The following call number ranges are relevant to physics.
QC81-114 Weights and measures
QC120-168.85 Descriptive and experimental mechanics
QC170-197 Atomic physics.
Constitution and properties of matter - Including molecular physics, relativity, quantum theory, and
solid state physics
QC221-246 Acoustics. Sound
QC350-467 Optics. Light
QC474-496.9 Radiation physics (General)
QC501-766 Electricity and magnetism
QC669-675.8 Electromagnetic theory
QC676-678.6 Radio waves (Theory)
QC701-715.4 Electric discharge
QC717.6-718.8 Plasma physics. Ionized gases
QC770-798 Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity
QC793-793.5 Elementary particle physics
QC794.95-798 Radioactivity and radioactive substances
QC801-809 Geophysics. Cosmic physics
QC851-999 Meteorology. Climatology - Including the earth's atmosphere
QC974.5-976 Meteorological optics
QC980-999 Climatology and weather
QC994.95-999 Weather Forecasting
You'll find physics materials in the Stacks (3rd floor), Oversized Books (3rd floor), Media (1st floor), and Reference (1st floor). You may also find books on related topics in other areas, such as the T's for instrumentation and technology.
These are some examples of Physics books in our catalog. Use SouthernSearch the online CSU catalog for books at Southern and the other CSCU libraries.
A Dictionary of Physics by Richard Rennie (Editor); Jonathan Law (Editor)Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, kilonova, leptoquark, and muscovium. The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links.This popular dictionary remains the most up-to-date of its kind: the essential introductory reference tool for students encountering physics terms and concepts, as well as for professionals and anyone with an interest in the subject.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
The Disordered Cosmos: a journey into dark matter, spacetime, and dreams by Chanda Prescod-WeinsteinFrom a star theoretical physicist, a journey into the world of particle physics and the cosmos -- and a call for a more just practice of science. A Smithsonian Magazine Best Science Book of 2021 A Symmetry Magazine Top 10 Physics Book of 2021 An Entropy Magazine Best Nonfiction Book of 2020-2021 A Publishers Weekly Best Nonfiction Book of the Year A Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Book of 2021 A Booklist Top 10 Sci-Tech Book of the Year Longlisted for the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award In The Disordered Cosmos, Dr. Chanda Prescod-Weinstein shares her love for physics, from the Standard Model of Particle Physics and what lies beyond it, to the physics of melanin in skin, to the latest theories of dark matter -- all with a new spin informed by history, politics, and the wisdom of Star Trek. One of the leading physicists of her generation, Dr. Chanda Prescod-Weinstein is also one of fewer than one hundred Black American women to earn a PhD from a department of physics. Her vision of the cosmos is vibrant, buoyantly non-traditional, and grounded in Black feminist traditions. Prescod-Weinstein urges us to recognize how science, like most fields, is rife with racism, sexism, and other dehumanizing systems. She lays out a bold new approach to science and society that begins with the belief that we all have a fundamental right to know and love the night sky. The Disordered Cosmos dreams into existence a world that allows everyone to experience and understand the wonders of the universe.
Call Number: Main Stacks QB461.5 .P735 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Essentials of Soft Matter Science by Francoise Brochard-Wyart; Pierre Nassoy; Pierre-Henri PuechAuthored by world-leading physicists, this introductory textbook explores the basic principles of polymers, colloids, liquid crystals, wetting, and foams. It is a practical 'toolbox' for readers to acquire basic knowledge in the field and facilitate further reading and advanced courses. Undergraduate students in physics, biology, and the medical sciences will learn the basics of soft matter physics, in addition to scaling approaches in the spirit of the Nobel prize laureate in physics in 1991, Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, the inventor of soft matter physics and close collaborator to author Françoise Brochard-Wyart. Features: Accessible and compact approach Contains interesting examples from everyday life (including the Paris Metro, a water spider, a gecko, and duck feathers) Accompanied by additional exercises to enhance understanding available for download from the CRC Press website
Call Number: Main Stacks QC173.458.S62 B76 2020
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Functional Analysis and Optimization Methods in Hadron Physics by Irinel CapriniThis book begins with a brief historical review of the early applications of standard dispersion relations in particle physics. It then presents the modern perspective within the Standard Model, emphasizing the relation of analyticity together with alternative tools applied to strong interactions, such as perturbative and lattice quantum chromodynamics (QCD), as well as chiral perturbation theory. The core of the book argues that, in order to improve the prediction of specific hadronic observables, it is often necessary to resort to methods of complex analysis more sophisticated than the simple Cauchy integral. Accordingly, a separate mathematical chapter is devoted to solving several functional analysis optimization problems. Their applications to physical amplitudes and form factors are discussed in the following chapters, which also demonstrate how to merge the analytic approach with statistical analysis tools. Given its scope, the book offers a valuable guide for researchers working in precision hadronic physics, as well as graduate students who are new to the field.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Hidden in Plain Sight: The history, science, and engineering of microfluidic technology by Albert FolchStories behind essential microfluidic devices, from the inkjet printer to DNA sequencing chip. Hidden from view, microfluidics underlies a variety of devices that are essential to our lives, from inkjet printers to glucometers for the monitoring of diabetes. Microfluidics-which refers to the technology of miniature fluidic devices and the study of fluids at submillimeter levels-is invisible to most of us because it is hidden beneath ingenious user interfaces. In this book, Albert Folch, a leading researcher in microfluidics, describes the development and use of key microfluidic devices. He explains not only the technology but also the efforts, teams, places, and circumstances that enabled these inventions. Folch reports, for example, that the inkjet printer was one of the first microfluidic devices invented, and traces its roots back to nineteenth-century discoveries in the behavior of fluid jets. He also describes how rapid speed microfluidic DNA sequencers have enabled the sequencing of animal, plant, and microbial species genomes; organs on chips facilitate direct tests of drugs on human tissue, leapfrogging over the usual stage of animal testing; at-home pregnancy tests are based on clever microfluidic principles; microfluidics can be used to detect cancer cells in the early stages of metastasis; and the same technology that shoots droplets of ink on paper in inkjet printers enables 3D printers to dispense layers of polymers. Folch tells the stories behind these devices in an engaging style, accessible to nonspecialists. More than 100 color illustrations show readers amazing images of microfluids under the microscope.
Call Number: Main Stacks TJ853.4.M53 F65 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-26
Particles, Fields, Quanta: From Quantum Mechanics to the Standard Model of Particle Physics by Gerhard EckerThis book provides an introduction to the current state of our knowledge about the structure of matter. Gerhard Ecker describes the development of modern physics from the beginning of the quantum age to the standard model of particle physics, the fundamental theory of interactions of the microcosm. The focus lies on the most important discoveries and developments, e.g. of quantum field theory, gauge theories and the future of particle physics. The author also emphasizes the interplay between theory and experiment, which helps us to explore the deepest mysteries of nature. "Particles, Fields, Quanta" is written for everyone who enjoys physics. It offers high school graduates and students of physics in the first semesters an encouragement to understand physics more deeply. Teachers and others interested in physics will find useful insights into the world of particle physics. For advanced students, the book can serve as a comprehensive preparation for lectures on particle physics and quantum field theory. A brief outline of the mathematical structures, an index of persons with research focuses and a glossary for quick reference of important terms such as gauge theory, spin and symmetry complete the book. From the foreword by Michael Springer: "The great successes and the many open questions this book describes illustrate how immensely complicated nature is and nevertheless how much we already understand of it." The author Gerhard Ecker studied theoretical physics with Walter Thirring at the University of Vienna. His research focus has been on theoretical particle physics, in particular during several long-term visits at CERN, the European Organisation for Nuclear Research in Geneva. In 1986 he was promoted to Professor of Theoretical Physics at the University of Vienna. Since 1977 he has given both basic lectures in theoretical physics and advanced courses on different topics in particle physics, e.g., quantum field theory, symmetry groups in particle physics and renormalisation in quantum field theory.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Probability and Statistics in the Physical Sciences by Byron P. RoeThis book, now in its third edition, offers a practical guide to the use of probability and statistics in experimental physics that is of value for both advanced undergraduates and graduate students. Focusing on applications and theorems and techniques actually used in experimental research, it includes worked problems with solutions, as well as homework exercises to aid understanding. Suitable for readers with no prior knowledge of statistical techniques, the book comprehensively discusses the topic and features a number of interesting and amusing applications that are often neglected. Providing an introduction to neural net techniques that encompasses deep learning, adversarial neural networks, and boosted decision trees, this new edition includes updated chapters with, for example, additions relating to generating and characteristic functions, Bayes' theorem, the Feldman-Cousins method, Lagrange multipliers for constraints, estimation of likelihood ratios, and unfolding problems.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2020-09-27
Reactive Transport in Natural and Engineered Systems by Jennifer L. Druhan (Editor); Christophe Tournassat (Editor)Open system behavior is predicated on a fundamental relationship between the timescale over which mass is transported and the timescale over which it is chemically transformed. This relationship describes the basis for the multidisciplinary field of reactive transport (RT). In the 20 years since publication of Review in Mineralogy and Geochemistry volume 34: Reactive Transport in Porous Media, RT principles have expanded beyond early applications largely based in contaminant hydrology to become broadly utilized throughout the Earth Sciences. RT is now employed to address a wide variety of natural and engineered systems across diverse spatial and temporal scales, in tandem with advances in computational capability, quantitative imaging and reactive interface characterization techniques. The present volume reviews the diversity of reactive transport applications developed over the past 20 years, ranging from the understanding of basic processes at the nano- to micrometer scale to the prediction of Earth global cycling processes at the watershed scale.　　Key areas of RT development are highlighted to continue advancing our capabilities to predict mass and energy transfer in natural and engineered systems.
Call Number: Main Circulating Stacks QE515.5.G43 R43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-21
Waves Particles and Fields: Introducing Quantum Field Theory by Anthony C. Fischer-CrippsThis book fills a gap in the middle ground between quantum mechanics of a single electron to the concept of a quantum field. In doing so, the book is divided into two parts; the first provides the necessary background to quantum theory extending from Planck's formulation of black body radiation to Schrodinger's equation; and the second part explores Dirac's relativistic electron to quantum fields, finishing with an description of Feynman diagrams and their meaning. Much more than a popular account, yet not too heavy so as to be inaccessible, this book assumes no prior knowledge of quantum physics or field theory and provides the necessary foundations for readers to then progress to more advanced texts on quantum field theory. It will be of interest to undergraduate students in physics and mathematics, in addition to an interested, general audience. Features: Provides an extensive yet accessible background to the concepts Contains numerous, illustrative diagrams Presents in-depth explanations of difficult subjects ive yet accessible background to the concepts Contains numerous, illustrative diagrams Presents in-depth explanations of difficult subjects