network
"The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Directory of Open Access Journals
Searchable for articles as well as journals.
JSTOR Open Access
Open Access Button
Search for articles at the website or add a browser extension. "Free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors."
Unpaywall
"An open database of 31,897,653 free scholarly articles.....from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use." Browser extension for Chrome and Firefox.

OA & OER Courseware Collections

Almost all of the resources listed here are searched by the Mason OER Metafinder and/or one of the other aggregators (MERLOT, OASIS, etc.) and include lesson plans, homework assignments, lectures, full courses, syllabi and more.

CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)
"It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials."
LibreTexts
"The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society."
MIT OpenCourseWare
"MIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum."
OER Commons
Materials include Activity/Lab, Assessment, Case Study, Data Set, Diagram/Illustration, Full Course, Game, Homework/Assignment, Interactive, Lecture, Lecture Notes, Lesson Plan, Simulation, Syllabus and more.
Teaching Commons
"The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the "Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more."

Open Access at Buley

Many Open Access journal articles and books can be found through SouthernSearch by using the Open Access limiter on the search results page:

Open Access materials are indicated by the words Open Access and the orange OA logo: