Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Research & Critical Theory

This guide is for English majors and anyone else interested in locating information about authors and their works.

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Databases

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and critical information on authors and works of literature. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password. While many articles are available full text through the databases, some may be available only in print journals and some may not be available at all in Buley Library. Articles not available can be requested through Interlibrary loan.

More Databases

Additional databases for Literature research are available below:

Literature Journals

Journal Finder provides a list of journals related to English literature subscribed to by Buley. The search will include extraneous titles but you can alter the search to focus more on your research topic.

Where Are Print Journals Shelved?

All print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by title on the ground floor

IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

Journals on microfilm or microfiche are shelved in the Microforms Area. Most of the readers are also printers. Ask for assistance in the Technical Services area.

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.