New Faculty Orientation 2025

Ask A Librarian

If you have any questions, just ask!

• Live chat with a librarian 6 days a week during the semesters
• Submit a question at any time
• Ask at the Research & Info Desk
• Make an appointment with a librarian

There is a LOT of subject-specific info on the Library website. Use the drop-down menu to select your subject and see what we already have to offer. If you don't find what you need, contact your subject librarian - we are always adding new content!

RESEARCH AND INFORMATION DESK

The Research and Information Desk is a public service desk staffed with professional librarians. Librarians at this desk can provide help with the following:

• Locate materials such as books, journals, theses, videos, or DVDs on a topic
• Show users the best reference books on a topic
• Teach how to use SouthernSearch to find materials
• Teach users how to find journal articles using the electronic databases
• Recommend the proper subject words or terms to use while searching the for topics
• Recommend search strategies for the topics the user has in mind
• Show users how to access library databases remotely
• Find or recommend reliable web sites for a topic
• Tell you how to arrange library instruction for classes, groups, and individuals
• Teach how to cite information in a variety of formats (APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
• Locate other libraries that may have a book or journal that we do not have
• How to request materials from other libraries through interlibrary loan

In addition to providing reference service at the desk, reference librarians:

• Are responsible for developing and maintaining the reference collection in both print and electronic formats 
• Serve as subject specialists/liaisons to one or more academic departments and coordinate faculty recommendations for the acquisition of new library books and journals
• Serve as the primary contact for department/program faculty for questions and information regarding library collections, reference services, and instructional support

Library System

Our CSCU Library System is a shared system of the four state universities, the 12 community colleges, and Charter Oak State College. Through SouthernSearch, our catalog, you can:

• Find books and other materials for your research
• Limit or customize your search using the advanced search functions
• Request materials online and to access the online databases remotely
• Place a hold on a book that has been checked out
• Renew your books online
• Find reserve materials that are available in print and online
• Check your library account for items checked out, overdue materials, and fines

Reference Collection

The reference collection is shelved on the first floor of Buley Library. In addition to print reference books, the library also subscribes to collections of e-books from Credo, Ebsco, Elsevier, Gale, EBSCO, Oxford University Press, and Sage. These collections can be searched via SouthernSearch.

Electronic Databases

Buley Library subscribes to over 200 databases covering various disciplines. 

Databases index, abstract, and contain many full-text journal articles. The most popular databases are listed on the panel to the left on the library home page. Click on “See all databases” to access databases by subject, in alphabetical order, by type, and by vendor.

All the databases can be accessed remotely with your SCSU login.

Ask a Librarian

Research & Information Desk Phone
 (203) 392-5732

Library Hours
 (203) 392-5750

Librarian Chat

Text
 (203) 490-0756

Email
library@southernct.libanswers.com

Library Home Page
libguides.southernct.edu/home