New Faculty Orientation 2025

Your University Library is vital for a strong and thriving Southern.
We impact student learning, supply quality research material, and provide space for instruction and group study.

Visit the Library Impact Dashboard

The Buley Bulletin is the Library's newsletter. It comes out twice a year during the academic semesters. Latest Issue: Fall 2025, v.22:n.2.

Access Services covers borrowing library materials, interlibrary loan from other libraries, course reserves, and poster printing.

Research & Instruction is all about answering your questions. Ask about information, library resources, web evaluation, citations, publications, policies... Ask via chat, email, phone, one-on-one appointments, small group and course-based instruction sessions!

How do books and other resources end up in the Library? Through the work of Technical Services! Purchasing, subscribing, processing, and cataloging - it all goes into making these resources available and findable.

Buley Library’s Special Collections and Archives hold a diverse selection of primary source resources that include:

• Early printed books (15^th-19^th century) that highlight patterns of technology, information sharing, and readership
• Manuscript collections of notable SCSU and New Haven individuals, including the last four mayors of New Haven
• University Archives documenting the SCSU student life and administration through the years
• The Artists' Books Collection: A multi-disciplinary teaching collection bridging the history of the book with contemporary bookmaking practice. Artists' Books push the boundaries of the conceptual and physical aspects of the book and engage students in unique ways.

Please Visit Us!  For more details, please visit the Special Collections Website

Staff by Departments:

• Library Administration
• Access Services
• Research & Instruction Services
• Special Collections
• Technical Services

SCSU Campus Directory - search for phone numbers or email addresses of SCSU faculty and staff.
Library Services in the SCSU Campus Departmental Directory

Instruction/Subject Librarians:

Library Administration

Director of Library Services:

Administrative Assistant:

Access Services

General Questions:

Email Access Services or Interlibrary Loan

Library Faculty:

Support Staff:

Jonathan Rios
Library Technical Assistant 
riosj13@southernct.edu
203-392-7201

Vacant
Library Technician - Interlibrary Loan

Vacant
Library Technician
 

Library Technology & Systems

Library Faculty:

Research and Instruction

General Questions:

library@southernct.libanswers.com or use the Questions/Comments Form

Library Faculty:

Special Collections

Library Faculty:

Technical Services

Library Faculty:

Support Staff:

Beth Paris
Library Technician - Acquisitions
parisb1@southernct.edu
203-392-9656

Song Zhou
Library Technician - Cataloging and Digitizaton
zhous2@southernct.edu
203-392-5779