Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Womens Studies Research Guide: Websites

Library resources that support the SCSU Women's Studies Program including material that deals with gender studies and feminism.

Related Websites

Websites created or maintained by Buley Librarians: 

 United States Women's History Primary Sources 

A compilation of websites related to the topic, collected by Alba Morris, Social Science Librarian, SCSU

Other great websites related to Women's Studies topics and Women's Issues:

The Center for Women and Information Technology

The Center is "dedicated to providing global leadership in achieving women's full participation in all aspects of information technology..." and the web site has been cited by ABC news as "the best resource on women and technology on the Web."

The Center for Women and Work

The Center for Women and Work (CWW) at the University of Massachusetts Lowell is a vibrant community of scholars – representing diverse disciplines – who are dedicated to the Center’s mission to advance knowledge about the relationship between gender and work through research;  enhance understanding of this relationship through education and training; and challenge inequalities, particularly through institutional change.

Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame

Housed on the campus of Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, CT, "the Hall of Fame honors Connecticut women, preserves their stories, educates the public, and inspires the continued achievements of women and girls."

Cybergrrl: Inspiring, Informing and Celebrating Women

Extravagant Crowd, Carl Van Vecten's Portraits of Women

From the archives of the Beineke Library, Yale University, "the photographs in Extravagant Crowd: Carl Van Vechten’s Portraits of Women represent only a fraction of those Van Vechten took of women."

Feminism and Womens Studies 

From the website:  "The Feminism and Women's Studies site, one of 44 websites hosted by the EServer, was first designed in 1993 by members of the Carnegie Mellon University Women's Center. One of the earliest women's studies web sites on the Internet, our site has since the outset been very well known: today it is number 2 in Google searches for "feminism" and number 4 in Google searches for "women's studies", and is currently one of the most popular women's studies web sites in the world, currently publishing documents to approximately 25,000 readers per month."

Feministing

From the website: Feministing in an online community for feminists and their allies.  THe community aspect of Feministing--our community blog, campus blog, comment threads, and related social networking sites--exist to better connect feminists online and off and to encourage activism.  We hope that the Feministing community will provide a forum for a viariety of feminists voices and organizations.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives

The physical archive is located in Park Slope Brooklyn and features "the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." The website presents a virtual tour of the archives and descriptions of the material collected, newsletters beginning with the first, June, 1975 edition and information about traveling exhibits. 

Status of Women and Girls in New Haven 

by Cynthia Hess, Ph.D., Rhiana Gunn-Wright & Claudia William From the website:

This report is the result of conversations over nearly two years among women leaders in New Haven about the growing need for data on women and girls in New Haven. The report has four goals:

  1. to provide baseline information on women and girls in New Haven;
  2. to inform policy and program priorities for women and girls in New Haven;
  3. to provide easily accessible data on women and girls in New Haven; and
  4. to create a platform for advocacy and dialogue on issues affecting women and girls in New Haven.

Vandergrift's Femininst Page 

From the website:In A Feminist Research Agenda in Youth Literature, I raised the following questions : Why do we need a feminist perspective for research in this field? What new directions and insights might such a perspective provide? Has children's literature historically contained feminist sub-texts embedded in traditional male stories? If so, has this literature now fallen behind adult literature in creating and critiquing gender-fair and multicultural texts? Is literature for young adults more or less feminist than children's literature?"  The site is a reflection of on-going research that explores these topics and a source of related resources.

Vital Voices Global Partnership 

We identify, invest and bring visibility to extraordinary women around the world by unleashing their leadership potential to transform lives and accelerate peace and prosperity in their communities.

Women Airforce Service Pilots

From Texas Woman's University Libraries: Browse digital images of photographs, wartime documents, uniforms, and artifacts. View brief descriptions of manuscript collections and oral histories, some with complete transcriptions.

Women Firefighters in New York City, 1982-2012

Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act was applied to bar sex descrimination in civil service hiring in 1972, but the first female New York City firefighters were not on the job until 10 years later.  This online exhibit of text and photographs documents the struggle, the backlash and the success of NYFD women.

Women Working: 1800-1930, Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library

From the web site: "Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, 1,200 photographs."

Women's eNews (published by the Insitute for Nonprofit News)

Women's eNews is an award-winning nonprofit news service covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women's perspectives on public policy.

Websites For and About Girls and Young Women:

 AAUW Research Reports

Many AAUW reports have to do with the education of young women and girls and gender inequity in education.  Their 2000 report on girls in the computer age is espcially interesting.   Tech-Savvy:  Educating Girls in the New Computer  Age (2000) Schools need to change the way information technology is used, applied, and  taught in the nation's classrooms, according to this report. AAUW's Tech Check  is a guide to help schools assess the technology opportunities they offer  female students.

Brave Girls and Strong Women: a collection of books from small publishers.

An annotated list of empowering books for girls--divided by age categories

Books for Young Women and Girls

An annotated list of non-fiction books on the website of The Center for Women and Work at UMass Lowell.

Engineer Girl

This site is sponsored by the National Academy of Engineering and is intended to encourage girls to puruse study in the field of engineering.  It includes information about engineering work, educational paths, biographies of women engineers and information about opportunities to explore.

Girl Scouts USA

Web site for the organization first started by Daisy Low based on her belief that "all girls should be given the opportunity to develop physically, mentally and spiritually."  The site includes history, research, advocacy and career links for girls and adult leaders.

Girl Up

Girl Up is an innovative campaign of the United Nations Foundation. We give American girls the opportunity to become global leaders and channel their energy and compassion to raise awareness and funds for United Nations programs that help some of the world’s hardest-to-reach adolescent girls.

The Hidden World of Girls (NPR series)   

Subtitled, "Girls and the women they become," this compilation of essays, photos, videos and spoken recordings is a collaboration between The Kitchen Sisters, NPR and Listeners.  New stories are welcome!

Websites for Girls

A list of selected websites with a focus on girls and young women--some are intended for girls and/or young women themselves, others are for adults, about girls/young women.  Included are game sites, bibliographies, papers and information on many topics.

Association and Interest Group Websites:

American Association of University Women

National Women's Studies Association

National Womens Veterans Association of America

FeMiNa: Sites For, By, and About Women

Intended to provide women with a comprehensive, searchable directory of links to femal friendly sites and information on the World Wide Web."

Webgrrls International: Leveraging the Power of Women & Technology

This organization calls itself an "online & offline networking organization of professional women focusing on propelling our careers & businesses forward by leveraging the power of women, technology, and tools that help us succeed."