This page will help you find sources on the topic of Nanotechnology.
While you will use the same databases as listed on the Journal Articles page, this page will list specific resources, such as journals and books, that can help you explore this topic further.
Specific journals about Nanotechnology:
Subject Search for Nano at SCSU: Nanoparticles, Nanoscience, Nanostructures, Nanotechnology, etc.
Cellular Nanomachines: from discovery to structure-function and therapeutic applications by
In this book, the major paradigm-shifting discoveries made in the past century on key cellular nanomachines are described in great detail: their complex yet precise and elegant design and function, as well as the diseases linked to their dysfunction and the therapeutic approaches to overcome them. The major focus of this book is the "porosome" nanomachine, the universal secretory portal in cells. This is an ideal book for students, researchers, and professionals in the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology.
DNA Nanotechnology: From Structure to Functionality by
The series Topics in Current Chemistry Collections presents critical reviews from the journal Topics in Current Chemistry organized in topical volumes. The scope of coverage is all areas of chemical science including the interfaces with related disciplines such as biology, medicine and materials science. The goal of each thematic volume is to give the non-specialist reader, whether in academia or industry, a comprehensive insight into an area where new research is emerging which is of interest to a larger scientific audience. Each review within the volume critically surveys one aspect of that topic and places it within the context of the volume as a whole. The most significant developments of the last 5 to 10 years are presented using selected examples to illustrate the principles discussed. The coverage is not intended to be an exhaustive summary of the field or include large quantities of data, but should rather be conceptual, concentrating on the methodological thinking that will allow the non-specialist reader to understand the information presented. Contributions also offer an outlook on potential future developments in the field. The chapter "DNA-Programmed Chemical Synthesis of Polymers and Inorganic Nanomaterials" is available open access under a CC BY 4.0 License via link.springer.com.
Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology by
The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology provides a comprehensive and multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. It aims to be a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work and will be aimed at graduate students, researchers, and practitioners.
The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology introduces a large number of terms, devices and processes which are related to the multi-disciplinary field of Nanotechnology. For each entry in this 4 volume set a 4-10 page description is provided by an expert in the field. Contributions are made by experts from the US, Europe and Asia, making this a comprehensive and truly international Reference Work. The authors are typically from academia, however one quarter of all entries were written by persons from industry.
Handbook of Research on Nanomaterials, Nanochemistry and Smart Materials by
The collection of topics in this book aims to reflect the diversity of recent advances in nanomaterials, nanochemistry and smart materials with a broad perspective which may be useful for scientists as well as for graduate students and engineers. The book offers scope for academics, researchers, and engineering professionals to present their research and development works that have potential for applications in several disciplines of engineering and science. Contributions range from new methods to novel applications of existing methods to gain understanding of the material and/or structural behaviour of new and advanced systems. This book presents leading-edge research from around the world in these dynamic fields.
Nanomaterials: Basics to Applications by
This book includes the synthesis, analysis and characterization of nanomaterials that are an important ingredient in nanotechnologies. Nanomaterials contain nanoparticles, smaller than 100 nanometers in at least one dimension. Nanomaterials are coming into use in health care, electronics, cosmetics and other areas. Their physical and chemical properties differ from those of bulk materials. This needs to cover health risks to workers and potential risks to environment. This is currently done on a case-by-case basis, but risk assessment methods need to be kept up to date as the use of nanomaterials expands, especially as they find their way into consumer products. This book covers the basics to advanced applications of nanomaterials and provides a useful resource for researchers and professionals in the field. ​
Nanotechnology and Human Health by
Addressing medium- and long-term expectations for human health, this book reviews current scientific and technical developments in nanotechnology for biomedical, agrofood, and environmental applications. This collection of perspectives on the ethical, legal, and societal implications of bionanotechnology provides unique insight into contemporary technological developments. Readers with a technical background will benefit from the overview of the state-of-the-art research in their field, while readers with a social science background will benefit from the discussion of realistic prospects of nanotechnology. The text also includes a glossary as well as extensive end-of-chapter references.
Nanotechnology Characterization Tools for Environment, Health, and Safety by
Tenth volume of a 40 volume series on nanoscience and nanotechnology, edited by the renowned scientist Challa S.S.R. Kumar. This handbook gives a comprehensive overview about Nanotechnology Characterization Tools for Environment, Health, and Safety. Modern applications and state-of-the-art techniques are covered and make this volume an essential reading for research scientists in academia and industry.
New Frontiers of Nanomaterials in Environmental Science by
This book provides the detail information about nanoparticles, their types, characterization techniques such as TEM, FESEM, AFM, XRD etc. nanogenotoxicity, metal and metal oxide nanoparticle's toxicity, physical and chemical characterization of nanomaterials, entry routes, cell-nano interaction studies, possible impacts to the human kind, and on the methods of evaluating the toxicity. It puts together comprehensive and up-to-date information about sustainable approaches in making an eco-friendly environment using advanced nanotechnologies. It educated readers about the new frontiers and scope of employing various state-of-art nano-technologies to clean-up and save our environment. This book will be of interest to teachers, researchers, environmental biotechnologists, capacity builders and policymakers. Also the book serves as additional reading material for undergraduate and graduate students of agriculture, environmental sciences, environmental engineering and biotechnology.
Toward a New Dimension: Exploring the Nanoscale by
Over the course of the last thirty years, the investigation of objects at the nano scale has rocketed. Nanoscale scientific research has not only powerfully affected the amount and orientation of knowledge, it has perhaps even more significantly redirected the ways in which much research workis carried out, changed scientists' methodology and reasoning processes, and influenced aspects of the structure of career trajectory and the functioning of scientific disciplines.This book identifies key historical moments and episodes in the birth and evolution of nanoscience, discusses the novel repertory of epistemological concerns of practitioners, and signals sociological propensities. As Galileo's telescope explored the moon's surface four hundred years ago, nanoinstrumentation now makes it possible to see the surface of single molecules. Moreover, practitioners are able to manipulate individual atoms and molecules at will to produce pre-designed synthetic materials, non-existent in nature. The combinatorial of heightened observational capacity and thetailoring of synthetic artificial materials exhibiting hitherto novel physical properties has widened and transformed the worlds of scientific knowledge and technical artefact. This book invites the question: to what extent does nanoscale scientific research constitute a kind of "scientificrevolution"?